We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and tranquil retreat”
Review of Podere Casarotta

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Podere Casarotta
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in apartment number 5 ('Mulberry Trees) during the last two weeks of September 2012. Podere Casarotta is located in a truly stunning location, lovely and peaceful with amazing views over the Valdarno to the Chianti Hills. Our apartment was very clean, tidy, spacious and well equipped (there is no TV but there is a TV in a separate communal building). The bathroom was modern and the shower had good water pressure (no bath). The only minor downside was that the oven was a very small countertop oven - so best to do most cooking on the hob!

Our apartment did not have a balcony but this was not a problem as all the apartments have their own private areas in the extensive grounds, in addition to the communal area around the swimming pool. We very much enjoyed sitting in the garden, gazing at the wonderful view and listening to the wildlife - however, in late September you have to watch out for the midges. We were eaten alive! Plenty insect repellent required.

Simone and the other staff on site were very friendly and helpful. Simone recommended several places to visit in the area, as well as restaurants, etc. All his tips were spot on! We'd particularly recommend L'Acquolina and Cassia Vetus - the food was amazing!

A car is essential if you are staying at the Podere and it's worth bearing in mind that there are no restaurants etc within walking distance. It's the price you pay for staying in such a beautiful, tranquil, rural location. Driving along the windy Setteponti road every day did get a little tiresome, but we could hardly blame Podere Casarotta for this. Having said that, the location is good. We were able to visit Siena, Arezzo, San Gimignano and even Assisi on day trips.

I would definitely recommend Podere Casarotta if you want to get away from it all and enjoy the wonderful Tuscan countryside and food in a relaxed rural location.

Room Tip: I believe that our apartment (no.5) probably has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 71 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a lovely stay in apartment 3 in late September. The apartment was very spacious for the two of us and the area so tranquil. Although the weather was cooling off we made the most of the pool and outdoor seating. There are so many places to see within easy reach of the farmhouse and Simone provided very helpful tips. Sienna, Florence, Arezzo and Cortona together with smaller villages are a must. It is equally as easy to relax about the place. We would definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timmyshoes_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We had a beautiful appartment overlooking the Chianti valley .... stunning views.The appartments are immaculate and tasteful, fully equipped with the exception of a TV ( there is a TV lounge in a close, separate building) There was no balcony, but each appartment has its own secluded private garden with table, chairs and sun-shade. The private pool is spotless and never crowded. Simone, the manager is extremely helpful and prepares excellent dinners on the patio/balcony twice weekly for a reasonable charge.

Room Tip: Room #5 has stunning, iconic views of the Tuscan countryside, and a discrete private garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Agree with all of below!! Way above expectations!
Simone gave a us great tips on restaurants and day trips.
The grounds are picture perfect as well as the rooms themselves.
Great for friends, family or romantic retreats,
We had rooms 2, 3 & 4. All were wonderful and just steps away from the pool.
We will be back!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eradlm082012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have recently returned from our week long stay at Podere Casarotta. I can only agree completely with the previous reviewer of this wonderful place. Simone is an excellent manager who manages to be both helpful and discreet, which I think is a perfect balance. Simone recommended apartment 2 to us and we were extremely pleased with it. The apartment was plenty big enough for the two of us and had a lovely terrace and also a small garden where we were able to use a BBQ. The terrace of apartment 2 was the stand out feature for us as we sat out there most evenings. The pool was also lovely and just a short walk away.

The apartment was well equipped and we were left a welcome basket, which is a nice touch. On the first night Simone offered to cook for us, it was easily one of the best meals we have had. He cooked several dishes for us to try and was very reasonable at 25 euros per person for 3 courses and wine.

As previous reviewers have mentioned you need a car to stay here, the windy road up was a challenge the first time but after that it was fine.

This is the perfect place if you are looking for somewhere to relax or for a base to explore Tuscany, we did both and had a brilliant holiday. I would not hesitate to recommend this place, it is original and charming and the perfect Tuscan retreat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Website holiday reviews are perfect to find out whether places are 'Great' to stay at, or dismal dumps... But I think there must be another category of holiday home which is just perfect. So perfect that you are in two minds whether to tell the world(wideweb) about it or just keep it is a secret place and only tell family and immediate friends. Podere Casarotta is one of those perfect places.

PC is an old farmhouse full of character that has been converted into five separate apartments (we had No5). There is another building alongside which used to be the hayloft and is now used as an occasional communal area, sun terrace, TV room or kitchen area when the site manager (Simone) visits and makes meals for guests (on request). Within a very short walk through the olive grove and rose garden there's a nice sized swimming pool to enjoy after a day's sight-seeing and each apartment has an individual secluded 'garden area' to sit in if you want to be on your own.

We went in the first week of June, so the start of Mid Season. We had the place all to ourselves which was just great! Set fairly high up in the Pratomagno hills overlooking the town of San Giovanni Valdarno it commands some great views and on one of the mornings we were there we woke to find we were basking in the sun actually above the clouds in the valley below! At height of summer it would be nice and cool up in the hills rather than the baking heat lower down, which is another good thing about the place.

The apartment we had was pretty big, the bed was comfortable, the shower (and water pressure) was good and warm and the kitchen was well enough equipped (although in truth we ate out every night so only used it for breakfast). The price was very good too (where else can you stay for £400 for a week with those views?) Apparently if you look for accommodation in that part of Tuscany to the west of the A1 motorway the prices are far higher.

And another thing, communication with Simone was first class. Good emails, a few phone calls when we arrived in country and were on our way up from Rome so he was on site to greet us (he has to come over from Florence) and I'm sure any problem would have been sorted if we had any! Great service.

If you're visiting, you'll soon get used to driving along very winding roads (I thought the Romans built 'straight roads') which is great fun and it's a steep(ish) winding road up to the villa, probably about a mile off the main road. The villa is easily found though.

There are small shops for your groceries in the local towns (Loro Cuifenna) but I found it easier just going down to Montevarchi as there's a big Ipercoop supermarket and garage there.. Good local restaurant? La Continella.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this part of Tuscany and if we ever came back we'd be looking to stay at this villa.

And now I've gone and told you all about it, keep it to yourself won't you? Only let your family and friends know.....

Room Tip: Ours was Apt 5 which overlooked the valley, but I think they all probably had good views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

This lovely Tuscan farmhouse was the perfect antidote to the dizzying pace of Naples and Rome where we spent a few days beforehand. Although the owner was not on site, Enzo the groundskeeper / olive picker was there every day to greet us with his warm grandfatherly smile and took care of whatever we needed (which we managed to communicate with our embarrassingly broken Italian and hand gestures). Enzo even let us play around and help them pick olives for a little while one sunny afternoon! The house is situated high above rolling hills of olive trees, giving you a breathtaking panoramic view. We stayed in Apt. #3 which was the perfect size for me and my husband - very cozy with a well equipped kitchen. It also comes with tons of books and local maps as well as an Idiot's Guide to Learning Italian. It is very close to a few local towns (Loro Ciufenna, San Giovano and Castelfranco) and the daily fresh markets are great! The only complaint I have is that the the windows are not very big (guessing they are the original windows from a few centuries ago) so there is not much sunlight during the day. The lights inside the house are also quite dim so it is not brightly lit at night. But apart from that, we had the perfect holiday at Podere Casarotta and even extended our stay from 7 nights to 10 nights!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissAdventures2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Loro Ciuffenna hotels
0.7 mi away
Relais Villa Belpoggio
Relais Villa Belpoggio
#1 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
310 reviews
0.5 mi away
Odina Agriturismo
Odina Agriturismo
#1 of 14 in Loro Ciuffenna
85 reviews
2.3 mi away
Residence La Ferriera
Residence La Ferriera
#2 of 2 in Loro Ciuffenna
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
La Locanda delle 3 Fonti
#2 of 3 in Loro Ciuffenna
3 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dimora Casa Eugenia
Dimora Casa Eugenia
#1 of 3 in Loro Ciuffenna
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Agriturismo Cafaggio Primo
Agriturismo Cafaggio Primo
#3 of 14 in Loro Ciuffenna
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Podere Casarotta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Podere Casarotta

Address: Localita Millepini - Malva Snc, 52024 Loro Ciuffenna, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Loro Ciuffenna
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Loro Ciuffenna
Price Range: $78 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Podere Casarotta is a XVIIIth century farmhouse in Tuscany which has been renovated in recent years, converted in holiday house with private swimming pool and divided into luxurious apartments for your holiday rentals. In the farmhouse there are six indipendent apartments for rent, each with one or two double bedrooms; the whole holiday house can sleep up to 20 persons. All the apartments are furnished in classic Tuscany style, and each apartment has its own kitchen (well equipped), bathroom and private garden outdoor. The whole property (Podere Casarotta farmhouse together with the Conca d'Oro farm) covers approximately 30 acres, mostly planted with olive groves that surround the farmhouse. The place was called from long ago the "Conca d'Oro" ("the Golden Basin") for its climate, particularly pleasant to people and beneficial to olive oil production. We still produce on the farm our high-quality, organic, tuscan extra-virgin olive oil! Podere Casarotta farmhouse, because of its privileged position in the very heart of Tuscany (and just 5km from the nearest town, Castelfranco di Sopra) offers a perfect balance between rest & relaxation and wandering around: the apartments of our villa will be your luxurious and comfortable starting point for visiting Tuscany! Whatever you are looking for: art, history, culture, parks and nature, wine and food routes, or just relax by the swimming pool in the silence of the Tuscany countryside, you will find them all at hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Podere Casarotta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Podere Casarotta Italy/Loro Ciuffenna, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing