We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tuscan Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loro Ciuffenna
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Tuscan Holiday”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Belpoggio means 'beautiful hill' which sums up the setting perfectly. The accommodation was all that we expected from the Trip Advisor reviews, comfortable beds, rustic decor with plenty of space for clothes and dressing. The showere was a little disappointing given that we are used to a power shower, and the breakfasts, whilst good, were a bit samey (therefore strawberries one morning were a treat!), but I'm being picky. Stay here for the accommodation and for trips to to local restaurants - breakfast is the only meal served so be prepared to drive for dinner or walk 3.5 k to the nearest restaurant. Our hosts were friendly and extremely kind, always ready to help out with bookings, directions and a glass or two of wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian_lewis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
140
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We only stayed for one night on the day that we arrived Rome. The drive was a little rough but it was all worth the effort. We were also lucky enough to join them for dinner. The room is in good size and the bathroom is nice and clean. The room is on the 3rd floor with a common room outside. It is perfect for us traveling with a 11 month old baby. She can sleep in the room while we were chilling outside. The bed is comfortable. The staffs who worked there were friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miu_and_Meow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

A large party of us stayed here in May 2013 and had a lovely time. The rooms were all comfortable and spacious with modern well functioning bathrooms and the breakfasts were splendid. The staff, Maria, Agnese and Paola were incredibly welcoming from the start and were full of knowledge about good places to visit and the best local restaurants. Very kindly they prepared a pasta supper for the children every night, which made life much easier for us, and the children had a wonderful time pottering around the grounds and looking at the animals at the nearby farm. A very relaxing break for us all and we look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rog2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I just spent 11 days in Italy, stayed in four different locations and Belpoggio was, by far, the best! The accomdations are elegant and the staff is even better. The experience from check-in to our departure could not have been any better. The grounds are lovely, the breakfasts are wonderful and the treatment by the entire staff was amazing. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
1,082 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 854 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We like to try different hotels when we travel and rarely go back to ones previously visited. There are a few exceptions to this rule. Belpoggio is one. The staff was the highlight of our last visit in 2010. They are all still there and are the essence of what makes it so very good. It is more like a home away from home. The building is a treasure. It is old, beautiful and well maintained. Yes, the wireless internet does not work in all the rooms, as it does not go through all the thick stone walls. If that is so important, then you might want to stay in some characterless, thin-walled place along a major highway. If you want peace, quiet and beauty put your electronic devices away and enjoy the countryside. The staff gave excellent recomendations for restaurants and interesting things to see. We were extremely happy with ALL. I am not one who gives high ratings to every hotel and restaurant I see. Belpoggio is special. It is worth Five Gold Points, if only Trip Advisor had such a rating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prevessin Moens, France
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is the first time I am writting a review in Trip Advisor, and this is because this place is definitely worth a recommendation. The accomodation is charming, the staff are very welcoming and attentive and a special mention must be given for Paola's pizza at breakfast - delicious! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isabelle g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What an amazing place. When we arrived after driving for about 2 hours (finding the villa was made easy with Maria's very precise instructions, which included travel times between landmarks and cost of tolls) we were greeted by Agnese and the biggest welcoming smile, a roaring fire, and of course a glass of wine! That was the start to a magical 5 days in Tuscany, 4 ladies celebrating special birthdays. My room was amazing, large, very warm (unusual for old buildings) clean, overall extremely comfortable. Waking up in the morning to the sound of birds, goats, dogs barking in the distance was truly relaxing, I found it very easy to switch off from the outside world. The views from the rooms are breathtaking even with a mist hanging over the hills. Breakfast was fantastic with the choice and variety but just the room where it was served was so beautiful and relaxing. The front room was lovely to sit around the fire and chat and connect to wi fi if necessary. However what makes Belpoggio more special are the staff. Maria and Agnese cannot do enough from recommending places and restaurants to visit, to booking restaurants, drawing maps and writing out directions and all this is done with lovely smiles and true care and Paula's breakfasts are amazing. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loro Ciuffenna
6.8 mi away
Villa la Borghetta
Villa la Borghetta
#1 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
1,274 reviews
12.2 mi away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
668 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Villa La Palagina
Hotel Villa La Palagina
#3 of 6 in Figline e Incisa Valdarno
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Villa Bordoni
Villa Bordoni
#1 of 19 in Greve in Chianti
545 reviews
13.2 mi away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
535 reviews
14.3 mi away
Villa Le Barone
Villa Le Barone
#1 of 5 in Panzano in Chianti
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Villa Belpoggio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Villa Belpoggio

Property: Relais Villa Belpoggio
Address: Via Setteponti Ponente 40, 52024 Loro Ciuffenna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Loro Ciuffenna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Loro Ciuffenna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Villa Belpoggio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Relais Villa Belpoggio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Villa Belpoggio Hotel Loro Ciuffenna
Relais Hotel Belpoggio
Relais Hotel Loro Ciuffenna
Relais Villa Belpoggio Italy/Loro Ciuffenna, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing