We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good 3* hotel close to slopes”
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Hotel Edelweiss
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Edelweiss
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good 3* hotel close to slopes”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Hotel on the main road of Tonale and central to the town. A few minutes walk to the ski area. Very excellent service from the staff in the restaurant. Food was good and plentiful. Breakfast basically cereals, yogurts, cheese, cold meats, cake, croissants, super fresh bread rolls, jams etc. Plenty choice of wine for evening meal with most at€8 to €11 a bottle. Room was adequate size, everything was in working order and cleaned well every day. Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GildaManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We chose this hotel cause we were looking for something cheap but nice for our semester break. And it was just that – great value for money. The location was the best we could hope for: just a short walk from the lifts and next to the the main street. The rooms were basic (just a bed, a chair, TV, phone and safe), but had enough space. It was cleaned every day, and gave us a good place to put our heads down at the end of the day. The staff was very nice and eager to please, especially as far as recommending good hang-outs in town. Usually we missed out on breakfast, but heard it's pretty basic – cheese, ham, cereal and juices. In the evenings the food was nice. Not amazing, but better than most hotels at this level. If you're looking for something simple that will do the job – this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hans555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We just got back from ski (02.2011) vacation in Passo Tonale.
We stayed in Edelweiss Hotel.
About the Hotel:
Good positioned hotel with big enough rooms. We had balcony with a great snowy mountain and city view. Nice and clean bathroom , though the shower is pretty small.
Staff is very welcoming though English is not their strong side.
Breackfast is lack some basic products like eggs and soft cheese but generaly breakfast is good enough and can "hold" you till 12 am.
Dinners are gerat !! and the amount of food is certainly compensate the lack of products in breackfast. Each evening you should chose the main dishes for tomorrow evening.

The hotel positioned only 40 meters from the slopes and lifts that will take you to your ski advantures. Hotel also has ski equipment room with boot warmers.

Some things that I would mentioned as shortcomings:
No free Wi-fi ,on the second hand , no Wi-Fi at all !
It can be nice to have at least teakettle in the rooms (sometimes you are wishing for hot tea after long cold and snowy day)
Double bed is formed from two beds......so I always slept in the niche between them( but it is not a big broblem).
As I allready mentioned....edds in the breakfast !!
Very old TV ( small14" or 16" TV) with only Italian chanels and one MTV chanel.......but if you thinking through it is advantage since you don't need to watch TV ...only relax!!!

So, my conclusion is ......Very Good small family hotel with great staff and wery warm atmosphere. All the disadvantagess can be neglected in the shadow of all good things.

Regarding the Ski Resort:
Very good and well equiped ski resort. Great and beautiful views.
Recommended for beginners and intermediate skiers. Great food in all restaurants

We had a great ski vacation !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended Ski Resort !!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed at this hotel on a half board basis for 4 nights. Location is great - just down from the Magic Bar behind which is the main access to the slopes. The ski hire shop is across the road. Overall location is highly recommended. Hotel has a boot room which is handy. Room was quite small but clean and nice hard bed. Plenty of storage space and lovely and warm. Only criticisms would be water could be luke warm in an evening and hair dryer was very slow! (I'd take my own if went again). We stayed half board. Breakfast very basic - bread rolls, ham, cheese & croissants. Evening meal was a choice of 3 starters/main courses/desserts and overall a reasonable standard - starter tends to be pasta which is tasty and filling! Restaurant staff made a real effort to speak English and were really pleasant. Hotel has a nice bar perfect for an after dinner drink. Wine not included in evening meal but only costs about 10 euros a bottle and you can keep whatever you don't drink to the following night. On the last day of our trip we were offered an early transfer and some time in Verona. Worth doing although Verona quite small and main attractions require you to pay entrance fee. We just had a wander around and got a fantastic pizza right by the main square (where the market is). Ski wise Passo Tonale great for intermediates. Runs would be limited for a week but great for a short break. Black under the Gondola is doable - was my first ever black ..... - if you can ski red reasonably competently. Best red runs on the South side (i.e. opposite the Gondola) are the high reds at either end of the village. These were above the clouds when visibility lower down was poor. Would recommended the Magic Bar for Apres-Ski (relaxed vibe). Overall a good resort for intermediates and a good hotel for value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Simple, clean hotel with friendly staff. Stayed here in February 2010 as half-board. Nice breakfast consisting of meats, cheese, cereal, bread, fruit, coffee, tea etc - perfect to start your day skiing. Very good evening meals (better than expected), good choices with very friendly and polite service. Rooms are fine - basic but clean and modern. Space to keep luggage etc. The hotel is a one minute walk to the nearest ski slopes. We would definitely stay here again. Booked through Lastminute.com and Inghams. All good and definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrLittlewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

16 of us stayed in the Edelweiss whilst on a Neilson ski hol. It provded great accom for us - rooms were clean, a fair size, warm, and beds very comfortable. Plenty of storage space. The showers took a while to run hot, but plenty of hot water once it arrived. Plenty of room for skis and boots in the boot room - which had heated boot storge. The staff were friendly and accomodating. The food was typical for this kind of hotel - salad buffet, choice of soup or 2 pasta dishes, followed by a choice of 2 meat courses and dessert . Cold cooked sprouts are an acquired taste!!! I would recommend as a base for a ski hol, very close to slopes so no walking in ski boots or catching a ski bus.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazydaysWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#22 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#23 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo Blu
Hotel Cielo Blu
#13 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
#12 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Adamello
Hotel Adamello
#1 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Property: Hotel Edelweiss
Address: Via Nazionale 11, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edelweiss 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing