We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful property with an incredible hostess!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Agriturismo Casanova
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband and I spent 10 days exploring Tuscany and stayed at many quaint and lovely bed and breakfasts. Our experience at Agriturismo Casanova was the highlight of our trip! It's in a remote area near the village of Asciano and is very close to Montalcino as well, so we used it as a good middle point to explore the region. The property is a beautiful old farmhouse with a barn full of the most beautiful chianina cattle. And yes, this is a working farm! Which just added to its charm. The views of the valley from the property are breathtaking, especially in the morning mist. We stayed in the apartment, which was very basic but clean and comfortable, and we had the pleasure of enjoying the farm dinner in our room. For an amazingly affordable price we enjoyed homemade pasta with meat sauce and a meat stew with roasted potatoes, along with delicious appetizers, dessert and wine. The grandmother on the property cooks all of the food from scratch, and it is simple and delicious, and truly felt like home away from home!

One of the best things about staying here was getting to know Vicky. Vicky is the farmer's wife and is in charge of the b&b, and she is INCREDIBLE! She went out of her way to make us comfortable and completely taken care of. And she was so much fun to talk with, and she gave me a tour of the farm. It's clear that she cares about her job and her guests, and she will make you feel like family. If you enjoy a beautiful farm location with a gracious hostess and wonderful food, all at a bargain price, Agriturismo Casanova is the place for you to stay!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
There are newer reviews for Agriturismo Casanova
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 74 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

Thank you Vicki for a fabulous visit to the country...and staying on your farm was so wonderful and relaxing. This is a farm house outside the city of Asciano and was the first stop on my scooter trip through Tuscany and Umbria. It is nestled among the hills and right outside your door is a barn full of the most amazing white humongous cows....they are beautiful and I love them even more because they are ruled by one amazon female...to cool.
the room at the inn was spacious, with a window onto the patio where in warmer weather would be a wonderful place to have a drink in the early evening.
Dinner was this 5 course extravaganza with the MOST amazing food...we ate in a large room...looked like it might have been a winery at one time with a huge fireplace and the confort and warmth of home,. First was the antipasta plate with cheeses, salumi and pizza...UMMM. Next came this fabulous pasta dish with the hefty round noodles in a delicious meat sauce. Followed by home grown beef that was out of this world....I have never tasted anything like it....it had a really rich buttery taste that is very hard to describe (I know good beef cause I was raised in Nebraska...home of corn feed beef). Followed by an amazing desert and all kinds of liquor....I was beyond satiated and bursting at the seems.
All in all it was an absolutely LOVELy experience and I would recommend it to anyone staying in that area or need an agenda on their trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kristi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We happened upon the Agriturismo Casanova by accident and it was a wonderful experience. Unfortunately Wiebke only had a room for one night for us but it was magical. The grounds and pool were beautiful and well kept and the room and breakfast area were clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. We would love to return one day and stay for a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Weibke and her family, the Conte family, could not have been more welcoming to their charming cattle farm. They have lovely gardens, a refreshing pool and incredible views of the Tuscan countryside. Breakfast is delicious and served in a cool and spacious room. Make sure you ask about the Bull Whisperer! The cattle are a heritage breed and there were twin calves in the barn. The home-cooked supper (extra but reasonably priced) was lovely--whatever is fresh in the garden! The evening we put together our own meal, from the coop market in Asciano, our hosts graciously let us use dishes, silverware and glasses. Our room had 2 beds and a pullout couch and was comfortable and clean, and quiet. This is a real working farm and the fragrance of the the hay and the animals (and the manure!) reminded us of the farms next door to our Vermont home.
You will not be disappointed by the price, the value and the hospitality at this gracious agriturismo.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank donnaw0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had a beautiful stay at Agriturismo Casanova last week. My only regret is that we spent more time driving to see hill towns nearby rather than staying put and relaxing on the beautiful grounds. Vicky was such a kind and genuine host to us; we will never forget how she pleasant she made our stay. She and her husband, Bartolo put their hearts into this land and farm, and it shows. We were extremely fortunate to have the dinner one evening; the best meal we are in all our two week stay in Italy. What a special treat to eat tomatoes, zucchini, peppers, and olives that were picked for our meal that morning. The Chianina steak is incomparable to anything we have ever tasted. It melted in our mouths from the first bite. Do yourself a favor - escape the high pace and tourist traps of Florence
and Pisa; if you want an authentic Italian experience where you feel like a family friend/guest, make your way to Casanova. The view alone will make you fall in love. We hope to be back one day and hopefully bring our family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmOMy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Besides the fantastic meals, beautiful scenery, pool, large clean rooms, warm helpful hospitality...... the owners also speak FOUR languages (Italian, French, English and German), so I didn't have any problems at all getting information and explanations. The prices are VERY reasonable for half pension, especially considering the delicious meals they serve. Would definitely like to return...

Room Tip: Best to have a car.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank renojim2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

The agriturismo Casanova is a REAL farm in the heart of the most beautiful area in Tuscany, the Val d'Orcia. The owners, Bartolo and Wiebke Conte, raise Chianina cattle on a self-sustained farm, offering their guests the best food available in a charming old (like 1700's!) restored cascina, with real home-cooking (Bartolo's mother should start to offer cooking lessons; she's great!) and very nice accomodations, attention to your every need.

You do need a car in that area, there are so many beautiful places to see and things to do. But even if you just want to sit back and do absolutely nothing, it's the place to be.

We will definitely keep returning with family and friends and enthusiastically recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank californiaitaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asciano
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 9 in Asciano
98 reviews
7.2 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
10.7 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Piccolo Hotel San Valentino
1.7 mi away
Hotel La Pace
Hotel La Pace
#8 of 9 in Asciano
30 reviews
3.4 mi away
Agriturismo Il Molinello
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agriturismo Casanova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Casanova

Address: Localita Casanova 117, 53041, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Price Range: $86 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Agriturismo Casanova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Casanova Asciano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing