We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect base to explore Southern Tuscany!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agriturismo Il Molinello
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed for several nights this May (2012) at Il Molinello, using it as a base to explore Southern Tuscany. I have to say, it was a fantastic place to stay! It is a restored 700 (800?) year old farm house currently being run by 3 generations: Sandro and his wife Elise, their kids and the grandparents. It is located about 30K southeast of Siena, between the towns of Asciano and Serre di Rapolano. Very easy to find with Sandro's directions.

There is the main house, with several rooms. We stayed in Il Gelso (The Jasmine, presumably named for the jasmine vines leading the way up the stairs to the room). It was a very generous suite: a large living room (TV), dining area / kitchen area (full stove & fridge). Down the hallway were the bathroom and a large bedroom with a comfortable queen sized bed. Perfectly decorated and spotless. One of the common areas of the main house had a clear floor looking down to an excavation of the original mill that Sandro had traced back 700 years in the Siena town records (thus Il Molinello - the Mill).

Elsewhere on the grounds, Sandro and his father were putting the finishing touches on two new suites adjacent to the swimming pool. Although "new" they were building them to the local style, using their own hands. Warm, comfortable, spacious. In addition there were two other detached rooms across the drive, all on the same property. Thus, one can choose to either be in the main house, or in one of the adjacent rooms.

The property has an enormous play area, a nice playground and (as mentioned) a nice swimming pool. Chairs and hammocks are distributed under the trees for relaxing during the day. Breakfast was spectacular! And primarily sources from local products, including many items from their own garden.

Sandro was wonderfully knowledgeable about EVERYTHING in the area, especially wines, and was lots of help for planning daytrips to explore the region. One day they arranged that we join a group for a guided tour of Siena, which I highly recommend. I feel we did not make the most of what Sandro could offer, as other guests had planned multiple bicycle tours, wine tastings, etc. through him as well. The photos on the site are representative, however, I would say that it is more beautiful and peaceful than what those photos appear.


We used this as a base to explore on day trips to the Montepulciano, Montalcino, Siena, and just to explore the Val d'Orcia for great photography. Look at my attached photos to see examples of the site, as well as surrounding places in the Val d'Orcia to explore!

At the end of the day, Il Molinello was a wonderful place to return to! One night we cooked in the suite with local produce (there is a market Co-op nearby in Serre di Rapolano). On other nights we ate a restaurants that were recommended by the host, Sandro and all were great! (These included a great family pizza place in Serre di Rapolano, another night in Asciano at Ristorante La Mencia …more of a local upscale family restaurant, and a great restaurant in Serre di Rapolano called L'Ischieto).

All around, Il Molinello was a perfect place to base our explorations of southern Tuscany, and Sandro’s recommendations for places to explore and restaurants to eat at were spot-on. I can’t wait to stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karlitos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

My girlfriend (American) and I (Italian) decided to continue our Tuscany journey and spent couple of nights near Asciano. It is a good location in the middle of the famous “crete senesi”. We were lucky to find this magical place. The drive to just get to the place was incredible, its hidden away in the back roads. But still close (15 min drive to Lucignano, and 20 min drive to Siena). Then you drive up on a beautiful house in the front. There are different houses in the back with where the guests stay. You pretty much get your own little villa with a porch in the front, a fully equipped kitchen, a nice bed and a big nice bathroom. We spent two nights there and the first night we cooked and the second night we ate in Lucignano. Besides the amazing room, we also had a wonderful pool that was heaven after a long day of walking in the sun. We also paid to have breakfast there and that was the best decision we made. We had an incredible spread of different fruits, meats, cheeses, pies, jams, and anything else you can ask for, all organic and homemade. The owners were also super nice, they spoke English and they were super helpful and gave great advice to where to go and what to do around there. They also had the cutest dog who greeted us every time we came back from the town. I highly recommend this place to anyone from any country.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduinSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Il Molinello is exactly what we had hoped for and much much more. Extremely pleasant, open and attentive hosts made our stay very welcome. This family farm has beautiful gardens, swimming pool and charming living spaces for all ages. A great place for foodies. Perfectly located for day excursions in Val d'Orcia, Asciano, Chianti and most of Tuscany. I would highly recommend this agriturismo and will certainly be back! 

Carmen and Alessandro you were wonderful, thank you!

Room Tip: All size rooms are possible including larger apartments, when we stayed (may 2012) they were just fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iriej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Not only is Il Molinello stunningly beautiful and peaceful, but part of it has been there since the 13th century, when it was a water mill. The owners have lovingly restored it, and there's a plexiglass window in the floor of their living room that looks down on a storeroom from the old mill. The grounds are separated into "rooms" where you can wander or sit or visit the chickens and the large vegetable garden. The breakfast has to be seen to be believed; the homemade bread and homemade apricot yogurt were absolutely spectacular. Our room was huge, with a big table and a couch in the sitting room and a kitchen (which we didn't use). We visited a gorgeous monastery nearby with its old wine cellar; a modern, well-appointed spa; and the picturesque towns of Pienza and Bagna Vignoni. Pretty walks from Il Molinello take you to spectacular views.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLS41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you are seeking a spot to call "home" while you explore the Tuscan region you will be very happy with the clean and comfortable accommodations provided at a reasonable price. We felt right at home being greeted by Carmen who visited with us each morning to help us with any questions and planning for the day. We shared a two bedroom/two bath apartment with another couple which allowed ample room for the four of us with a shared kitchen/dining space to enjoy time together planning our next day's adventures over a bottle of wine. Be sure to experience the wonderful breakfast!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Il Molinello is a wonderful old typical Tuscany farm house with a large playground and garden to relax in. The pool is big enough for a refreshing swim and a quiet (off season) place for relaxing after a wonderful tour through the Crete landscape with it's famous locations as Montpulcano, Montalcino, Pieve, Siena... witch are all in a good distance for daily trips. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. The House is far from traffic noise and you can listen to the swallow songs in the morning. Breakfast is fantastic with all the regional products and homemade bread. Carmen is the good ghost with lots of information about what to do, Paula and Mauro keep the garden fit and always have time for a short chat. We really can recommend Il Molinello as a good place to enjoy your holidays for families but also for young and "old" couples.
Kind regards from the Leonhardt's (Austria)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gundl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Agriturismo Il Molinello is truly a slice of heaven on earth. And you don’t have to be an American tourist to think so. My husband is northern Italian, and he has threatened to show up for the olive harvest so that he can work for his room and board. Cycling through the region is also phenomenal. One particular road provides a heart-pounding descent and the Crete (clay) hillsides on either side are freakishly reminiscent of the dunes of Namibia. (Ask Sandro - he knows those roads like the lines on his hand.)

Sandro is a sort of director for a collective of agriturismi in the region. He's a Master by Slow Food in beer, wine, and several other gustatory delights. One neighbor-farm he recommended gave me one of my Top 3 dinners of all time.

Sandro, Elisa and their children are the real Tuscany 100% and on all levels. I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblinrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asciano
2.0 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Asciano
99 reviews
8.0 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
3.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
#6 of 9 in Asciano
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Podere Fornaci
4.7 mi away
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
Hotel Toscana Laticastelli
#2 of 4 in Rapolano Terme
327 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Logge Di Sopra Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Il Molinello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Il Molinello

Address: Localita Molinello 148, 53041, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Price Range: $82 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1996 we moved to the Crete Senesi and we fell in love with the Molinello: Etruscan origins, medieval mill, peace and tranquility. That's why we decided to share it with our guests. The farm keeps the whole family busy: Alessandro (biologist, nature guide and Sommelier), Elisa who looks after the administration, Mauro and Paola, retired but full time busy on the farm. And we hope that in the future even Emma, Guido and Bernardo will give us a helping hand. We produce vegetables and fruit, olive oil and truffles from organic agriculture.F or our guests we organize a rich program of initiatives discovering the colours and flavours of the Crete, organic homemade breakfast, wine tasting in our cosy winery, cooking lessons, olive oil tastings, wine tours, and excursions by bike guided by Alessandro who is fond of cycling. Only 4 km from our farm there are the thermal baths of Rapolano which grant special discounts to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Agriturismo Il Molinello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Il Molinello Asciano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing