We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Tuscan Escape!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Asciano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aia Vecchia di Montalceto
Reviewed October 28, 2009

What can I say other than this place was amazing! We were 2 families traveling together with children ages 2 - 7. This place was perfect for the adults and children! The apartments are extremely spacious and comes with everything you need to feel at home! The kitchens were on the smaller side, but there is a great common area kitchen that we used when we were making our bigger meals. The grounds are beautiful, and everywhere you look you will see one of Chiara's special touches. Very seldom do I arrive at a place of lodging and want to stay. With 3 small children, I am usually ready to pack them up and contain our little one in a stroller and head out! Here though, the children were free to run and play while the adults could actually sit and relax for a bit! My husband has a very busy and stressful job, and he was at utter peace at Aia Vecchia. He would have been happy to stay put all week! But, of course, we took many day trips, which is easy to do with the location! But having Aia Vecchia to return to in the evenings to share a bottle of wine and a caprese was the highlight of our week.

For the price of a TINY hotel room, you can have the comforts of home! You won't regret it!

TIP: Make sure to take advantage of Chiara's Wednesday night dinner. It was the best meal of the week, and the experience was a memory we will never forget!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
43  Thank bbrown1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 72 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2009

We chose this place from many others in Tuscany and are sure this was the best choice! The place is extraordinary, with anything you may wish for holidays - beautiful landscapes, lots of historical areas nearby and a perfect lodging. Rooms are clean and cozy, the apartment has anything you need for a one-week stay and hosts are very friendly and helpful. One of the greatest things there is definitely the big swimming pool. Together with the thermal cave they give a perfect opportunity to relax during a hot Tuscanian summer day. We also made use of bikes provided by the owners for their guests. This were sure one of our best holidays ever!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
36  Thank juzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2009

We stayed here in February for a few days , for a bargain we got a beautiful room with a stunning view of the countryside .all is perfect here : confortable beds, immaculately clean property and a terrific breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
46  Thank marcoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2009

We have been there for a week, two families and three small chidren in total. It has been really amazing place and it was a shame we have been there for only a week. Place has perfect location, nice big swimming pool, clean and spacious apartments, olive oil produced at a place is top mark and Chiara the owner is really helpful and nice person. Grazie mille and we recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
48  Thank Andrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

I was at the Aia Vecchia last week end, so sorry to spend only 3 days...it's really worth to stay at least one week.
This place brings you back in history, it is right in the middle of tipical Tuscan landscape, these kinf of pictures you see on magazines and you do not even think they exist!
Our apartment was simply unique, all details was studyed in particular and the rooms were all big, feeling like being at home!
A perfect place where to stay for relaxing ( the swimming pool and terme area are great!), but also ideal as a point to start to go visiting Crete Senesi area...
The owner Chiara and her family are in mind what a tipical Italian family would be...they treated us as special guests and I'm sure they would do the same with everybody.
Do not miss an experience in this magic place...believe me,I've been all around the world, but this is an unique one!
PS the icon of this place is Emma, Chiara's little dog...don't miss the pictures!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
40  Thank sweetbettina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Location and accomodations for couples, families or large groups(such as a family reunion) to use as a base to explore Italy and take in the sites, or to just relax and bask in the Tuscan sun..

Starting a few years ago, my family from my mother’s side gets together for a reunion, about every two years or so. For 2008 it was our turn to organize the venue. After sifting through many options, we chose Aia Vecchia , and it turned out to be the perfect selection!

We usually have 20 to 30 people attending these 2-week reunions, and we like to find a place where we have the entire property to our selves (mostly because we do not want to intimidate any other guests). Each time we arrange such a trip, we try to do so in a different country. In the past we were in Belgium and France. When we set out to organize the trip for last year (we actually started in 2007) we provided the family with 5 localities to pick their 1st, 2nd and 3rd choices from; Mayan Riviera Mexico, Brittany France, Algrave Portugal, Southern France, and Tuscany. Although it was not the first choice for most, Tuscany was the definite favourite, being picked by everyone.
Our previous trip to France in 2006 had proven to be very hot, with the temperatures in the low 40’s (Celsius) the entire 2 weeks, therefore a pool was a priority in our selection this time around (knowing that the Tuscan weather hovered in the same range for the end of July and beginning of August.

After starting with about 100 possible villas in Tuscany/Umbria, we narrowed our list to 3. Aia Vecchia was my favourite, while it was the second choice of my parents. After some discussion, I was able to convince my parents that Aia Vecchia was our best bet. Our experience on our trip proved that this was the perfect selection.

Aia Vecchia is located on the functioning farm of Villa Montalceto and consists of 5 apartments, 3 in the upper floors of the main Villa; Chiara (2 Bedroom), Constanza (3 bedroom), Cecilia (4 bedroom); and 2 in a second structure right next to the Villa; Alice and Laura (3 bedroom each). Each apartment has their own living area, dining area, kitchen and bathroom(s), along with the bedrooms.

The main floor of the Villa houses the common rooms; a large kitchen, dining room (seats up to 34), Ping Pong room, lounge with TV and piano, cold storage room, and several washrooms.

Outside the kitchen is a patio, where most of our family gathered under the morning sun for a coffee or espresso along with the owner, Chiara. There is also a small building there with the Billiard Table. On the other side (West) is the Terrace, where ate every dinner every evening watching the setting Tuscan Sun.

The building housing Alice and Laura has its back to the Villa, and their entrances were a level below (down the hill or the stairs). Alice and Laura have a BBQ on their patio. There is also a BBQ at the Villa Terrace and the Pizza Oven next to the kitchen entrance. Be forewarned that the pizza oven is below one of the bedrooms of the Chiara apartment, and using it once will superheat this apartment for a couple of days.

One evening we had set aside to celebrate various anniversaries, birthdays and the like. We arranged to have the owner, Chiara, to cook an authentic Italian meal using fresh produce from the farm. Chiara and her boyfriend did amazing job, and the meal was thoroughly enjoyed by everyone. Of course, there was an additional cost for this, but it was well taking an evening off from cooking and cleaning up.

The Pool is amazing, and a great idea since the weather was into the 40’s again. Everyone spent at least an hour or two at the pool each day of our stay. It is located at the owner’s Villa (Montalceto) a little further down the cypress-lined lane (about 200 meters). It is a large (10 meters by 14 meters) infinity pool with a Jacuzzi jets in one corner. It is surrounded by a deck that has a section with about 15 loungers and small tables. There are several other loungers and chairs on the other sides of the pool, along with a few hammocks strung up between the cypress trees that surround the pool area.
In a structure next to the pool is the Thermal Spa, with warm mineral water that is very soothing to the skin.

On the stairway down to the pool from Villa Montalceto, Chiara has set up a small kitchenette with a coffee maker and a fridge (great for keeping a supply of cold drinks near-by). There is also a washroom here.

You can drive to the pool on a lower lane from the rental villa. This is great for transporting elderly people, or those that have difficulty walking. The lane ends by the pool in a small area where 2 or 3 cars can be parked. It passes the playground and boules (bocce) court.

Service is excellent at the Villa. The rooms are charming, clean and well maintained. Chiara was available every day, and very social with our group. Each morning she would be up to water the many plants (lots of Rosemary around to use when cooking) and flowers, then she would sit out with and have an Espresso. The Kitchens are all well stocked with service and cookware, and if there is anything you need, Chiara is very accommodating to help out.
T
he Villa is very nicely located. Our group visited Vinci, Florence, San Gimignano, Arezzo, Seina, Montelpuciano, San Giovanni D’Asso, and Pienza, just to name a few, all being within 1 ½ hours of the villa. There are so many amazing sites to see in the region, and this villa allows for a great central base to explore the area.

There are some nice small food shops in Asciano and Rappel Terme however Sinalunga is your best bet for a Grocery store. It is about 15-20 minutes to the East, either by highway or by very scenic winding countryside drive.

As we approach our next reunion, I know that our thoughts will be returning to Aia Vecchia and the great time that we had. We may not be there again as a group (you never know!) but I am sure that all of us would definitely put Aia Vecchia at the top of our list if we consider going to Tuscany again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bgracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiavecchia, proprietario at Aia Vecchia di Montalceto, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2009

Dear Brian
thank you so much, for your beatifull comment
and a vary big kiss to grandmather and grandfather!!
Kind regards from Tuscany
Chiara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Not far from Siena and a few miles from Montepulciano and other beautiful places like Pienza, the Azienda Agricola Aia Vecchia di Montalceto lays in the centre of the most beautiful region of the Tuscuny: The Crete Senesi.
For children and older people, everything is present: large swimming pool + playground for children, recent furnished appartments, common (cleaning)rooms and kitchen, playtoys, pooltable!, ...
And last but not least we want to mention the very sympathic guestwife Chiara!
So we have already booked for this summer 2009. Perfect price and quality!
Check out the website http://www.agriturismoaiavecchia.com/

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlFiamminghi8790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asciano hotels
13.6 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
1,711 reviews
15.3 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
20.9 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Asciano
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Piccolo Hotel San Valentino
25.7 mi away
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
#6 of 9 in Asciano
155 reviews
25.8 mi away
Podere Alberese
Podere Alberese
#2 of 28 in Asciano
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aia Vecchia di Montalceto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aia Vecchia di Montalceto

Address: Azienda Agricola | Montalceto, Asciano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Farm house with apartments with kitchen and private garden with barbque , large swimming pool with jacuzzi , ping pong table , biliard , childs playground , volley ,cooking classes , tipical tuscany dinner, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aia Vecchia Di Montalceto Asciano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing