We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!”
4.5 of 5 stars
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Rossa

Villa Rossa, available all year round
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Rossa, available all year round
Villa Rossa's private pool open April to October Views from the Villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 stars
Very good
19 reviews
Villa Rossa, available all year round
Villa Rossa's private pool open April to October
Views from the Villa
Cook your own stone baked pizza in the villa's original pizza oven
Eat alfresco in the villa gardens complete with Pizza Oven, BBQ & Gazebo
Main living room with comfy seating and a home from home feel
Relax around the log fire with a glass of Chianti, just perfect on those cooler times of year
One of the 2 fully equipped kitchens at the villa
The villa has been lovingly restored and retains many of its original features
One of the double bedrooms with en suite
One of the double bedrooms with sunny balconies and amazing views
Double bedroom with bathroom and original Tuscan cotto floors
Large travetine tiled bathroom trimmed with marble, modern fittings, with bath and separate shower
Shop at the local market with everything from local produce to Italian clothes and household goods
Take a day out to explore Florence only an hour away and easy to get to by bus and train
Outdoor thermal spa swimming pools 10 min walk from the villa
Explore and walk around the 25 villages in Bagni di Lucca on circular walks many from the villa
Bagni di Lucca centre a 5 minute walk away from the property
Have a fun family day out on the Versilian coast, less than 40 minutes away from the villa
Visit Pisa only an hours drive away and easy to get to from the villa by public transport
Book a local wine tasting tour as part of your stay!
Visit one of the many pretty coastal harbours nearby or visit the Cinque Terre a great day out
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bagni di Lucca, Province of Lucca, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

 of 5 stars
4.5 of 5 stars Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lizziebEn...
England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Gorgeous house that has been beautifully decorated and furnished with everything you could possibly want. The views are stunning and the location is perfect and very peaceful. The room at the very top of the house had a window in the roof that meant you could look out at the stars at night - how fantastic is that? There is also a wonderful spiral staircase which provided me with a lot of exercise!

The house is just a short stroll away from the village where there are bars, restaurants and shops as well as a market a couple of times a week.

The owners are lovely, very friendly and helpful and ensure you have all you need to have a great holiday.

We didn't have a car while we were there but found a great taxi driver called Roberto who is can take up to 6 passengers and has great knowledge of the local area. He is also very helpful and reliable and speaks enough English to be able to understand those terrible people like us who don't speak very much Italian!

I can't recommend this place highly enough, you could not fail to have a great time there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The climb up the hill!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 25, 2012
We are over the moon that you just loved our rental property all of you. The centre being so close is always a plus for our guests. The taxi service available is great and the local transport links super, so you don't need to hire a car to enjoy Tuscany when you choose to stay with us at Villa Rossa. The locals are friendly, there are lots to see and do nearby and in cases of emergency we are never far away. Thank you so much for your kind review all the best Joanna and Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Gazo1963
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fab Villa and Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We are a party of 9 that stayed in the villa for 2 weeks . We cover 3 generations and everybody loved it . Plenty of space , well equipped , close to the town with plenty of eating and drinking establishments .

The villa is within easy walking distance of the town but I would recommend a car if you are planning days out .

I could bang on about different aspects of the villa , town and surrounding areas , but to save on words , ask anybody in our party if they would go back and they would all say yes . Without hesitation . My advice , book it .

The owners were fantastic and could not of been more helpful .

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: We were only there 2 weeks !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 19, 2012
It always so nice when we receive reviews like this that let us know how people are enjoying our villa rental, Villa Rossa and the local area. We love it here in Bagni di Lucca, it has all you need right on your door step. Shops, banks, bars, restaurants, and good transport links. We are so pleased to hear you all your holiday with us at Villa Rossa. Thank you for your kind review. Joanna, Antonio and Massimiliano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Cork, Ireland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2012
Wow is all we can say to this lovely review and thank you. When we received feedback like this it makes all our hard work worth while. We are so pleased you and your family loved the property and the area. As you said in your review it is large enough for family groups to have their own space, and yet retain that home from home feel. The location makes it ideal for visiting Florence and Lucca and the transport links are good to most areas. We were sad to see you go and please tell your little girl the red house would love to welcome her back again! Take care all of you hope to see you again in the future. Until then Ciao for now. Joanna, Antonio and Massimiliano
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Manchester, United Kingdom
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Perfect place for large family get together
Liked least: On very hot days the walk back up to the villa was a bit tiring for some of the oldies!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2012
Thank you for your review it was a joy to have you and your family stay with us. We are so pleased you loved our day trips. These we offer to clients as an added option. The villa itself is in a lovely position close to transport links so, if like yourselves people don't wish to hire a car, getting around is easy. As you you found out when your daughter headed up to Venice for a couple of days and you enjoyed nearby Lucca and Florence. It was a joy meeting you all keep in touch. kind regards Joanna and Antonio
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Ciara F
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Stayed at this lovely old house for one week with our extended family (8 adults and 3 young children). Had a fabulous time and can highly recommend Villa Rossa. The house is spacious and really well equipped - there are two kitchen areas which are stocked with everything you could need if you are self catering throughout your stay. It is just a five minute walk to the local supermarket, and ten minutes to the larger one. Bathrooms in the house are all excellent - was perfect for our large group. Its a really lovely home - very comfortable throughout. The little kids in our group needed a little supervision as the main stairwell is a spiral staircase, but other than that the place is very kiddie friendly. There is even a nicely stocked toy cupboard, lovely playhouse outside etc. The pool was excellent and was cleaned during our stay. It was a really welcome relief from the instense mid summer heat!!! Only thing that could have made the place nicer woud have been air conditioning but following the local practice of closing the shutters during the day certainly helped.

The area itself Is very pretty. The town is a decent size with a good few restaurants etc to choose from and a great Market twice a week for fresh produce. The owners provide a very helpful 'green book' with all the information you could need. We can recommend Il Mamo for lovely food. Del Sonno was also good fun as each Thursday and Friday in summer they close the town to traffic and this restaurant puts all their tables outside which makes for a different atmosphere. We travelled a lot around the surrounding areas including into Barga, Lucca, Florence and Siena so the house made a great base for these trips.

Just to be aware the house is up quite a steep hill - if you have a small car it's fine as you can drive right up to the house but we had a large people carrier which didn't fit - the walk up the hill was tough on the golden oldies in our group!

All in all I could highly recommend Villa Rossa. It has been very thoughtfully stocked, making it a really easy and enjoyable trip. I would love to think that we would make it back for a return trip

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Getting into the pool to escape the Tuscan heat
Liked least: Bumping our heads on the low door frames (but that's our own fault!)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us at Villa Rossa. As this was originally our home no expense was spared on the fixtures and fittings and this is how it has remained. As your title said we are delighted you found it had that real home from home feel, we do stock it with plenty of items to help make your stay comfortable. The house is very kiddie friendly, with the pool gated and the stairs with doors at each level. As a very safety conscious mum with a lively boy of 3 years old, the house was designed especially with little ones in mind. The location as you said is perfect for those wishing to walk to the local amenities in the centre of the village or use it as a base to explore the rest of Tuscany. The last 100m of the road as we advertise, can feel a bit tight with larger vehicles as you found out. However, we drive our mini bus up to the villa door no problem. It is just a case of going slowly at first until you get used to the approach and then you would have been fine. For those clients who are not comfortable driving a larger vehicle to the door, we do offer alternative parking 100m away. It seems your trip to Tuscany was a great success and we do hope to see you again in the future. Until then take care all of you. Joanna, Antonio and Massimiliano.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Bradford, United Kingdom
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you loved Villa Rossa and the location. As you said you found it was ideal as a base for seeing Tuscany and you enjoyed travelling on the local transport links to Florence and Lucca. The days you took the opportunity to explore the area, with our personal walking tours around the villages and the wine tasting were also a real treat for you and your group. You loved the whole experience so much, you have already expressed an interest in coming again next year. We can't wait to see you all again soon. Until then take care all of you. kind regards.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
fflow
Christchurch
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful house but not prepared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this lovely home for one week . The location is beautiful, but would've been better with a car as the public transport is not all that often. In saying that we loved exploring the little town and enjoyed our meals at local restaurants -and shopping for Italian shoes at the local shoe shop!!
After having stayed in many holiday homes both in europe and australia and New Zealand we felt that this was not presented to the standard we would expect. On our arrival it was cold and the house had not been heated (which is ok) but there was no fire lighting materials (matches, paper, fire lighter) also we couldnt get the gas heating to turn on and after three phonecalls to Joanna still no heating for our first night - the owners did come and fix it for the next day thankfully. There were no tea towels, no toilet paper,no kitchen cloth, no toaster, and the kitchen was not well set up for cooking.
For the price we paid this should have been done.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The town
Liked least: HOuse not being prepared for our arrival
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you found the villa and it's location lovely. We are sorry you felt the villa was ill prepared. We do however feel that we would like to respond to the points you raised regarding this. We cannot agree that the items listed were missing, as we personally place these items in the villa ourselves and did so before your arrival. If they were indeed missing, you needed only to have told us, on the occasions when you called for us to organise your trips and taxis and we would have rectified the matter. The heating as explained at your welcome meeting, was pre set and yes it did go off however, as you were aware this was due to it being switched off by yourselves in error. We pride ourselves on the service we give our clients, as reviews on our property with other holiday websites show. We are sorry that you were not happy on leaving, however as we are sure you will appreciate, the next people arriving would want to find the villa in the same lovely condition that you yourselves found it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Enter dates for more accurate prices
Any
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing