We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Agriturismo Pian di Fiume
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2008

We recently stayed at Pian Di Fiume for 10 nights and had a great time. Our apartment was called Ange, it had 2 storeys and a terrace upstairs.

The owner Massimo and his assistant Daniella couldn't have been more helpful, the apartments were delightful but our highlight was learning to make pasta!

The former village is situated on top of a rather steep hill but everbody seemed to manage, the bonus being that once you got to the top the views were fantastic.

The complex has a pool and Massimo owns a couple of km of riverbank, with gravelly beaches. While we were there a BBQ was held on one part of the beach and kids were allowed to float down the river on inflatable tubes, it was entirely safe as the river does not seem to have undercurrents.

Another evening a murder mystery was held which was fantastic fun, even if some of the clues lost something in translation.
The food was cooked by Daniella and her helpers and was delicious every time. But there were so many courses you really didn't have room for everything!

We were also invited to go to a local festival which was a fascinating occasion, so much food and dancing!

We also suggest travelling to Lucca as cycling around the walls is a great thing to do on a day out.

Our only criticism is that you really need a car. We travelled by train and took a taxi to Pian but unless you don't plan to move at all for a week it really is easier to drive. The only access to Bagni is currently via the main road as a landslide has destroyed part of the private road and it is not a particularly safe walk.

Overall i would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 231 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2008

This is a very lovely, far, far away place in the chestnut forests of the Appenines. It's a 10 minute drive from Bagni di Lucca - a small town. There are other B&B's in the neighborhood. We loved this place and the ancient roman paths that led from it into the hills and towards other tiny hamlets - towns with old churches but no stores. The owner was very gracious, staff was helpful. We were the only ones there in early October, and dinner was not an option. Breakfast was great, our room was lovely, and the pleasure of being alone in this old Italian place was rare and special.

They may have changed their name - to something easier to remember. (maybe 2 words starting with A) Look for a renovated 'hamlet' above Bagni di Lucca that describes kayaking and swimming. The Matildan "Devil's" bridge on the way is lovely to behold.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaTravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2007

This is a great agriturismo (Bed & Breakfast on a working farm). It is different from most I have seen - and it is certainly among the very best you can find anywhere in Italy.

It is a restored old working farm, set half way up the hill above a river, with it is own private bridge. This is in countryside in the area of Lucca, just outside of Bagni di Lucca - a charming old spa place that seems entirely forgotten, but which retained much of its 1800s charm and style.

The property is very large (the entire side of the hill, with a group of buildings offering a variety of accomodations - rooms and self-containt apartment). The owner is an enthusiastic young portsmen, a history buff, and a ublished author, who is happy to share a wealth of information on the local history and architecture. The agriturismo also offers rafting and kayaking down the river (you start at their private beach just at the foot of the hill), guided hikes in the nearby mountains, mushroom
(porcini) picking in the fall, and the hill is covered with the chestnut forest if you just want to go for a leisurely hike in the woods.

They have a small restaurant and breakfasts are much better than usual (excellnet ham, cheese, yogurts, their own baked bread, etc). They also offer dinners (need to pre-book) - and they are definitely worth having. The food is great (but there is no menu - everyone has whatever is "tonight's special"), the prices are gentle. They serve their own wine, meat from their own pigs, bake their own bread - you get the idea.

The place is frequented by the 20-30-40 year old italians, who seem to come there for kayaking-hiking-rafting, but the atmosphere is very cultured and civilized.

The owner and staff speak enough English to make a stay there worry-free. They are very helpful and friendly, and the whole place has a great atmosphere.

The rooms/apartments are freshly reconstructed and very spacious, everything is very new (some light fixtures were not fully installed when we were there, only the lightbulbs worked, but it added somehwat to the rustic charm, rather than took away from it). Everything is spotlessly clean.

A truly wonderful place. We cannot wait to go there again.

You definitely need a car to get there - this is in the countryside near Lucca, hardly accessible without a car. The town of Lucca is about half an hour pleasant drive away (more or less, depending on the time of a day, and you get to see the famous Devil's brigde along the way).

----

Stayed: September 2006
5  Thank NToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank heikekellermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alessandro G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelloM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bagni di Lucca
9.1 mi away
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Resort & Spa
Renaissance Tuscany Il Ciocco Re...
#1 of 1 in Castelvecchio Pascoli
1,154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
Hotel & Terme Bagni di Lucca
#1 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
248 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Regina
Park Hotel Regina
#2 of 5 in Bagni di Lucca
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Relais Corte Benedetto
Relais Corte Benedetto
#1 of 18 in Capannori
168 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Torre
Agriturismo La Torre
#3 of 10 in Bagni di Lucca
135 reviews
3.4 mi away
Settimo Cielo
Settimo Cielo
#1 of 1 in Casoli
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Pian di Fiume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Pian di Fiume

Address: Localita Pian Dei Berci 20, 55022, Bagni di Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Bagni di Lucca
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Bagni di Lucca
Price Range: $55 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country medieval restauranto entirely with the principles of bio-architecture, independent and self-sufficient oil. Private access via a wooden bridge, 700 meters of road through the woods with herds of Cinta Senese pigs, goats, sheep and poultry. Private access to the beaches of the River Lima. The country offers service restaurant with farm produce, bread baked in a wood oven, cuts of Cinta Senese and handmade pasta. In addition the availability of apartments and double rooms with independent entrance and private bathroom. Inside the farmhouse and surrounding sports such as horse trekking, descents rafting, mountain biking, hiking, canyoning, flying parapentio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Agriturismo Pian di Fiume reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Pian Di Fiume Province Of Lucca/Bagni Di Lucca, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing