We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but bugs”
Review of Tenuta La Campana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta La Campana
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Grasmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great place, but bugs”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here with a group. It is very pretty, great views. It looks to have good amenities, but it was cold in October.
In the house we stayed in there were three bedrooms and two bathrooms. The living room was comfortable. The kitchen was well-equipped. It even had a couple of coffee makers, a good sized fridge. It didn't have any cleaning equipment, so guests had to bring that. What we all kept forgetting was sugar for some reason.
The beds are comfortable. The single beds are a bit narrow. I'm used to sleeping on a wider bed and almost rolled off a few times. The lights are a bit interesting to figure out. There are main switches, but they are for all the lamps in the room, or at least the standing one. One problem that we had was that there were very few power outs, and none in a place where I could plug my chargers in without putting things on the floor.
The bathrooms are nice. However, the tub is not good for having a bath in. It has a lot of veneer missing. Like someone burned it off at places.
The heating worked well, though we needed the thing unlocked quite late at night. Luckily the estate keeper was available.

Now for the negatives. One evening we had a huge storm, and we had water coming in everywhere. We even had water so deep in the room, that we couldn't figure out how it got there. We didn't have anything to clean it up with either. So in case of a storm, start putting things on the furniture.
Another problem that we had was the doors. They are the type where you move them and they make so much noise, everyone wakes up. So forget trying to quietly sneak out to the bathroom.
The third problem was the bugs. They were everywhere, and there was no precaution against them at all. I know that we're on a farm, but still... We even had an accident with that, because something bit me in the middle of the night. The staff was great, they rushed me to the hospital right away in their own car. However, I do wish they had taken some steps to prevent the animals from getting in. I had something huge, like 10cm running out of my bed, and that was probably what bit me.

Overall, great place. It would be even better if they took care of the things I mentioned.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zelda_of_Arel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    2
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amman
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I wanted to find somewhere we could stay in Tuscany that would be peaceful and cater to the whole family (2 x adults and 2 boys aged 6 and 7). I looked at a number of places on the internet and kept coming back to La Campana. We booked a villa for two weeks and it was the most unstructured overseas holiday I have ever planned. The area is so beautiful you can spend hours just looking at the view and the sunsets are amazing. It is also within easy reach of lots of different locations within Tuscany and beyond - we have done day trips to Siena, Florence, Piza and an overnight trip to Venice which was less than four hours drive. We have been able to eat lots of amazing local produce and the boys have enjoyed running around in the gardens, playing soccer and swimming in the pool. The apartments are simple but well appointed (love the fact there is no TV) and there are supermarkets close by in Asciano. It has been a truly relaxing experience and one I would highly recommend to others so long as you really do want to get away from it all.

Room Tip: All the rooms have different views. We stayed in villa N which is on the ground floor and has a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieroversAmman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a lovely place, very well maintained and well managed by Paola. For our young family (3 kids) it provides the best combination of relaxation, entertainment (pool, tennis, walks, cycling), privacy (in your own apartment) and excursions (daytrips or lunch / dinner in one of the villages nearby). We can absolutely recommend it! This was our second visit and we'll go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fvdp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2009

This trip to Italy was a once in a lifetime event for my Mom, two sisters, my boyfriend and myself given that my oldest sister has terminal lung cancer. I looked extensively for an accommodation that would provide an amazing Tuscany experience. I found it in Tenuta La Campana. Paolo, the manager was wonderful. The views are sublime and location central for day trips to locations ranging from Florence to Assisi. I cannot say enough about this location or facility.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lemonorchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2009

My husband and I went to Italy for our honeymoon and wanted to see as much of Italy as possible in the span of two weeks. However, we are huge wine and food lovers and did not want to miss out on Tuscany. After a lot of research over the internet, we discovered Tenuta La Campana's website and pretty much fell in love with the pictures. From the pictures, it seemed liked it was exactly what we were looking for...beautiful scenery, away from the city but close enough to not feel totally secluded. We were really cautious and worried since pictures are not always what they turn out to be in reality but this was ... by far.... the highlight of our trip. The accomodations were well kept, beautiful, and totally what we were looking for.

This is not for everyone....there is no t.v., no phone in your room and the closest town is a bout a 10 minute drive away. However, Paola, our most gracious hostess, is there on set dates and times and offered us internet access when we needed to book trains for the last part of our trip. She was so accomodating and pleasant. This is a place where you can live like an Italian....shop for local food in the nearby town or , if you choose, to drive to sienna (half hour drive) and have dinner there.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunchytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Asciano hotels
5.2 mi away
Montaperti Hotel
Montaperti Hotel
#1 of 1 in Casanova Pansarine
1,554 reviews
3.7 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
4.2 mi away
Agriturismo Paradiso
Agriturismo Paradiso
#4 of 10 in Asciano
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
Hotel Borgo Casabianca
#5 of 10 in Asciano
142 reviews
5.0 mi away
Piccolo Hotel San Valentino
0.0 mi away
Le Logge Di Sopra Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta La Campana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta La Campana

Property: Tenuta La Campana
Address: Localita la Campana 1, 53041, Asciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Asciano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Asciano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta La Campana: our Estate is a large-sized property and our farm holiday centre is surrounded by one of the most beautiful Tuscan areas: the Crete Senesi. It is only 25 km to the South of Siena, therefore it is a perfect location for spending relaxing holidays and, in the same time, it is easy to reach famous towns like Firenze, Siena, San Gimignano, Montalcino, Arezzo or Perugia, leaving from here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotel.de so you can book your Tenuta La Campana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Campana Asciano, Italy - Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing