We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, wonderful people!”
Review of Podere Casanova

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place, wonderful people!”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

We chose this beautiful place based on the evaluation on Tripadvisor. We have to agree with everything stated below in reviews.
Lisa and her nice family are very friendly and helpful. Accomodation is stylish and location of the house is in a beautiful and peaceful place.
Do not miss Welcome dinner and Pizza party!
Ales, Misa a Sara, Ciliegio, July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shootat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
65
44
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in Podere Casanova from June 15 to 25 with our 3 young children (ages 5, 3 and 1). It could not have been better. Booked it based on the fab reviews and the cute movies the owner Lisa placed on her Facebook page and was still very impressed!

We stayed in appartment Ginestra. Very clean, spacious, the kitchen well equipped. Nice bathroom. Ginestra is a fun appartment since it's located in its own little building. This adds to the privacy, which we are fond of. We BBQ'd often in the little private terrace with stone BBQ (which every appt. gets). The washer & dryer are situated right next to the appartment, which was nice.

The pool was simply amazing. Very beautiful. Great pool beds. Awesome view of Tuscan hills & many olive trees while splashing around. The kids loved it!

Podere Casanova also hosts a pizza party (which the kids LOVED!) and a welcome buffet.
Great food, great pizza! We loved the white wine, which is made of grapes of this farm.

Lisa and her family are really nice, friendly and thoughtful. Lisa was always happy to provide us with anything we asked/ needed and was super fun with the kids. She also was really helpful with questions about attractions, maps & transport.

If you travel with young kids, I'm sure they'll love the little playground, the hills to run around, the goats to look at.

The location could not be better. It's a gorgeous part of Tuscany, right in the heart of Chianti. Excellent location to have day trips.. We made (half) day trips to Pisa, Siena, San Giminano, Florence, St. Galgano abby. Montelupe, a nearby town, often has festivals.

This agriturismo is a true gem. Will definitely return one day.

Thank you Lisa & family for our wonderful stay! We loved meeting you and hope to see you all again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadineInEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We loved our stay here. It is nestled in the chianti hills which is beautiful in its own right but also a great jumping off point for travel to numerous Tuscan towns. If you want to travel to Florence there is a quick drive to a tram with free parking. The tram is €1.20 and will drop you off right at the Florence train station.

I can't say enough about Lisa and her family that run the place. Just wonderfully nice people. They are helpful if you need anything including recommendations on what to do or where to eat.

They have a pizza party every few days which you should definitely stay for. Also don't skip drinking some of their homemade wine and eating their olive oil.

All of this for a great price. It is great for singles, couples, and travelers with kids. You can choose to stay and relax all day or use it as a home vase for Tuscan travel.

We had a great time and you will too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Travel151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We have just returned from a wonderful 4 night stay at Podere Casanova during a 3 week driving tour of Europe with our twin 3 year old boys. We had a fantastic time and it is a great place to stay for any family with children.

The directions they give you to reach Podere Casanova are good and it was one the the few places in Italy we didn't get lost trying to find! When we arrived Lisa was very friendly and went out of her way to be helpful - offering us a drink, giving us maps and recommendations. Our apartment was very clean and quiet. We had our own little garden area which had amazing views and would eat breakfast there each morning. If we had wanted to we could have eaten all our meals outside as there was also a BBQ. It was very useful to have access to a washing machine and tumble drier (the only place we stayed to offer this) - which is in a separate block open 24hr.

One of the reasons we choose to stay at Podere Casanova was because of some of the activites on offer. We planned so that we were there for Wednesday night which is pizza night and it was one of the highlights of our stay in Italy. The whole Italian family was there as well as other guests and it was a lovely atmosphere, the food was delicious and great value. The pizza was cooked in a traditional outdoor pizza oven and the best bit was the boys got to make their own pizza which they loved. On another day Lisa also took us to visit a ceramic factory free of charge where the boys got to make their own pots which was great fun and we managed to get them home to England without breaking them! There is also an outdoor pool but we were so busy that we did not get a chance to use it.

Whilst staying at Podere Casanova we also found it easy to visit Florence, Pisa and Lucca and is an ideal spot for touring if you have a car.

When we arrived back in England Lisa had emailed a little movie of videos and photos she had taken during our stay - which is not only a lovely memory but a reflection of how important it is to the family that you have a good stay. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this as a great place to stay in Tuscany!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gilestl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muizen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

We were very happy to know the formula of agriturism since it was our first time and the family that runs Podere Casanova. Lisa is very helpful and the welcome dinner fabulous! It gives the occasion to meet the other guests and other nationalities. The pizza-evening was quite a big experience and surprise too! The breathtaking view from the swimming pool over the surrounding hills with olive gardens and vineyards gives you a relaxing feeling after the visit to the different beautiful but hot towns! It's a quiet and relaxing place far away from busier cities. Lisa's father is a friendly man who renovated the farm houses himself and who bakes the pizzas. We wery very happy to have met them! The Podere Casanova really is a place to recommend!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MuizenHowhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We spent a week here with our six year old son in late June. It was the perfect experience for family travel in Tuscany. Lisa and her family are amazing hosts and so helpful, with lots of great itinerary suggestions for the Chianti area. The apartment was perfect for two adults and one child. It was very clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. There are two grocery stores about 10 minutes drive away, and a smaller store about five minutes away. The pool is lovely, as is the view of the surrounding hillsides. There are outside picnic tables located with views over the valley. Our son loved feeding the goats and exploring the property looking for lizards to catch. We enjoyed watching our pizzas bake in the outside wood oven on the pizza night. The dinner for the guests on Saturday night was a feast, as there were a wide variety of delicious local dishes served. We were glad we had a GPS in our car when we first tried to find the place. It is located in a rural area with farms and olive groves all around; and I think that is what makes the place so charming. You feel feel like you can relax and get away from the crowds. The atmosphere is very peaceful. It is a very easy day trip to Florence or Siena. We drove to one of the nearby towns and took the train into Florence--around a 20 minutes train ride. Our time at Podere Casanova stands out as the most relaxing part of our Italy trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Heididavidc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterrebeek, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

great swimming pool to refresh after a day of sightseeing .
Centraly located to do sightseeing in toscane. We have been to Pisa, Luca, San Gimignano, Voltera, Vinchi, Firenze, Sienna and much more. All on a distance less than 90" from Podere Casanova.
If we find time, we are comming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank codbeeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montespertoli
5.1 mi away
Hotel Villa La Cappella
Hotel Villa La Cappella
#1 of 9 in Montespertoli
198 reviews
14.3 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Tenuta Moriano
Tenuta Moriano
#2 of 9 in Montespertoli
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Fattoria Poggio Capponi
Fattoria Poggio Capponi
#16 of 34 in Montespertoli
26 reviews
5.8 mi away
Agriturismo Montalbino
Agriturismo Montalbino
#2 of 34 in Montespertoli
203 reviews
10.6 mi away
Residence Santa Maria
Residence Santa Maria
#19 of 45 in Montaione
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casanova

Property: Podere Casanova
Address: Via Turbone 17 | Loc. Botinaccio, 50025, Montespertoli, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montespertoli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Montespertoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Farmhouse of the seventeenth century located in the Chianti area, between Florence and Siena. All of our apartments have their own private external space. The apartments located on the first floor have their terrace with sun umbrella, table and chairs and barbecue grill. Apartments on the ground floor have a large part of the garden, a large gazebo, table, chairs and barbecue grill as well. Swimming pool in the garden surrounded by parasols and lounge chairs. Children playground. Wifi zone free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Podere Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Casanova Italy/Montespertoli, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing