We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Checking out now - fresh impressions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Checking out now - fresh impressions”
Reviewed July 2, 2011

I give it a full 5 without hesitating, mostly for overall impression although sum of the parts do contain something less than 5. Most remarkable pros and cons:
Pluses:
- this is my first experience with the open garden concept and I must say I adore it! If you're into sunbathing and walking out naked to fresh air, then you know what I'm taking about (on the downside of this, be ready for the bugs, mosquitoes and cats investigating your garbage at night). 
- real grass and trees in your garden
- very quiet. VERY, in particular when the local club closes down. You pay for this by moderate walks to the main street of Baja (one can consider this as a plus after heavy diner).
- no noisy in-house activities
- great deep pool, you're safe to jump in head down
- it's a small hotel - not much rooms, no crowds in the restaurant, in the pol etc. Quiet

Now, negatives
- private beach (you DO want one in Sardinia) which is joined with another hotel is a joke and quite a walk away. There's a public beach nearby which is way better and Phi- club has fabulous beach as well. No drinks service at the beach ( may change during the high season).
- in-house food experience is very mixed, ranging from ok/good to so-so. We had most of the dinners in Baja. Breakfasts are good, but don't be late as they stock limited amount of food which runs out fast.
- they failed to fix wi-fi in the lobby for the whole of our stay blaming national provider ( although Internet worked on their desktop), and right at the end of our stay they went into another extreme and fixed it by having users to input manual ip, dns and subnets. And with all that i can login to their router as admin.They have to hire somebody who understands the basics of Internet setup. Very frustrating for the 21st century.
- you can lock your little villa but you can't lock your garden. No DND badges so expect someone to come in shown you don't expect it.
- we had oven in our room, but no pots, pans etc so you can't use it.

Overall, truly Italian place which you can't enjoy without strong sense of humor and tolerance. For full 5 star experience go somewhere else.
Have fun!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xoxMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    43
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
29
86
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just returned from a short break at this hotel with a friend to celebrate our 40th birthdays & had a fabulous time. The season was only just starting so the hotel and area was very quiet, I expect its much different in July and August. The hotel is in a quiet location about 10 minutes walk from the main beach and shops/restaurants, but is right next to Phi Beach a nightclub on the beach. We had hoped to visit but unfortunately they hadnt got going for the season at that time. I would imagine its not so quiet on the nights when the club is going, but would be an amazing place to have a cocktail or two and watch the sun set.
Due to the fact that the hotel was quiet we were upgraded to a suite with private garden which was fabulous. The rooms were clean and had all the amenities you could want. The hotel has been undergoing renovatoin and this was just being finished when were there, it has improved from the brochure pictures which no longer do it justice.
The food & service were also excellent, and the restaurant and pool had amazing views. I would definitely return, but probably with my husband as seems more geared to couples.
One tip - do the Boat trip to Le Maddelena islands, well worth the €40.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BuzzyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2010

The entire time I stayed at this hotel I kept thinking what a shame that it has not been renovated. The potential is there but it definately needs a face lift. My room was located in a small villa. The room size was fine, but the fabrics on the couch and bedspread were very worn and discolored. The private beach was located at the hotel's sister property, just next door. We accessed the beach through the other hotel, which reminded me of a bungalow colony where a family might spend their summer. We didn't see any other Americans at this hotel during our stay. The staff was friendly enough, but on the day we had to check out, we got a phone call 15 minutes before 10:00 am telling us that check out was at 10 am and we could not get a late checkout. We packed up as quickly as possible, but were unhappy with the fact that they did not tell us that checkout was so early. The best part about this hotel was that it was next to Phi beach. Phi beach is a loungy night/dance club located on the edge of the water. Wonderful to watch the sunset and have a very expensive cocktail.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNANewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2010

we were in this hotel in July, great location, wonderful sea.
near the picturesque village of baja sardinya.this hotel offers a superlative service
under the able direction of Pierpaolo wich is really professional and friendly and I am sure that is transferring this ability to the rest of the staff: the unforgettable dinners on the terrace by the sea:wow
we will return it's a promise

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cristiano28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We had a superb holiday!
The staff couldn't have been more friendly.
They all did every thing they could to help if required so we can't fault their service. Our room was brilliant, in fact it was more of a little private villa than a room. We had our own private garden with sunbeds and table and chairs and so at times when you just couldn't be bothered to go out you had somewhere quiet to sit. Although there were activities going on around the complex when you were 'at home' it was really peaceful. Our place was cleaned every day and in the evening the lights were put on for our return and the bed turned down! What a service! They seemed to know when we were in and avoided those times so we weren't disturbed.
We found the food very good and again the staff were excellent in making sure you had all you needed. Lots of the staff tried to help out with the language differences when it came to menu translation. Brilliant.
Reception staff were just as exceptional. Would go again tomorrow if only we could!
If you want to get out and about there are loads of quiet bays to explore without going too
far and the town is just ten minutes walk away.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Listner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Hotel was very nice, a bit far to walk on high heels to the centre but other then that, very nice and quiet!

Room is nice, bathroom is clean bit old fashion but clean.

Cleaning is good. Towls are fine. Bath towls available.

Breakfast is ok, good service.

Minus: no internet on the rooms only 1 PC at the reception area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflowerMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of wight
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stayed for 5 nights from 11th June. The first thing to say is the staff are superb, friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble, Riccardo the manager is doing a super job there. The food was better than the 5 star Excellsior Vittoria in Sorrento where we had stayed for the previous 3 nights before. Only downside was the pokey bathrooms. would go back again for sure. Must say that a new nightclub has opened just across the way owned by the same people the music from there spoilt our Saturday evening and we had the feeling most others guests felt the same,thankfully this was one night only.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baia Sardinia
0.4 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
308 reviews
3.2 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
Hotel La Rocca Resort & Spa
#5 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
380 reviews
3.2 mi away
Colonna Resort
Colonna Resort
#4 of 21 in Porto Cervo
650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel La Bisaccia
Hotel La Bisaccia
#9 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi

Property: Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi
Address: Localita Baja Sardinia SNC, 07026 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Baia Sardinia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi Hotel Baia Sardinia
Grand Relais Dei Nuraghi Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing