We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Nearby Hotels
$334
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Jacia(Baia Sardinia)(Great Value!)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Pulicinu(Baia Sardinia)
$172
$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airone Hotel(Baia Sardinia)
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$324
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Hotel(Baia Sardinia)
$311
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Bisaccia(Baia Sardinia)
$349
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Tre Botti(Baia Sardinia)
$80
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Li Graniti(Baia Sardinia)(Great Value!)
$185
$123
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveler rating
149
174
65
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
174
65
21
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalf boardwalk in wardrobeprivate beachcroissantsmattress topperevery nightlovely hotelsea viewroom decorbacon and eggswaiter staffa ground floor roomdifferent levelsshower curtainrestaurants within walking distancemin walkbaja sardinia
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 417 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This is a great hotel, in a perfect Location. Less than a 5 minute walk to the square of Baia Sardinia (left out of the hotel drive entrance, first left and down the hill).
Great little beach area, and plenty of pools with various little sunbathing areas on various levels, which give you a lot more privacy than most hotel pools.
Hotel gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms are not 4 star by UK standards, but then we were in Italy. My past experiences of Italy has been similar. The rooms were probably slightly old fashioned, but in a nice sort of way. They were very clean with fresh towels and bedding every day. Yes the beds are a bit hard, but I like them this way.
My only real critism of the hotel was the breakfast - it was rubbish! Fine is you like croissants, fruit and yoghurt - but I am a traditional English person! We found the staff to be friendly and helpful the majority of the time.
The resort is a little on the quiet side. Only really a couple of places where you can just drink - the rest is restaurants, although plenty to keep you going for a week. Brilliant if you like fish as this is probably about 80% of each menu.
A night in Porto Cervo is a must, but make sure you take plenty of money. Fantastic Marina, Shop and Bar area to wander round. Although a round of 4 drinks cost us 85 Euro. The taxi there from the hotel cost 25 Euro and back was 35 Euro as it was after midnight.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark_Helen_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We paid like 300 Euro - the room we had first was super small, old and view on a parking area - we asked for another room and the stuff were arrogant - told us they are fully booked - but maybe they could do something if we pay more....
After an hour we got a better room with a side view on the ocean. The Service stuff was also not super nice and service orientated - they were always stressed and we had to wait long to get a drink or food. All in all - stuff is unfriendly and unflexible - we travel a lot and never experienced a place like that!!! And this in Italy??? The only good thing is the Beach area!
Value for money is not right!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here from 9 to 16 July, we felt very nice in this hotel, the food was ok...the dinner especially is nice but the breackfast could be better... Our room was beautiful, the bed was comfortable. The sheets and towel were changed regularly. We had a front sea view which was amazing ( room 224).
Sardinia and the hotel is certainly not the cheapest option but I would say it was worth every money...

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pop_Maria_Roxana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2013

As the title says, the 4 stars rating I think is actualy an average between the actual hotel rating and the location rating. We've stayed here for 10 days, in a standard double-room (with parking-lot view :)) and half-board.
The good things :
- superb location with breathtaking views and magnificent sunsets and a little beach
- very nice outside areas, with nice gardens, several pools, cozy spots with sunbeds to relax and have some privacy
- room size is ok, cleanliness is good
- nice lobby and evening terrace for chilling-out in the afternoon
- staff is mostly friendly and helpful
- free parking at the hotel

The bad things:
- room decoration too rustic ! maybe this depends on taste, and i can see where they are trying to go with this, but it's too mutch! The 2 chairs in the room look like Flinstones Family's chairs. :)) The walls are painted in a lot of colours and probably things that should be "sardinian style", but in my opinion the room looks like crap. My girlfriend liked the room...some maybe it's just me...
- bathroom is small and looks old.
- the bed is hard, but the real problem for me was the pillow. It's about 3cm thin and not soft at all. Sleeping on this stupid pillow was a nightmare.
- THE FOOD. I've read lots of reviews before going here and most said that the food is very good. For me the food was a big dissapointment. The breakfast has a poor selection, only boiled and scrambled eggs, some croissants, cheese, ham, jam, cereals and that''s about it. For the dinner they are trying to have a fancy a-la-carte mediteranean restaurant, but they fail. The food only sounds nice and fancy, but it isn't. I don't want to become boring by going into details but for us the food realy wasn't what we have expected.
- all the pools are 80-100 cm deep. Those are more like decoration pools, because swiming in 80cm water is almost imposible.
- the sunbeds are not alowed on the beach. Only beach chairs are permited, an i am still trying to find a reason for this stupid rule. On a beach chair you obvoiusly can't get a tan on your back, or take a nap, or even relax properly.
- there are only about 10 tv channels available in the room. This is 21th century people...

Tip: rent a car to reach some of the most beuatiful beaches in Europe that are within 15 minutes by car.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zega_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 week, flying in from Rome after travelling round 4 Italian city's. We wanted a nice relaxing 2nd week of our holiday which is what we got. The pool's are lovely and the sun beds are really well spaced out so you have privacy. Beach was lovely and the gardens and views were beautiful. However, the rooms really let the hotel down. Very basic and dated. Some lights were hanging from wires and we had 2 single beds pushed together. We were B&B and it was a very nice breakfast. We ate out in the local town every night so didn't try the dinners at the hotel. Overall we decided it should be renamed the 'Average Hotel Smeraldo Beach' rather than 'Grand'.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSChelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews