We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous base for cycling”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Agriturismo Il Molinello
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous base for cycling”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Il Molinello makes a fabulous base for a "spoke and wheels" kind of trip. We spent two weeks and had plenty of varied road cycling - gorgeous scenery, hilltop towns, and plenty of climbing when we wanted a hard day, Sandro (a professional bike guide) can guide each ride, upload his rides into your gps, provide route sheets if you prefer, or just give you ideas on routes you choose. Sandro even picked us up one day after we had a mechanical. They also specialize in providing fun things for a non-riding spouse to do (cooking lessons, winery and olive vineyard tours, wine tasting, cooking lessons, trips to Siena, etc) while the cyclist hits the roads. Sandro even took us to see a Giro d'Italia stage and provided fabulous local, organic foods and wine! They speak good english and strive to please. Can't go wrong.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank rosy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MolinelloAsciano, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Molinello, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Rosy thank you very much for your review, yes we are very focusing on the bike and for me it's pretty easy just because is one of my passion!!!
Really hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    27
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
47
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Walkersville, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Our stay at Il Molinello didn't start off too well...we arrived on a Sunday evening and didn't realize we would have no access to food stores and that area restaurants were hard to locate. We did locate a co-op nearby, so were able to buy food the next day as we started exploring the area. This centralized locale let us visit Asciano, Montepulciano, Assisi, Cortona, Sienna and other hill towns.
We did take a day to relax and do laundry and take in the sites as we walked around the Agritourismo. I couldn't believe all the produce grown right there on their property.
The owner selected and left several bottles of wine in our apartment, to purchase and drink, if we so chose. We were travelling with two other couples, so our apartment had 3 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a kitchen and a living area with a nice large table. We also had our own "space" out in the yard....to sip wine, of course. :D
The night before we checked out, we were able to eat at a nearby restaurant that was truly an experience -- Ischieto -- won't forget them.

Room Tip: Let them know how many are in your group -- they have apartments in various sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kateich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molinello, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Molinello, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you very much for what you wrote. Yes, you are right, all the shops are closed on Sundays, that's the other side of the coin of living in an area unchanged for years in his habits... but also in his beauty. I think you get the right pace of the holiday: visiting art towns and resting and relaxing at Il Molinello...and of course sipping an awsome organic Brunello di Montalcino:-))
Sometimes neither do I believe all the produce my father grow in the vegetable garden, I try to convince him to work less but then I immeditely realize the passion he has in making them and I just say: thank you Dad!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week in July 2012 at Il Molinello and it was our base for cycling day trips through the Chianti region, the Crete Sensesi and Cortona. Sandro and his wife Elise are the proprietors and Sandro is a bike guide as well as a sommelier. We hired Sandro to guide us on 4 of our trips and it was fabulous. He is a terrific guide; knowledgeable, friendly, funny and all around great company. Couldn't have asked for better. On the days we went solo he provided us with detailed maps and instructions...so easy. We loved our apartment (newly renovated) with our own kitchen and living space and patio just off the pool. It felt like home. Sandro and Elise are wonderful hosts and helped with advice on restaurants and other sightseeing suggestions. We also enjoyed the wine tasting sessions that Sandro hosted. A truly wonderful vacation and one we will remember fondly for a long time...until we go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MainelovesItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MolinelloAsciano, Proprietario at Agriturismo Il Molinello, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your beautiful review, I've spent amazing days with you too, you are a wonderful couple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for several nights this May (2012) at Il Molinello, using it as a base to explore Southern Tuscany. I have to say, it was a fantastic place to stay! It is a restored 700 (800?) year old farm house currently being run by 3 generations: Sandro and his wife Elise, their kids and the grandparents. It is located about 30K southeast of Siena, between the towns of Asciano and Serre di Rapolano. Very easy to find with Sandro's directions.

There is the main house, with several rooms. We stayed in Il Gelso (The Jasmine, presumably named for the jasmine vines leading the way up the stairs to the room). It was a very generous suite: a large living room (TV), dining area / kitchen area (full stove & fridge). Down the hallway were the bathroom and a large bedroom with a comfortable queen sized bed. Perfectly decorated and spotless. One of the common areas of the main house had a clear floor looking down to an excavation of the original mill that Sandro had traced back 700 years in the Siena town records (thus Il Molinello - the Mill).

Elsewhere on the grounds, Sandro and his father were putting the finishing touches on two new suites adjacent to the swimming pool. Although "new" they were building them to the local style, using their own hands. Warm, comfortable, spacious. In addition there were two other detached rooms across the drive, all on the same property. Thus, one can choose to either be in the main house, or in one of the adjacent rooms.

The property has an enormous play area, a nice playground and (as mentioned) a nice swimming pool. Chairs and hammocks are distributed under the trees for relaxing during the day. Breakfast was spectacular! And primarily sources from local products, including many items from their own garden.

Sandro was wonderfully knowledgeable about EVERYTHING in the area, especially wines, and was lots of help for planning daytrips to explore the region. One day they arranged that we join a group for a guided tour of Siena, which I highly recommend. I feel we did not make the most of what Sandro could offer, as other guests had planned multiple bicycle tours, wine tastings, etc. through him as well. The photos on the site are representative, however, I would say that it is more beautiful and peaceful than what those photos appear.


We used this as a base to explore on day trips to the Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, and just to explore the Val d'Orcia for great photography. Look at my attached photos to see examples of the site, as well as surrounding places in the Val d'Orcia to explore!

At the end of the day, Il Molinello was a wonderful place to return to! One night we cooked in the suite with local produce (there is a market Co-op nearby in Serre di Rapolano). On other nights we ate a restaurants that were recommended by the host, Sandro and all were great! (These included a great family pizza place in Serre di Rapolano, another night in Asciano at Ristorante La Mencia …more of a local upscale family restaurant, and a great restaurant in Serre di Rapolano called L'Ischieto).

All around, Il Molinello was a perfect place to base our explorations of southern Tuscany, and Sandro’s recommendations for places to explore and restaurants to eat at were spot-on. I can’t wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My girlfriend (American) and I (Italian) decided to continue our Tuscany journey and spent couple of nights near Asciano. It is a good location in the middle of the famous “crete senesi”. We were lucky to find this magical place. The drive to just get to the place was incredible, its hidden away in the back roads. But still close (15 min drive to Lucignano, and 20 min drive to Siena). Then you drive up on a beautiful house in the front. There are different houses in the back with where the guests stay. You pretty much get your own little villa with a porch in the front, a fully equipped kitchen, a nice bed and a big nice bathroom. We spent two nights there and the first night we cooked and the second night we ate in Lucignano. Besides the amazing room, we also had a wonderful pool that was heaven after a long day of walking in the sun. We also paid to have breakfast there and that was the best decision we made. We had an incredible spread of different fruits, meats, cheeses, pies, jams, and anything else you can ask for, all organic and homemade. The owners were also super nice, they spoke English and they were super helpful and gave great advice to where to go and what to do around there. They also had the cutest dog who greeted us every time we came back from the town. I highly recommend this place to anyone from any country.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EduinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Il Molinello is exactly what we had hoped for and much much more. Extremely pleasant, open and attentive hosts made our stay very welcome. This family farm has beautiful gardens, swimming pool and charming living spaces for all ages. A great place for foodies. Perfectly located for day excursions in Val d'Orcia, Asciano, Chianti and most of Tuscany. I would highly recommend this agriturismo and will certainly be back! 

Carmen and Alessandro you were wonderful, thank you!

Room Tip: All size rooms are possible including larger apartments, when we stayed (may 2012) they were just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Not only is Il Molinello stunningly beautiful and peaceful, but part of it has been there since the 13th century, when it was a water mill. The owners have lovingly restored it, and there's a plexiglass window in the floor of their living room that looks down on a storeroom from the old mill. The grounds are separated into "rooms" where you can wander or sit or visit the chickens and the large vegetable garden. The breakfast has to be seen to be believed; the homemade bread and homemade apricot yogurt were absolutely spectacular. Our room was huge, with a big table and a couch in the sitting room and a kitchen (which we didn't use). We visited a gorgeous monastery nearby with its old wine cellar; a modern, well-appointed spa; and the picturesque towns of Pienza and Bagna Vignoni. Pretty walks from Il Molinello take you to spectacular views.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MLS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asciano
2.1 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 10 in Asciano
88 reviews
8.1 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
3.3 mi away
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
#5 of 10 in Asciano
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Casanova
Agriturismo Casanova
#1 of 28 in Asciano
72 reviews
5.0 mi away
Agriturismo le Piazze
Agriturismo le Piazze
#3 of 9 in Asciano
29 reviews
17.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
Agriturismo La Pietriccia
#1 of 24 in Chianciano Terme
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Molinello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Molinello

Property: Agriturismo Il Molinello
Address: Localita Molinello 148, 53041, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1996 we moved to the Crete Senesi and we fell in love with the Molinello: Etruscan origins, medieval mill, peace and tranquility. That's why we decided to share it with our guests. The farm keeps the whole family busy: Alessandro (biologist, nature guide and Sommelier), Elisa who looks after the administration, Mauro and Paola, retired but full time busy on the farm. And we hope that in the future even Emma, Guido and Bernardo will give us a helping hand. We produce vegetables and fruit, olive oil and truffles from organic agriculture.F or our guests we organize a rich program of initiatives discovering the colours and flavours of the Crete, organic homemade breakfast, wine tasting in our cosy winery, cooking lessons, olive oil tastings, wine tours, and excursions by bike guided by Alessandro who is fond of cycling. Only 4 km from our farm there are the thermal baths of Rapolano which grant special discounts to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Agriturismo Il Molinello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Molinello Asciano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing