We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best week of our lives!”
Review of Tenuta La Borriana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta La Borriana
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We stayed here recently for our wedding with our friends and family for a whole 7days. This was the best week of my wife and I’s lives and maybe some of our guests’ too. We cannot say a bad thing about this place. The food was aplenty and so very tasty. The local specialities are rabbit, chicken and wild boar. The service was second to none. All the staff were non-intrusive but always around when you needed them. We’d like to mention in particular Francesca on the reception, Alessandro and Jacamo the owners and Damiano our main waiter. Always smiling and eager to assist, they made us all feel very special. The scenary was breath-taking especially during the golden hours which in particular made our wedding dinner on the terrace over looking the Tuscan countryside all the more special. The wine was very reasonably priced as was the Prosecco. Both delicious! Alessandro and Francesca hosted a wine tasting evening with food which was one of the highlights of the week where they got to show off their produce much to our delight  The accommodation was rustic and all the rooms had their own identity. All had benefits over each other so can’t pick one over another. We did have the Gufo Reale room which has a wonderful view over the vineyards out back and an excellent big room especially suitable for the bride to get ready in! Falco, Gheppio and a few of the others had wonderful views over the rolling hills out front and all the apartments had excellent facilities and space.

Delicious wine, gorgeous scenery, rustic accommodation, glorious food and friendly efficient and generous staff = best week of our lives.

Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waddy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 149 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

We had our wedding at La Borriana in June 2011 with over 60 guests.
Our family and friends filled all the rooms and apartments for the whole weekend and it was truly wonderful. Set among the olive groves and vines its impossible not to relax and enjoy the tranquility and scenery of the surroundings.

The farmhouse is traditional and decorated in typical tuscan furniture with stone walls and high beamed ceilings. The rooms are spacious and many have great views over the terrace or tuscan hills. The large infinity pool overlooking the vines is also spectacular.

The food at the restaurant is fantastic and very typical of the region. We enjoyed a variety of delicious traditional dishes from wild boar, to pasta in nettle sauce and some of the best steaks I've ever had. Its also very well priced.
As expected the wine is great and wine tasting with Alessandro and Francesca is highly recommended.

We have actually stayed at La Borriana twice. We fell in love with La Borriana the first time and hence decided to get married there. It will always remain a very special place to us. Our wedding was magical and everything we could have asked for, even if we were unlucky with the weather on our wedding day.

Francesca, Alessandro and Jacamo are so accommodating and would go out of their way to make our guests stay, relaxing, enjoyable and fun. Therefore I can't recommend La Borriana enough.

If you are looking for a typical tuscan retreat within close proximity to Florence then La Borriana is highly recommended.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandCxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a very charming country retreat. The service is excellent and the views over the country side are breath-taking. The rooms are small but comfortable. Fairly difficult to find if you are not familiar with the area, but with a GPS it is not a problem. Location is wonderful and very central to explore the Tuscan country side or just to relax next to the pool. It helps to speak at least basic Italian as very few people in the area speak English. We got lost on the way to the farm, from Florence, and experienced some difficulty finding directions as we don’t speak Italian. Fairly close (10 km) from the nearest station (Signa) from where you can get onto a train to most of the major towns in the area to explore. The restaurant serves truly Tuscan dishes coupled with wonderful wines produced on the farm. The chef and staff go out of their way to make you feel at home and the food is delicious. Truly a wonderful experience and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DirkEksteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We spent 5 days during Easter holidays there and we loved it.
La Borriana is a very remote typical Tuscan country house. They have their own vine yard and olive oil production. The place is well maintained it looks like renovation took place yesterday (it was done in 2005). Our room (apartments are also available) was extremely nice and lovely furnished in a traditional rustic style. Besides the country house there is a restaurant in an extra building with a terrace including the swimming pool. Unfortunately we could not use it at the time of our visit, because the pool was just recovered from its winter sleep and the weather was not warm enough to enjoy a cooling dip.
Breakfast was not of the big buffet style with an endless selection of food (e.g. no ham, sausages, or eggs but if you ask you probably will get some). Nevertheless for us it was more than enough, because we had booked half board and enjoyed delicious dinner (including three courses) at their own restaurant every night. The dishes were typical Tuscan specialities, freshly prepared and served with a lot of passion. Thanks to Fedra (the good spirit of the restaurant) for the entertaining evenings.
We also tasted a lot of their own vine, which went perfectly together with the dishes.
The people running La Borriana, Alessandro and Francesca are very nice and helped a lot when it came to our planning of daily trips.
The country house is very remote, close to the village of Carmingnano and around 20 min by car from Florence. It is located on a hill, surrounded by vine yards, olive groves and small forests. If you prefer nature and quietness (besides birds twitter) than this location is perfect.
We used La Borriana as our home base and started our daily tours to Tuscany (Siena, Lucca, Pisa, etc.) from there, which was absolutely fine. But for exploring the very south of Tuscany we would stay further south, since we did not like to drive for 3 hours just one direction.
The remoteness of La Borriana also has one big disadvantage: it is very difficult to find for the first time. The address on their website (as well as on tripadvisor) is not accurate enough to find the place with your navigation system. Hint: find Via Arrendevole and drive until the intersection with Via Montalgeto. There you will find also one of the few signs directing you to La Borriana. Follow the sign on a dirt road up the hill and you will be there. Alternatively here are the GPS coordinates recorded by our GPS device: 43° 47' 30'' N, 11° 1' 39'' E (if you enter this on Google Maps you will recognise that there is no road leading to this point, but in satellite mode you will see the resort).

All in all we had a wonderful holiday, felt very cosy and welcomed by the staff and can definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grandma_pearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We booked 5 rooms at La borriana for our wedding. They have wonderful wedding hall there that was once an old barn. It adjoins there beautiful restaurant.
The rooms were great. The staff went out of their way to ensure that our wedding was a day to remember. Fransecca was wonderful. After the ceremony we went down stairs and they had champagne and nibbles ready for us. Once we had our photos done ( and oh what a spectacular back drop for photos) we were taken back inside where to our astonishment we were not having our dinner in the restaurant. They had turned the wedding hall into a private dinning room for the nine of us and it was beautiful.
The food was incredible and all the staff fantastic. A perfect place for a perfect day.

Room Tip: They have a geat web site which shows all rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnaMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

I travelled alone and stayed at La Borriana for a friends wedding.
The rooms were beautiful & clean with lots of character. I stayed in what was deemed a single room which consisted of bunk beds, I found the room incredibly spacious and excellent value for money. I was also situated at the front of the farnhouse so the view of the vineyards and countryside was fantastic.
Breakfast was basic but very nice, standard cereals & croissants affair. Dinner was amazing. The chef is fantastic and is open to certain requests but the menu itself is fabulous & offers a lot of variety you wont need to ask for anything different.
The pool area was fantastic & again the views were great. I would definitely recommend La Borriana and hope to stay again.
Please be aware that you are effectively in the middle of nowhere so if you don't hire a car you will need to hire taxi's etc which the staff are more than happy to arrange for you.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shorty2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I first visited La Borriana in Spring 2008 with my mum after booking the farmhouse for my wedding and wedding reception that October.
We received the most fantastic welcome from Alessandro and his family, as well as the ever capable and helpful Francesca.

The setting is just incredibly beautiful and the farmhouse and accommodation has been beautifully renovated. It just oozes rustic charm.

We could not have been happier with the weekend we spent at La Borriana with our friends and family that October for our wedding. The accommodation, food, wine (made on the premises) and hospitality was faultless. We especially enjoyed the wine tasting the night before our wedding, where Alessandro and Francesca talked our guests through the wines made at La Borriana and we got to sample some local cuisine, including Ribollita and cantucci biscuits with Vin Santo.

I would recommend however that anyone visiting this area take a car - taxis were available but I think you have much more flexibility with your own car.
Also get some good directions - most of our guests found the farmhouse with no trouble, but a few had some fun trying to locate it, especially after dark.

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillipilli78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmignano
1.6 mi away
Villa La Malva
Villa La Malva
#4 of 5 in Carmignano
95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Villa San Michele
Hotel Villa San Michele
#2 of 5 in Carmignano
164 reviews
7.8 mi away
Lebbiano Residence
Lebbiano Residence
#2 of 5 in Scandicci
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Resort Casale Le Torri
Resort Casale Le Torri
#1 of 2 in Ponsacco
121 reviews
1.6 mi away
Agriturismo Sottotono
Agriturismo Sottotono
#1 of 1 in Santa Cristina a Mezzana
129 reviews
1.0 mi away
B&B  La Gufaia
B&B La Gufaia
#1 of 7 in Carmignano
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta La Borriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Borriana

Address: Arrendevole, 59015, Carmignano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Carmignano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Carmignano
Price Range: $87 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta La Borrana is the idela place to stay for holidays and life outdoor. Placed on the beautiful Tuscan hills, it is just 20km far from Florence and close to the most beutiful Tuscan towns. The farmhouse has rooms, apartments equipped with all comforts, a panoramic swimming pool with solarium space and a tyical restaurant placed in the old barn.To not forget the farm where guests can buy our wines, olive oil, jams and honey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tenuta La Borriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing