We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast route to relaxation in a lovely spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Ranked #5 of 22 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fast route to relaxation in a lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel's location can be seen as a positive or negative depending on your view. For us it was positive - it's as close to the sea as possible with wonderful views over the neighbouring islands and away from any real hustle and bustle, but a walkable distance from the village of Baia Sardinia if that is where you want to be. The walk is 10 - 15 mins up and down hill so might might not be for those who struggle with mobility and taxi fares will soon mount up. If this could be an issue they have a sister property in Baia Sardinia.

Sardinia itself is very quiet ( or was early June ) but the upside meant pool to ourselves - the beach however is small and was full but there are many beaches so if you have a car then or take a boat trip you will have no problem finding a place on one of them.

The hotel itself is clean, tidy and well run - and the rooms spacious and well maintained. We had a junior suite which was a large room with a separate lounge area with TV and sofa. There was also a cooker, fridge and freezer compartment in built into the units, a safe and a small but perfectly formed bathroom with bath and shower and a good range of toiletries and basic hairdryer ( You might want to bring conditioner though. And if you do want to put your own drinks in the fridge then a bottle opener / corkscrew).

The hotel only has 36 units - each built around a walled garden which have table and chairs or loungers, a deck or patio and in some mini pools. The rooms were cleaned each day and fresh towels inc pool towels provided.

We stayed on half board - the breakfast was a buffet of local produce and also offered hot cooked items such as eggs. Light lunch is optional and is served at the pool - we took this option once . It was very good and cost 24 E for two with drinks. The reason we only did this once was we had half board and dinner consisted of a self service starter plate and then 3 courses - which were pasta, mains and then cheese or dessert and coffee. The menu changed daily and there were fish, vegetarian and meat choices each night usually 2 options for each per course. It was nice to have a relaxed attitude to the meal and take each night as a surprise - there was always something you'd think I don't normally try that but and it was great ! Local wine was reasonably priced and their real service star is Stefano who runs the restaurant service with charm and precision.

It was great for a short break ( 4 days ) and would recommend to anyone wanting to get a long holiday feel in short space of time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cconta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
28
79
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

beware this hotel is far away from any bars or tavernas. the rooms are more like private villas,
they, are spotless. and very roomy staff are friendly and helpful. the closest bars are a 20 min walk away.food is so so. we found the staff at dinner a bit too over bearing. and also the choice was very limited. also you wont feel too full as the portions are very small. we are no piglets !! but found this be a big problem so the last few nights we ate out drinks as usual are very pricey even in port smeralda. sorry to say it didnt live up to our expectations.the beach close by is great, not crowded. one last point that we found got on our nerves was at breakfast they kept running out of various bits and pie.ces and we had to keep asking for Top Ups ! a small point but not what you expect from a so called 5 star. which i am sorry to say this is not we have stayed in far better hotels in crete, rhodes & cyprus. its a 3.5 star at best !!

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbennett55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We stayed here for two weeks at the beginning of June 2011. Unfortunately the weather when we arrived was a bit disappointing but we certainly had no complaints about the hotel. The hotel staff were really friendly and the views from the restaurant were spectacular. We had two rooms in the garden and couldn’t fault the service or cleanliness. Food was good and the wine wasn’t badly priced. No hesitation about going back. Geoff, Deb, Charlotte & Zoe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank gtmitchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

I give it a full 5 without hesitating, mostly for overall impression although sum of the parts do contain something less than 5. Most remarkable pros and cons:
Pluses:
- this is my first experience with the open garden concept and I must say I adore it! If you're into sunbathing and walking out naked to fresh air, then you know what I'm taking about (on the downside of this, be ready for the bugs, mosquitoes and cats investigating your garbage at night). 
- real grass and trees in your garden
- very quiet. VERY, in particular when the local club closes down. You pay for this by moderate walks to the main street of Baja (one can consider this as a plus after heavy diner).
- no noisy in-house activities
- great deep pool, you're safe to jump in head down
- it's a small hotel - not much rooms, no crowds in the restaurant, in the pol etc. Quiet

Now, negatives
- private beach (you DO want one in Sardinia) which is joined with another hotel is a joke and quite a walk away. There's a public beach nearby which is way better and Phi- club has fabulous beach as well. No drinks service at the beach ( may change during the high season).
- in-house food experience is very mixed, ranging from ok/good to so-so. We had most of the dinners in Baja. Breakfasts are good, but don't be late as they stock limited amount of food which runs out fast.
- they failed to fix wi-fi in the lobby for the whole of our stay blaming national provider ( although Internet worked on their desktop), and right at the end of our stay they went into another extreme and fixed it by having users to input manual ip, dns and subnets. And with all that i can login to their router as admin.They have to hire somebody who understands the basics of Internet setup. Very frustrating for the 21st century.
- you can lock your little villa but you can't lock your garden. No DND badges so expect someone to come in shown you don't expect it.
- we had oven in our room, but no pots, pans etc so you can't use it.

Overall, truly Italian place which you can't enjoy without strong sense of humor and tolerance. For full 5 star experience go somewhere else.
Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xoxMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just returned from a short break at this hotel with a friend to celebrate our 40th birthdays & had a fabulous time. The season was only just starting so the hotel and area was very quiet, I expect its much different in July and August. The hotel is in a quiet location about 10 minutes walk from the main beach and shops/restaurants, but is right next to Phi Beach a nightclub on the beach. We had hoped to visit but unfortunately they hadnt got going for the season at that time. I would imagine its not so quiet on the nights when the club is going, but would be an amazing place to have a cocktail or two and watch the sun set.
Due to the fact that the hotel was quiet we were upgraded to a suite with private garden which was fabulous. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities you could want. The hotel has been undergoing renovatoin and this was just being finished when were there, it has improved from the brochure pictures which no longer do it justice.
The food & service were also excellent, and the restaurant and pool had amazing views. I would definitely return, but probably with my husband as seems more geared to couples.
One tip - do the Boat trip to Le Maddelena islands, well worth the €40.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BuzzyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

The entire time I stayed at this hotel I kept thinking what a shame that it has not been renovated. The potential is there but it definately needs a face lift. My room was located in a small villa. The room size was fine, but the fabrics on the couch and bedspread were very worn and discolored. The private beach was located at the hotel's sister property, just next door. We accessed the beach through the other hotel, which reminded me of a bungalow colony where a family might spend their summer. We didn't see any other Americans at this hotel during our stay. The staff was friendly enough, but on the day we had to check out, we got a phone call 15 minutes before 10:00 am telling us that check out was at 10 am and we could not get a late checkout. We packed up as quickly as possible, but were unhappy with the fact that they did not tell us that checkout was so early. The best part about this hotel was that it was next to Phi beach. Phi beach is a loungy night/dance club located on the edge of the water. Wonderful to watch the sunset and have a very expensive cocktail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNANewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

we were in this hotel in July, great location, wonderful sea.
near the picturesque village of baja sardinya.this hotel offers a superlative service
under the able direction of Pierpaolo wich is really professional and friendly and I am sure that is transferring this ability to the rest of the staff: the unforgettable dinners on the terrace by the sea:wow
we will return it's a promise

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristiano28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baia Sardinia
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#4 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
3.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#1 of 21 in Porto Cervo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#6 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
#3 of 22 in Baia Sardinia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi

Property: Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Address: Localita Baja Sardinia SNC, 07026 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#5 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi Hotel Baia Sardinia
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing