We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and very good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Gardenia
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Friendly and very good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed here as a family in Feb 2012 and had a really lovely time. The Rooms have been refurbished to a good standard and are nice and warm which is all we needed for our Ski trip. The bathroom we had didnt have a bath, but a very small shower. The water is always hot although not very powerful.
The staff are all very friendly indeed and nothing is too much trouble. You even get taken in the Hotels own mini bus to and from the slopes every day which is a real bonus. It runs every 5 mins in the morning so you can just get up and go when you are ready. The bus starts again in the afternoon up to 5.00pm so you can have a nice drink at one of the bars before you travel back if you want to.
Passo Tonale is an ideal resort for beginners and intermediates. Nearly all the slopes are south facing and you can easily ski from one slope over to another. There are many areas for beginners to learn as well. There is a lovely 3km long blue run which is lovely to start on frist thing to get you going, and there is one main black run on the other side of the valley. There are also quite a few good red runs as well. Overall we had a lovely time in both the Hotel and skiing in Passo Tonale.
I would just mention as other people have that the food is just OK. You wont starve, but some of the evening meals were a little disappointing and the choice for children was either chicken nuggets or an awful pizza. However some of the sweets were very nice and i would definitely stay here again.
Overall we had a very good time and I would recommend this Hotel as a good 3 star hotel as advertised. They are quite a few places to eat out if you fancy a change on some evenings, and also there are quite a few bars for Apres Ski.
If you are thinking of trying Passo Tonale this Hotel is a good choice.

Room Tip: email hotel direct and ask for a room with Balcony and Nice Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David6956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    113
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
172
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed in the gardenia last year and came back again. We were not disappointed. The room we had was one of the unmodernised ones however, it was clean, warm and had all the amenities we needed after a hard day's skiing. It was a shame our room did not have duvets or a balcony, like most of the others, however we survived!

The food is plentiful and typical Italian fayre. You would not starve, in fact I skipped courses on the hlaf board menu as I would not be able to manage it all. The staff are friendly and the courtesy bus to the slopes is a bonus to be appreciated.

Areas for improvement; the orange juice could be better quality in the morning and the service at dinner a little slower. The hotel was almost full and the waitress was on a mission to get everything out so I felt rushed and not really able to let my food go down. That's being picky really. The gala night was good, small, fine dining portions and the entertainment was good fun, made better by the participation and the spirit of the crowd. They got involved so you couldn't really moan about it being cheesy.

I would not hesitate to go back to the hotel again. We liked what we saw, the staff have not changed much and the minus points are so minor they don't detract from a good 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony if that is very important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

I chose this hotel based on the reviews for the food as there seemed little difference between all the hotels in Passo and my partner and I are quite fussy. We arrived late and were served a simple dinner which we were grateful for after a long day of travelling. We found the staff very friendly and helpful in both the restaurant and bar. You choose your meal the night before (or at breakfast if you go out for dinner), the choices were from 3 starters and 3 mains. If like me you don't eat meat then ask for the veggie menu as it has many more options. The buffet looked ok if you arrived at 7.30pm but cold vegetables don't really appeal to us, some food warmers would help. Breakfast was basic but enough to keep you going until lunch.

Our room was clean, with a good shower and comfy beds, although with the usual terrible pillows we've found everywhere. We had a good view from the balcony at the back of the hotel. We experienced some late noise from babies in the room next door and once some drunken Italians at 2am running about but we were usually tired enough to sleep through. The location is ok, our ski/snowboard school meeting place was at the other end of the main road so the shuttle bus was very useful, there's also a free bus that runs up and down the road frequently.

Ski/snowboard storage area downstairs is good and you can leave your boots to dry on the heaters if you wish. We used the spa area once, it has a free sauna & steam room, you have to pay for the jacuzzi and pre-booking was recommended.

We can recommend the Magic pub for Aprés ski, happy hour is 4.30 to 5.30. And the Alpi pizzeria was excellent with cheap local wine. There are a few late night clubs but even on the last night it was half empty with a few kids running around until 11pm so not a late party place, but plenty of fun in the pubs after finishing on the slopes.

Our classes started at 11am so there was no rushing around in the morning, however be warned if you book the improver package with Inghams, the meeting point is a good 10 mins walk from this hotel and also had so few people that the groups were restricted, i.e. snowboarding had just 2 groups beginner and advanced and all were Italian. There are lots of wide blue runs which are great for gaining confidence especially on a snowboard. A few of the red runs are similar to blues in other resorts and there's also enough for the more experienced. There's a gondola to go up and down to the Presena so you can enjoy the views even if you can't manage the black run.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hipk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
132 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

We stayed here as the Adamello was doubled booked so our tour operator moved us (not sure whose fault that was but we weren't the only people moved). The hotel staff are friendly and very welcoming. The rooms were comfortable although the walls were a bit thin, we could hear the person in the next room snoring! We enjoyed the food in the restaurant including the need to choose the night before. It wasn't wonderfully varied but plenty of it and good quality. The special Trentino dinner was excellent.

The ski and boot storage was good especially the boot heaters which meant that the boots were dry the next morning. The shuttle bus was excellent to and from the slopes. I didn't visit the spa but found the bar very good.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Although not listed here the Alpi pizza restaurant does fantastic pizzas!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a lovely view but I think any should be ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anotherscreenname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my partner for a week skiing.

Hotel - the hotel in general was well decorated and looked nice and traditional. The common areas were kept nice and clean. There was a nice bar as well as a games room reception area and the restaurant. There was also a spa that could be used by guests, the sauna, steam room and showers were free of charge.

Staff - The staff were helpful when needed. They ran a free shuttle bus down to the main lift area, the guy who drove the bus was very nice and dropped us down even though it wasn't in the hours that the bus was meant to run. The maids were very helpful and cleaned the room every day.

Food - The food was the main disappointment. It wasn't really suited to the British. I understand were not in Britain but the hotel should try to meet guests needs. We eat out a few times to avoid meals such as 'boiled mixed meat'. There was a distinct lack of vegetables. Although the buffet before the main meal was nice (this was generally the best part of the meal). All other meals were carb based with little meat. Another disappointment was the coffee. Also, you did not get any drink with your evening meal. I would suggest going to the spar across the road to get drinks for the room which is a lot cheaper than buying from the bar.

Room - The room was very nice, well decorated. The bathroom was fine always plenty of hot water. There was a TV that had some English programmes although you often had to change the language to English. What could have made the room perfect would've been to have comfortable pillows, they were VERY hard. We requested different softer pillows but were given the same very firm pillows. I would suggest to take your own. And also to take a travel kettle if you like to have a tea/coffee in the room as these facilities were not provided. Also like other reviews say take your own hair dryer.

Resort - The ski resort was very nice. Good skiing, plenty of snow. Varied slopes for all abilities. Plenty of reasonably priced bars especially at happy hour in the magic bar & the barracuda bar. The resort is one main road so easy to find your way around. The slopes were busy on the weekend but much nicer & quieter in the week.

All in all we had a great holiday and would go back to the resort and hotel but would probably stay self catering/ bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kd247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabiogardenia, Proprietario at Hotel Gardenia, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Dear Guest
In every place where I' ve been I enjoyed food customs and traditions of the place.
"Italy" is famos for Pizza Spaghetti Tiramisù espresso coffie (1 euro ).
When I came in London I liked the regional food ..and of course even if locically not what I'm used to eat and drink at my house , but I enjoyed .
I think that in a menù with choice of 3 starters and 3 second courses you couldn't find nothing for your test with also possibility of variation of it .
I'm sorry for that ... , but very important for us is that 95% of Brithis people enjoyed the tipic Trentin menù and ask for that ......
Best regards
Carmen elena fabio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed here ad part of a Thompsons snowboarding package deal. Location was pretty good at one end of town with a 10 min walk to the main ski lifts. Hotel staff were very friendly and enthusiastic. The rooms were clean and tidy and perfectly ok. Though some other guests were complaining about the hard beds. But in my experience the beds were typical of this type of hotel. Food was ok. It's quite a local menu so don't expect international Italian food. But there was lots of it. So long as you are open minded it was great. Overall a good stay and I would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times now. It is very clean and tidy, with comfortable, though simply furnished, rooms, well-furnished “public” areas (lounges and dining room etc) and good “wellness” facilities. There’s also a nice bar area. It’s not too big a hotel – about 50 bedrooms. We asked for, and were given, a room with a balcony. We find the hotel nice and quiet – which is what we want. Children (of whom there don’t seem to be many there) can be noisy at times, but not for long and are usually well-behaved. The staff are friendly and a lot of them speak English. The food is plentiful and dinner menu varies each day – you have a choice of three entrée and main course options and there’s a self-service well-stocked salad bar. Each week there is a Gala dinner and this occasion also includes a raffle (tickets 2 for 5€ or 4 for 10€) which we’ve never won. The fare may seem unusual to a UK-trained palate, but this isn’t the UK and anyway you will usually find something you like. Drinks are not included – and the wine is not cheap – especially considering what you can get for a few Euros in the Spar across the road. Wine is typically 14€ a bottle (or more) though you might have expected it to be cheaper on the Continent. Draft beer (Nastro Azzurro – very nice) is 2€ for a small beer (200ml) and double that for a large.
A key factor for us in choosing this hotel is that it has a steam room and sauna, which we used most days. They help us recover from the, how shall I put it, the exertions, perhaps, of skiing and we find we ache less by this sort of “heat treatment”. These steam/sauna facilities are free, though you have to pay 2€ each for a fluffy towel. There are other facilities available but they cost. You do need to wear swim-wear and to have a dressing gown and slippers (we took Crocs) to wear down to the basement where the facilities are, though there is a changing room in the suite. The whirlpools (2 one-person ones) cost 10€ for about 10 - 15 minutes. As last year, we treated ourselves to a go on our last day – they pummel you quite nicely and are worth the money after all the exercise (sorry, I don’t mean to go on about that) on the slopes.
We did use the ski/boot room at the hotel this year for the latter part of the week and were impressed. To begin with, as in previous years, we stored our stuff at By Maestri beside the Hotel Vittoria (from where we had rented the skis and sticks) and walked from and to the hotel. However, the Gardenia’s minibus does regular runs (morning and afternoon) to the car park by the slopes and other places. We used this service (and the ski room at the hotel) from the Wednesday and it is very good. The minibus runs so regularly you never have long to wait, and in the morning you can be dropped off at various places as you wish – for example, at the main pistes meeting point (opposite the Miramonte hotel) or opposite the Paradiso Gondola (for the Blue 18 [direct access from the car park there] or to go up to the glacier) or in the car park by the Valbiolo chair lift to go up to the Scorpion Bar. The driver is very accommodating.
If you want to wander around the town (which is not large) you can always go out again after changing out of your ski boots etc. There are a couple of Automats in the town, useful as we always take a Travelex Euro card for our Euros. And we look around the shops there – not many – and the Spar.
I would be happy to recommend this hotel to visitors to Passo Tonale.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveC2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#19 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#4 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#16 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#11 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia

Property: Hotel Gardenia
Address: Via Nazionale 20, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#5 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#11 Family Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing