We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding guest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portoscuso
Cagliari
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wedding guest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

As a wedding guest I was pretty satisfied: the great quality of the food served, the stunning landscape of a stormy shore at sunset, the professional expertise of every staff member, and the calmness of the pool in winter have caught my emotions.
Unfortunately (or luckily, depending on the point of view) i have no information on the pricing or the room service.

Room Tip: Sorry, no info on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    57
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
22
59
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed at this hotel at the end of April 2011. The hotel service was really poor and expensive. We think this hotel is better suited to Italian tourists and not well suited to international holiday makers.

We asked for a few things we would expect from any other 4* hotel and the staff told us it was impossible.

The hotel is more cost rather than service focused. They charged us for Internet and beach towels.

Don't go for the half board option. We were restricted to 3 choices per course (starter, main, desert). Fairly basic. Gave me the impression the food was made in batch earlier in the day. Then reheated in the evening. No vegetarian option.

There was no hot food at breakfast. Mainly bread & cake.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navlond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2011

The location is really nice, if one even gets a room with a front sea view, it is beautiful. Rooms' interior design and furnishing can be improved. Rooms' high ceilings make them somehow cold. Bath amenities are very simple and cheap.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chirri_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of October 2010. It is a large new build with a fun pool and a great location for the shoreline. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. During our stay their was a wedding party going on and the staff rang up to our room to warn us that there would be “fire in the sky” and not to be scared of the noise, which was thoughtful.

We only had breakfast here which was a standard continental. The interior of the hotel was bland, our room was equipped with air con, balcony out to the sea (stunning view), TV, shower room and mini bar. As I say, the interior was bland and the downstairs bar lacked atmosphere. However the hotel made up for this will a good pool (with water jets) and a stunning view out to sea. The place is virtually built on the shore and so one has only a short walk to a rocky cove and a sandy beech. It is located on the edge of town and so local amenities are in walking distance.

The town does have a large factory with tall chimneys which is rather an eye sore once one explores the coast further,

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaffUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

The physical quality and look of this hotel is excellent. The size of the rooms are adequate. Great swimming pool and sun bed area. The cleanliness everywhere was outstanding. The food excellent and the staff were fine in general and the restaurant staff above average.
Now for the downside. The hotel website describes all rooms as having a large balcony and sea view, for this reason I reserved and prepaid for a standard room. On arrival we were allocated a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park, the kitchen air conditioning (very noisy) and a rather small balcony. When I asked at reception for a room with a sea view I was told that this was the room I had paid for and all other rooms were occupied. The website is a total misrepresentation, had I known, I would have specifically asked for a room with a large balcony and sea view even at extra cost.
It might seem that I am making a big issue of this. What must be considered is that this hotel is on the edge of Portoscuso, a long walk into the centre of the little town. To sit for an hour or two on a balcony with a nice drink and watch the fishing boats go past is a major part of a relaxing holiday for us. This didn't happen. It is not geared up for families and caters mainly for business travellers and wedding receptions, for this reason the overall atmosphere was quite dead. I must say that this was not a problem for us as we like peace and quiet but it might not suit others.

  • Liked — Clean, well appointed, good pool, good food.
  • Disliked — No atmosphere, bar dead and a long walk to town (car here essential). The website description not accurate.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DaiTablets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portoscuso
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Pedro
Hotel Don Pedro
#2 of 4 in Portoscuso
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
37.0 mi away
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
Hotel Costa dei Fiori
#2 of 14 in Santa Margherita di Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hotel La Rosa Dei Venti
Hotel La Rosa Dei Venti
#1 of 1 in Buggerru
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Lu' Hotel
Lu' Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carbonia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.8 mi away
Corte Hotel Panorama
Corte Hotel Panorama
#4 of 4 in Portoscuso
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Luci Del Faro
Hotel Luci Del Faro
#2 of 6 in Calasetta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli

Property: Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli
Address: Viale Adriatico, Portopaglie, 09010 Portoscuso, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Carbonia-Iglesias > Portoscuso
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Portoscuso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lido degli Spagnoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lido Degli Spagnoli Portoscuso, Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing