We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice skiing hotel with good facilities and food”
Review of Hotel Gardenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Gardenia
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham UK
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice skiing hotel with good facilities and food”
Reviewed April 30, 2011

The Hotel Gardenia is a large property built in the traditional style at the east end of Via Nazionale, the main street that runs through Passo Tonale. The public areas of the hotel are generous and nicely done out in simple carved pine. There's a large dining room, a comfortable lounge (the 'green room'), a TV room, a games room, and a bar leading off the reception area. A lift serves all floors, although beware that there are guest rooms below the ground floor as well as above. Those concerned about noise and natural light may do well to request rooms on the upper floors.

Our room was a generously proportioned corner room with two balconies facing south and west. The room was spacious, clean and simply decorated. The bed was very comfortable (although perhaps a bit on the soft side). A small wall mounted LCD TV had a good range of free to air and SKY Italia channels. There are simple net curtains covering the windows, but (as is usual in Italy) external shutters can be closed for complete privacy and to help moderate temperature. The bathroom was clean and comfortable but did not have a bath. The fixed hairdryer was very poor and guests would be advised to bring their own. The provided toiletries were welcome but fairly low grade, and the towels could have been fluffier.

The room had ample storage space and a good sized wardrobe - essential on skiing trips! Room security was good. There was a safe, and the rooms used modern card locks - although you need to ask specifically if you want a second keycard.

The ski room was spacious but simple, accessible from the street. The door was mostly open so those concerned about security would be advised to take a padlock or skilock. However, we had neither and encountered no problems. There is a heated boot rack and individual ski storage racks, numbered for each room. I think there were some tools and a workbench and it was clear that some people serviced their own skis there.

Much has been written on Tripadvisor about the quality of the food, sometimes negative. I found the food to be a very pleasant surprise. There is a selection of three choices for each course (for half and full board guests) - the selection is made the day before. There is a very ample self service buffet of cold vegetables and some savouries (e.g. small bits of pizza). The courses themselves were typical northern Italian cooking, well done (if not exactly 'gourmet') and we enjoyed dishes like Cottoleta Milanese, Spaghetti Carbonara, Minestrone etc as well as various veal, pork and beef dishes with a more typical Trentino slant. It was all delicious and plentiful. Drinks were well priced (€2 for a litre of mineral water, €2 for a small beer, bottles of reasonable wine from €14) - you sign for them then pay at the end of your stay - so budget accordingly. Once a week (Thursday, from recollection) there is a typical Trentino dinner. This was a lavish and fun affair with entertainment and audience participation. It's perhaps not everyone's cup of tea but most people got into the spirit. A €2 raffle in the dining room to win a nice new pair of skis helped with the excitement... The food itself was interesting and mostly very tasty - and lots of it - but in this part of the world 'speck' (dried ham) rules so if you don't eat pork you might feel a bit cheated. Vegetarians should generally have no problem (although choice will be limited) and beware that Italians don't often consider pork and chicken to be 'meat' so you may have to examine salads, soups, etc. carefully. This is typical, though, and not specific to the hotel. One final word about meals - the advertised meal times tended to belie the rather narrower time range that one was expected to dine in. There was an early dining culture among most guests and coming late to breakfast or dinner normally meant limited choice and more rushed service.

One of the highlights of the hotel was the very friendly staff, who appeared to work tirelessly from breakfast to dinner. The minibus driver was also unfailingly helpful and cheery and seemed to go out of his way to help guests get to whichever skilift they wanted; advise on passes and hire; etc. We had a car and therefore tended to drive ourselves to the lifts (being a bit lazy) but in all honesty the hotel is not far too walk for the Valbiolo lifts - a bit further to the glacier lifts and Ponte di Legno gondola, but there's a free skibus and the helpful Gardenia minibus.

Car parking is free although you may need to leave your car nearby if the hotel's own forecourt is full. There is a payable covered garage but we did not use it and most people did not seem to. Midwinter might be a different proposition.

The hotel has wifi coverage and an internet terminal just off the lobby. Cards can be purchased - they're very reasonable. €5 gets you a 10 hour pass, which can be used as and when (the credit lasts for 3 months), but they only work on a single device (laptop, iphone etc) and can't be shared.

The hotel has a small spa area with sauna and turkish bath (free) and some paid-for things like jacuzzi. It's a nice facility but not one we used every day. There's no problem using the spa with swimming costumes (unlike some other places in the German speaking world).

Finally, the Gardenia appears to be a great hotel for groups and families. Lots of kids were in the hotel and the seemed to be having a great time and to be well catered for - I think there may be a free creche and there's a big 'taverna' games room with pool, Wii, etc in the basement. The hotel seemed to put on various activities geared at families. But the 'welcome cocktail' was a rather disappointing plastic cup of some aperitif, so be warned if you're expecting an Old Fashioned by the fireside.

All in all, a good hotel and very good value for money especially if you can get a deal with the ski pass included.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fastcar0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    115
    32
    10
    10
See reviews for
177
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Previous reviews made me approach our stay with low expectations as the reviews were variable. We had a nice balcony on our room and the bed was comforable, the room was clean and modern. Improvements to make it even better would be a better hairdryer in the room (ladies take your own) and a a curtain as the net allows in early light so we were up early, great for spring skiing but not great if you want a lie in.
Good mini bus service to take you and pick you up from the slopes. Good plentiful supply of food. The gala dinner was especially nice and was way too much food. Great salad bar in the evening. The hotel staff speak good english and tolerated my attempts at Italian. The maitre d'e was friendly and welcoming especially to the kids in the hotel.
To get an excellent we would recommend fresh juice in the morning rather than the machine version and the common areas are a little dated but in no way bad. We would stay there again without any problem at all.

Room Tip: Use the mini bus to get to the slopes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2011

Hotel is nice, service is very good and food is just excellent; typical Italian cuisine, variety of testes. J love this kind of local specialities.
The only disadvantage in room was absence of "devices" for drying all the skier's wet equipment; from soaks to cap. Couple of extra hooks or better a rod or tube attached to the wall or celling would solve the problem.
Skiing area generally is a little bit boring (big field covered with lifts is not exiting), but one can find some more picturesque places, like Paradiso (it is really breathtaking place!); If you are crazy enough try the black pista..... But if you are normal just use the gondola to reach the upper part of the skiing area and enjoy marvellous views and nice pistas on the height of 3000m and return to the valley simply by gondola.
Twice a week you can go skiing by night! It is really exciting!
There is abundance of snow (up to 6m!!), the place is high so the snow is in good condition, pistas are well prepared every day, so the only limit is our own physical condition....

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miron_galewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I have recently returned from Passo Tonale with a large group of friends. I cannot fault this hotel, clean, comfortable and very helpful staff. We had the half board option and each meal was very filling and satisfying. One of our group broke his wrist and after spending hours in an Italian hospital the staff were kind enough to rustle us up some dinner on our return, which was perfect! Our room was spacious with a nice balcony which offered amazing views of the mountains! although the hotel is so close the slopes they also offered a free mini bus to help transport your heavy gear...literally 2min drive!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stiggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

good hotel not to far from the lifts, average food, good beds, good shower, good ski area, good everything actually, but nothing more. You might wonder what is wrong or what is great....well nothing. By this i mean there is no sou!. if you want a plain ok hotel that has everything you wood expect from a 3 star hotel, well this is the place you want to go. <<<we had a great holiday, but it we missed the feeling we had in other hotels and ski resorts which we visited in the passed in the same region. The hotel price is really fair and ok, but again nothing more. The same can be said for the ski resort, it just doesn't have a hart nor soul.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lupson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

In short - you get what you pay for. The rooms are small but clean, the food is plentiful but basic, the service was friendly but not overwhelming. One really noticeable minus was is that it's a noisy hotel in the evenings when there are a lot of children running around as the noise just carries. One fantastic plus was the view from the room - although we did e mail ahead and request a higher floor room having read previous TA reviews. We were not disappointed as it was on the check in notes and they made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hotch1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

We have travelled as a group for the sixth year and found everything as before. The staff gave us all a warm welcome and it felt like home from home. Although the food is basic there is always plenty and if there is nothing you like from the choices they wlll cook something else for you. The rooms we have had have always been good and they are very warm. The mini bus is a godsend especially at the end of a day and walking in ski boots. We will probably go back again and we would like to say thanks again Carmen, Fabio, Elenanor and not forgetting Luka the mini bus driver!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen31096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.2 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
505 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delle Alpi
Hotel Delle Alpi
#14 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel La Torretta
Hotel La Torretta
#4 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#9 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardenia

Property: Hotel Gardenia
Address: Via Nazionale 20, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#5 Spa Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#8 Romantic Hotel in Passo del Tonale
#11 Family Hotel in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardenia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gardenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardenia Hotel Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing