We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting”

Abbazia di Monte Oliveto Maggiore
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Asciano
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning setting”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Must visit this working monastery. St in wooded ravines and visible from many angles it is a peaceful place full of interest. Has a great cafe at the gatehouse entrance. Church, cloister and library all well worth a look.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank redoubtwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    173
    25
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, KY
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
169 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place & Countryside”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We visited on a Sunday in the early afternoon. Beautiful scenery along the drive to the Abbey of Mont Oloveto Maggiore. We parked the car (2 euros for the couple of hours we were there) and walked less than a mile to the main abbey. Along the way we passed lots of local people who we think had maybe been there for church and were now eating at a restaurant and talking.

We looked around the grounds and then looked more and finally sat and waited for the abbey to reopen at 3:15 (it had closed at noon). We then toured the inside (all free) and took photos of the many frescos that almost all appeared to be about "Come Benedetto" ("as Benedict").

Very enjoyable visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank UKgrandej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fabulous frescos”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

The location of the Abbey is very unique--be prepared to walk down and up hill! A peaceful place, with a set of fantastic frescos. Would not want to visit in the rain! Mass with Gregorian chant available at certain times of the evening might be special, though we missed it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AGrassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaatsheuvel, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Beautiful frescos”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

One of the most beautiful abbeys we visited in Tuscany. You feel the presence of monks, everything is well-kept. Its location is unique, the hike to it is lovely in the shades of trees. The Great Cloister is amazingly furnished with frescos.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank siejoepuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Go for the amazingLuca Signorelli and Sodoma fresco's depicting the life of San Benedetto, the library and smell at lunchtime the soupe being prepared for the monks

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhiaRdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbazia di Monte Oliveto Maggiore also viewed

Asciano, Province of Siena
Castelnuovo dell'Abate, Montalcino
 
San Quirico d'Orcia, Province of Siena
Chiusdino, Province of Siena
 

Been to Abbazia di Monte Oliveto Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing