We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible rooms, awful food, grumpy owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo Sciatori

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albergo Sciatori
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible rooms, awful food, grumpy owners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The rooms are cold and miserable and made of plywood. You can hear the person sneezing in the room next door so privacy is absolutely minimal. The bathroom was filthy. Worst of all the food was so bad that we had to eat out every night. I have never been to a place where we have paid for food which proved to be completely inedible, but there you go. Luckily there are some nice pizza places up the road so we did not starve to death. AVOID!!!

Room Tip: In another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    14
    11
    12
See reviews for
21
16
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Pwllheli, Gwynedd
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

The hotel was located in a very pleasant location and the views were incredible. The hotel staff were appalling and the manager was even worse! They wouldn't even say good morning or smile at the customers. One of my friends threw a crisp out of the balcony and the manager came barging the room, and held him by his shirt and threw him out of the hotel! The food was aright, but it was definitely nothing to be righting home about! But it's location as I said was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MynythoPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Passo del Tonale hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Having just spent a week at this hotel on a skiing holiday booked with Inghams we felt that we needed to post some comments about this hotel in view of other things that have been posted on this site.This is not something that we have ever done before but felt motivated by previous negative comments which to our mind are not justified.The hotel is low-key,not pretending to be anything very grand but its standards are high.Our room was kept spotless,freshly laundered sheets replaced threetimes in the week and towels more frequently.Rooms are a good size,not ultra modern but adequate.Breakfast was fairly simple -real juice would have been an improvement and perhaps proper ham but there are eggs and the coffee machine provided a good choice of other drinks.As a previous reviewer observed dinner is better-good salads to start,always a pasta choice before the main dish finished with a simple pudding.The owners speak little English but this is Italy.All the other staff were very friendly and extremely hard working.If you normally stay in a 5 star chalet in Meribel or Zermatt this may come as a different experience but certainly not an altogether horrible one.Oh and the skiing especially of the beaten track is underrated too.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annageshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Great resort but the owners are a disgrace. We went with a school trip and have to say the quality of the hotel differs if the owners happen to like you! The heating was off for most our stay, the toilet roll was the cheapest of the cheap (and was changed on the last night for the Italian holiday makers), the salad bar wasnt used until we left and the other families arived, breakfast was cake and a single roll. I can cope with poor hotels that the staff try to make acceptable but a hotel where the iggest issue are the owners is a terrible state of affairs. It got so bad our reps were kicked out for complaining when put in a store cupboard to sleep on the last night, and the other hotel there left in a huge row about the treatment of their kids who were good as gold.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rivet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

I have just read a review which comments badly on the family that run the Hotel - I cannot disagree more with the comments and this is the reason why we have used the Hotel for more than three years running with a school group that range from 50 to 90 depending on the size of trip. Lets be honest any Hotel that can tollerate a school trip should have an award. Over the years we have given them photographs of the previous trip and they have displayed them annually. Unfortunately the Hotel is fully booked this year so we are staying at another in the centre of Tonale - the owners will be missed but we will call in to greet them.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2010

Passo Tonale is a fine resort. There is a variety of skiing although most is for intermediates but the scenery can be spectacular. Prices are more favourable than France Austria and Switzerland. The resort is safe as there is little traffic and there are just enough bars and restaurants to suffice although it is very low key.
The Hotel Albergo Sciatori however is one to be avoided unless skiing eating and going out/sleeping are the only things you plan to do.
The hotel is ocd spotless and the rooms are clean and basic.We found the food excellent. However the family that run the hotel are the most miserable I have ever encountered anywhere on the planet. We did not receive a smile all week including arrival. We were made to feel guilty for asking for a drink from the atmosphereless bar and we were charged E1 per cup for boiling water whenwe tried tomake our own tea !

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigOBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2010

This is our second recent visit to Passo Tonale which is a high, sunny, quiet, compact resort and no queues!
The experience was great and it is now our favourite. We really liked the Sciatori. It is a typical family run Albergo and was just right for us. Having stayed at 3 hotels in Passo Tonale over the years, we find the owners have an alpine reticence, but do open up if you try to speak a little of their language.
Our room was a good size with twin beds turned into a double. The bathroom was of a high standard. A full length mirror would have been an asset.
The TV did have english channels but around ch.40 on the telly, so hard to find.
The dining room was pleasant and the meals were very good.
The breakfast had a big choice cold buffet and plenty of coffee!
The evening meals were simple, well prepared with 3 choices of each course.
One bonus was we were offered coffee before we left at 5.30am before the coach arrived for the transfer to the airport. We didn’t use the boot room at the hotel but hired a locker for 10€ at the ski hire place next to the Hotel Sport Vittoria/ Heaven Disco.
The Ski Schools are excellent with good instructors and a big advantage is you can choose an 11am lesson, you are on holiday after all!
We will definitely return to Passo Tonale

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arunskiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Passo del Tonale hotels
0.2 mi away
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
Alpencolor TonaleHotel
#13 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel locanda Locatori
Hotel locanda Locatori
#19 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Dolomiti
Hotel Dolomiti
#23 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#10 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Paradiso
Grand Hotel Paradiso
#18 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Orchidea
Hotel Orchidea
#20 of 27 in Passo del Tonale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo Sciatori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Sciatori

Property: Albergo Sciatori
Address: Via Nazionale 29, 38029 Passo del Tonale, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Passo del Tonale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Passo del Tonale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Sciatori 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Albergo Sciatori reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Sciatori Hotel Passo Del Tonale
Albergo Sciatori Passo Tonale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing