We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brief but welcome visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great little hotel with friendly hosts. Right on the slopes...could virtually ski into the boot room and the apres ski was on our doorstep. Nice sized, clean room with lovely bathroom. Warm atmosphere at night in the bar with plenty of characters to practice your feeble efforts of Italian on - of which they are very grateful! Would definitely stay here again if I returned to the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lukecannon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 93 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just got back from a great week at Passo, staying at the Flora Alpina. Flight delayed on the way out so arrived around midnight to be greeted by a friendly face who straight away gave us our room key & said we could show them our passports for check in the next day. There were rolls and water waiting for us in the room Stayed in room 201 which was larger than other rooms i've had in ski resorts, very clean & just the right temperature. Room was comfy & the shower was hot and powerful. Only gripe was was my partner found the bed too hard & had a a spring sticking in his back so had a really bad weeks sleep, my side of the bed fine. Could pick up the free WIFI in our room which was a nice bonus. Quiet location, apart from snow plough a few mornings at 5am, but with the amount of snow we had that week it was to be expected!

Hotel owner was really friendly & welcoming, as were the other staff we met. A little bit of Italian goes a long way. No complaints about the food, good variety and there was plenty of it. No cooked food for breakfast but good selection or cereals, pastries, bread, boiled eggs & meats which was fine for us. Magic bar across the road great for apres ski drinks.

Would definitely stay here again if I returned to Passo Tonale

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLLUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The staff and owner made us very welcome and comfortable. Good large room, great little bar and straight home cooked Italian food. The meal on Christmas Day was excellent. Hotel right opposite the lifts and in the centre of town, handy for shops and bars.

Room Tip: Best not to have a balcony in case neighbours are talkative.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_traveller726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

My husband and I met a lovely couple skiing in Austria last year and decided we would go skiing together in 2012. She found a ski package in Passo Tonale and asked us for our opinion, so the first thing we did was to read the reviews on the resort and hotel, thought it looked good and booked it. On arrival we looked at the slopes which scared me a little and thinking to myself what have we done( as I'm not the best skier in the world). Anyway we went skiing and all the fear went. It's the best place I have been to ski ever; It has lovely wide slopes. This is ideal for beginners, intermediates wanting to ski or snowboards. Everything is on hand. The slopes are just across the road from the Flora Alpina Hotel. I’m writing of our experience and it was really lovely.

The hotelier, Pina is such a lovely person and so are her staff. We arrived late and Pina insisted we put our cases down and eat straight away because she had kept back a hot meal for us. She is very helpful and works hard to make people feel at home. The only thing I didn't like were the pillows, very flat and at the back of the bed there is a shelf which is at head level so you can't sit back and read or do Sudoku!
Our room was at the back so we never heard any noise which was nice, No views which didn't matter because the only time you spend in the room is to get your head down for an early start the next morning. The best thing was, we never heard any noise which was nice our friends had a share balcony and they heard the mobiles and talking a lot of the time.

Opposite our hotel is the fantastic Magic Bar for its après ski. Alive, friendly and where people of all ages come together. I suffer with asthma and found it hard to breath and walking was a struggle because the air is so thin and anyone with asthma will notice the difference, I got my husband to carry my skis so all I had to do way use the chairs lifts and ski down, that wasn't a problem.
Make sure Look at snow reports before you book!! Then!! Don’t think about book it. We have had lots of ski holidays but this was the best by far.
I would like to thank everyone who use Trip Advisor and taking the time to writing and sharing what is truth about Accommodations and Hotels etc because it helps us all.
Wear a HELMET!!
Room Tip: Forget the balcony, back rooms are quite. :))

Thanks to Pina and everyone who made our holiday the best.

Room Tip: Back room is quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cornishangel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is the fourth time we've stayed in Passo Tonale and this was by far the best location - the slopes are just across the car park, ski hire shop just down the road, Magic pub opposite and the wonderful La Botte bar just across the road (with free wi-fi). The rooms were spotlessly clean and the rooms with balconies had spectacular views. The only criticism would be that the walls don't seem to be that thick, so sound travelled between rooms. We were a group of 10 and I'm sure the staff may have been concerned about a large group of adults staying in a small hotel - but they welcomed us and were very helpful. A few words of Italian went a long way and by the end of the week the banter was flowing! Breakfast was the usual bread rolls, cheese, ham, boiled eggs etc - with plenty of tea available. Dinner was 3 courses - typically soup/pasta followed by meat/fish. As per other posts, vegetables are not traditionally served with the meat/fish.......there's a salad bar to help yourself from. All in all a great little hotel in the perfect location!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony - the views are stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tania228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Sometimes you drop lucky when you book a late ski holiday and this year we did just that at the Flora Alpina in Passo Tonale.
We arrived in resort after 10pm, but the hotelier, Pina, had kept back a hot meal for us and insisted we eat before formalities. Throughout the week, Pina and her staff were polite, helpful and attentive, but not overbearing.
The hotel is clean and well maintained, refurbished throughout in the last few years. There is a pleasant bar area and the dining room is similarly bright and airy. Our room was spacious and spotless, with proper sturdy furniture, decent decor and a large shower/wc room.
The food was of a good to high standard. Breakfast was a cereal/cold buffet, dinner consisted of local and Italian dishes, all very edible, not a chip in sight. The only thing we were not happy with was veal, on principal, which Pina was happy to replace.
The hotel is perfectly placed, just opposite the ski pass office and one of the numerous ski hire shops. It has a ski locker with a heated boot room, and the chair lift is about 50m away. (By 50m I do mean 50m, not a brochure 50m, which is usually about 300m)
Passo Tonale is no Val D'Isere, but there is a small selection of bars in or out of the hotels, a disco and several restaurants. You can have a decent crawl around the village and sky sports football is available in several of the bars.
The bar next to the Flora is called Al Cantuccio, it has a nice atmosphere and the owner is a smashing guy who speaks decent english. He does a good cappuccino and knows his wine, grub and footie.
At the top of the village is El Bait, good for speck, dunkel and weissbier. Magic Bar has a happy hour, very useful given the state of the pound......
Passo has a small ski area with a mixture of reds and blues and a good lift system. There is some more challenging stuff at the Presena Glacier, a wide steep red, two blacks and the relentless Paradiso black all the way back down. There is a link to the next town of Ponte di Legno and some more reds and blacks.
To sum up: Lovely hotel, good skiing and relaxed apres.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jiggapoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

I have just returned from a snowboarding trip to Passo Tonale with friends and can't rate this hotel high enough. The owner was very friendly and although she spoke very little english we found our attempts at Italian and a smile went a long way!! The chef and other waiting staff were also very friendly. We arrived quite late but had food waiting for us on arrival. The food generally was really nice, typically Italian and plenty of it. The rooms were large, warm and very clean....clean towels every day. Location was very convenient just a few hundred yards from the slopes and the magic bar for an apres ski shandy!! Passo Tonnale overall was nice, it's not a place for experts or party animals but perfect for what we wanted. The only tiny criticism i would have was that there was no tea making facilities in the room, but the bar downstairs was always a very nice place for a cuppa and game of cards. In summary great hotel that i would visit again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Snowkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.0 mi away
Sport Hotel Vittoria
Sport Hotel Vittoria
#3 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Negritella
Hotel Negritella
#7 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#2 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sporting
Hotel Sporting
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramonti
Grand Hotel Miramonti
#10 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
397 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Torretta
Hotel La Torretta
#4 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpencolor TonaleHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpencolor TonaleHotel

Address: Via Circonvallazione 4, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy (Formerly Hotel Flora Alpina)
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range: $119 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpencolor TonaleHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in a central position, in Passo del Tonale, close to the ski school, shops, a playground for children in the snow To greedy moments and relax, our bar and multipurpose room Free wi-fi Valena chairlift just a few steps from the hotel: discover the comfort to leave the hotel and be able to immediately put your skis on Storage for skis, snowboards and other sports equipment 100 km of slopes in the mountain ranges Adamello-Presanella, Ortles Alps and Dolomites The longest slope in Europe: from the glacier Presena to Ponte di Legno Center Fund Vermiglio, Telemark, Freeride, Backcountry skiing,snow park in Passo del Tonale For non-skiers: outdoor skating, snow tubing, dog sledding with huskies, snowshoes • Breakfast: sweet and savory, homemade cakes, croissants, cereals and yoghurts, biscuits, fresh and canned fruit, bread, butter and homemade jams, cold meats and cheeses • Dinner: menu and great variety of typical dishes and products of Trentino, buffet of vegetables and fresh fruit or dessert at every meal ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Alpencolor TonaleHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing