We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Family Skiing Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ideal Family Skiing Location”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our family of two adults and two teenagers returned yesterday from an excellent week-long stay at the Flora Alpina.
Our overwhelming impression was of a welcoming 3-star hotel whose matriach takes great pride in providing her guests with a comfortable stay. After a full day on the slopes the cheery smiles and personal touches at dinner ensured our time at the Flora Alpina was memorable.
Location: it is all of 20 to the grocery store, 50 paces to the lift and another minute to ski school, yet our rooms at the back of the hotel were wonderfully quiet.
Rooms: clean and equipped just as one would expect for a 3-star hotel. The kids commented on the shower being much more powerful than most hotels and I particularly liked the firm mattress that avoided me waking up with my usual third-day of skiing backache.
Food: hearty breakfast, albeit without a cooked meal. Admittedly it is almost the same every day. For us that was a positive as we didn't wish to be making choices at that time of day.
Dinner: every evening we chose from 3 options for the starter and main course for the following evening's dinner. The starters were invariably tasty, while the mains were good (with the singular exception of the veal one evening). On the night there would be a choice between a fruit based dessert and a more sugary one. Our teenagers were highly satisfied by the choices and quantity of the food.
Ski and boot room: a very convenient location under the hotel and accessed from just off the town square. Unlike some French and Austrian hotels the boot room wasn't heated to such a high temperature that the boots were toasty, but they were dry the following day.

Passo Tonale: an affordable resort for those who are at the "gentle reds" stage. Nice snow park!
We fed our family of four on EUR 40 for each lunch on the mountain: good pasta, fresh pizza or sausage and chips plus water or hot chocolate each.
Great gelato to be had just past the Spar.
Top tip: only one of the mountain restaurants accepts credit cards.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are especially tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DJC123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    24
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

just returned from an excellent week in Passo Tonale. This hotel is in excellent location and service cleanliness and food was excellent for a 3star hotel and for what you pay. As for the owners, yes the man is very quiet but his wife (we think) who runs the hotel more than makes up for it and also the rest of the staff are all very friendly. we would really recommend you to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Just come back from Passo Tonale yesterday. We booked the hotel a year ago based on all the good reviews.
Before we went we were worring about a few negative comments about the food and bar area.
We had a wonderful time. The hotel is in a great position and we were able to ski to the boot room when it snowed. The walk to the first chairlift takes a minute.
The food was what you would expect for a 3 star hotel with cheese, ham, salami, bread, cereals, milk, eggs, yogurt, pastries, cake with juice tea and coffee. All very good, no hot food, we didnt miss it as the breakfast was good quality.
The evening meals were good qualty with a choice of 3 starters and 3 mains and 3 deserts plus a salad bar. ( you had to choose your starters and mains the night before).
The hotel was very clean and the rooms cleaned to a high standard everyday.
The bar area was a pleasant surprise as it was good value and friendly. During our stay we were only servered by the lady who we presumed was the owner.
This is a very clean well run and friendly hotel and if you are looking for a 3 star hotel virually on the slopes this is the place for you.
Stayed 15th Feb 2014 for a week.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

In terms of Hotel quality this was very good, comfortable and very clean. Your room location in the hotel may mean some noise if you are on the front, friends at the back had quiet nights. Double glazed patio door and window minimised it to a degree. But we were kept awake - as no doubt guests who were in other hotels nearby- by tractors shovelling up the vast amounts of snow early hours in the morning (one night 2 to 3 am) usually 6 to 7 am. This was probably due to the very heavy falls of snow and the need to keep the roads open, so not the hotels fault. The upside of being ion the front was the sun streamed though the balcony door and we had views of the piste- which was over the road literally! The other reviews regarding food I would partially agree with, but remember it is a region within Italy that have their own cuisine some of which is unusal for Brits. The breakfasts were fine, plenty to eat, but no toast, but tasty crusty cobs were fine, eggs, ham, salami, cheese, cereals, yoghurts, fruit. Fine for us.
The owners are quite reserved and do their job well, without too much interaction with their guests which is what I think others have picked up on about feeling as though they had invaded their space. It did not bother us really. Also if we did not fancy what was on offer in the evening for our meal, we would eat out or get a Pizza, Alpi was great - in the road between Mirramonti and the sports wear shop. Yes, I would come back again regardless of the criticisms - we enjoyed the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: For revellers one on the front would not bother you 107 106,105, also great view of the Pistes which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

First the good points. The location, while not ski in/ski out, is very good. Handy for the lift pass office, lifts, bars, ski hire and shops. Our room, 201, was brilliant. Large, with plenty of storage and clean. We always had hot water.

On arrival, late in the evening, we received a lovely welcome from the Italian lady who we assume was the owner or manager. We were ushered straight into the dining room for a lovely meal that was enjoyed by us all. The lady didn't speak a lot of English, but we were in Italy and communication wasn't a problem. The waitress for the first three days did speak English, but even after this we had no problem communicating sufficiently. Don't worry about not speaking Italian.

The ski storage room in the basement is good with plenty of ski/board storage and a separate boot storage off of the main room.

On the down side, there is little in the way of atmosphere, especially in the bar where the gentleman behind the bar is not in the least welcoming. We tried to use the bar a couple of times but on entering, the gentleman left the room and left us there wondering if we had upset him by invading his private bar. On the second occasion he even switched off the lights behind the bar and left as soon as we walked in without even looking at us. The bar seems to be treated as his private space, and guests treated as an unwelcome nuisance. We gave up and used the local bars instead, which were much friendlier and reasonably priced. Don't know what the hotel prices are like as we never managed to buy a drink there. They are losing custom as the bar was almost always empty.

The food is very hit and miss. Our first meal on arrival was excellent, as was the night that local specialities were served. Other nights were not so good. Fruit served was well past its best. The salad bar was OK but the same every night and by the end of the week we were bored with it. The same goes for breakfast. The same every morning. Ok at the start of the holiday but we got fed up with it by the end of the week.

This was our 3rd trip to Passo Tonale, staying in different hotels each time. Will you have a bad time in this hotel? No, but if we were to return again, I would try and book somewhere else, including the previous two hotels, before booking here.

As I said before, this hotel is OK, but there are better in the resort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pamgBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Passo Tonale was a brilliant resort for our group as we had a few beginners with us, there were plenty of scope for intermediate skiers.
Our Hotel Flora Alpina was delightful, a family run affair, led by Piña, nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel was spotless, food typical of the Trentino area and very nice, several options available.
As we had loads of snow we skied in and out of the boot room each day. The Hotel was central to everything and right next door to the lift pass office.
Our meeting place most nights for après ski was the Barracca bar, it was buzzing, with happy hour to boot. There were ice-karting and ice-skating in the village, a swimming pool ( free entry with a lift pass) on piste 18, nice steady blue down to the Gondola are the Sled dogs, lots if them all with a kennel, not sure how much to have a go but looked good fun.
All in all a fantastic week in a fantastic resort staying in fantastic Hotel. Already checking out taking 2 of the Grandkids next year!!!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulinebrown186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

This hotel is a great base for a ski holiday. You literally cross the road & you're on the slopes. The ski room is a good size with plenty of seating & a heated boot room. The rooms are of a decent size with plenty of storage and always warm but not too hot. Our room had a shower and there was always plenty of hot water. We had a room with a balcony but weren't disturbed by any noise at night from the bar across the road or people passing going back to their hotels. The owners are incredibly friendly and you feel like you're staying in a family home. Food is traditional Italian food and there's a choice of three starters three mains & three desserts. I'm vegetarian & was told to write on the bottom of our order what I wanted if there wasn't a vegetarian choice. I would definitely choose this hotel again because I loved the skiing (most friendly lift operators I've ever come across) & I loved the atmosphere & comfort the hotel offered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamcooneypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
708 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#4 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
492 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gardenia
Hotel Gardenia
#8 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Torretta
Hotel La Torretta
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpencolor TonaleHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpencolor TonaleHotel

Property: Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Address: Via Circonvallazione 4, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Flora Alpina)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpencolor TonaleHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in a central position, in Passo del Tonale, close to the ski school, shops, a playground for children in the snow To greedy moments and relax, our bar and multipurpose room Free wi-fi Valena chairlift just a few steps from the hotel: discover the comfort to leave the hotel and be able to immediately put your skis on Storage for skis, snowboards and other sports equipment 100 km of slopes in the mountain ranges Adamello-Presanella, Ortles Alps and Dolomites The longest slope in Europe: from the glacier Presena to Ponte di Legno Center Fund Vermiglio, Telemark, Freeride, Backcountry skiing,snow park in Passo del Tonale For non-skiers: outdoor skating, snow tubing, dog sledding with huskies, snowshoes • Breakfast: sweet and savory, homemade cakes, croissants, cereals and yoghurts, biscuits, fresh and canned fruit, bread, butter and homemade jams, cold meats and cheeses • Dinner: menu and great variety of typical dishes and products of Trentino, buffet of vegetables and fresh fruit or dessert at every meal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alpencolor TonaleHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing