We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little hotel with few amenities”
Review of Hotel La Jacia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Jacia
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A little hotel with few amenities”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

we were at the hotel the day after it officially open for the season, in addition it must be said that the spring this year haven't been the best one can remember, actually one of the worst in my living memory. I was raining when we arrived, so having given rooms on the ground floor with direct access to the garden did not help. The first night was freezing cold, the A/C setting were still the same as the previous summer, and no hot air would come out it. We asked for the room to be changed, but they told us that rooms weren't ready as yet. Promptly they fixed the A/C and things did get better. The rooms at the Jacia are spacious, and so the bathroom, the decor wouldn't be too bad, but the wardrobe are in effect a very cheap pine furniture painted on top with pastel color to match the color of the room. I founded quite gross. The bathroom is well thought, but again there are things that really did not think about. Flashing the toilets is as noisy as a train breaking, there are holes badly closed, the doors of the shower wobbling, and falling, and the door making the noise like we would be in the Adam's family mansion.
Let's come to the breakfast. I was the first time in an hotel in Italy were coffee is 3 times worst than the American one, I guess personnel do know that so if they see you are Italian they say; we can make an express for you. The buffet selection was pretty much at the same level of a cheap hotel around Termini station in Rome.
The Hotel did not cater for dinner, at least at the time we were there, so we were suggested to go to the Restaurant near by, and buy a so called "convention voucher" of 20 euro for the adults, and 12 euro for children. When we were at the restaurant we understood that we could choose only from a selected menu, and had to eat a 3 course meal, which standard for Italians, but for us was overwhelming. So from there on we still went to the same restaurant, which was good, but choosing our-self the meals.
So what makes The Jacia hotel a Very Good hotel? The personnel. Jacia is one hotel were the people running it makes the difference, kind, polite, empathetic, and knowledgeable. They know how to great a guest, they dispense sincerely smiles, and equally ask you were you have been what you have seen, and whether you liked it.
Despite the adverse weather which spoiled in part our vacation, I harbor good memory of the hotel and Baja Sardinia

Room Tip: choose the room on the first floor, the one on the ground floor are dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabriele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    70
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
46
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although we were a little early in the year, the stay was very enjoyable. One advice is that if you only plan on having sunshine holiday without visiting the area go at another time of the year as the weather is very changeable.

Hotel very unique with individual cottage-like chalets dotted around the grounds for your stay (very nice). Great place to stay! Staff very hospitable, helpful and always with a friendly smile.. :)

Thank you to the people working in the Hotel for a very pleasant stay !!

Hope to visit again.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miz-Travel-2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Well this is the most difficult review I've done so far as our family had such mixed feelings over our stay. We had a really high hopes from the reviews & look of the Hotel & we had booked months before - but when we arrived & were shown to our room we were bitterly disappointed with it as it was SO dark (window in bedroom & bathroom overlooking the road into the car parking area but at a sloping angle so it was partly brick wall) & at the front we were almost within hand shaking distance of the neighbours opposite who were sitting outside on their "terrace". Now I'm sure the layout is fine for lots of folk but we live in a very light house back home with very private gardens so we are lucky, but we had expected to have some sort of view. The publicity states each room as having a "unique" view of the gardens, pool or sea none of which this room had. We raised our concerns at reception (we had booked 11 nights & weren't prepared to stay in that depressing room when we had paid a lot of money) only to be told that most of the rooms had the same outlook and most of the guests loved it. When we asked about a first floor room (sure to be lighter) we were told they were executive rooms and it would cost us another 1500Euros for the upgrade...quite impossible !! Only one other room was available but the receptionist felt it was an inferior room as it was on the end nearest the car park - we asked to see it & as soon as the door opened it was much brighter & better for us. It was double aspect in the bedroom, the bathroom looked out to the front & the little terrace was enclosed by screening & we had no one opposite us so we felt much more private. Yes it was near the cars but it wasn't noisy so for us it was much better - the receptionist clearly couldn't believe we preferred it...so it just goes to show how different we all are ! My Husband hates that sort of confrontation (having to fight to get something changed) so it did give him a bad feeling to the start of the holiday. No denying the pool area is lovely (quiet as most folk go the beach or Aquadream in the day) & Aquadream was never a problem with noise it opens 10.30 to 6.00. Everywhere was extremely clean, the staff very helpful (after our initial hicup), polite & smiley. My Husband had a problem with his back during our stay & the receptionist kindly rang for a mobile Doctor to call out & whilst he had to lie flat in the room for a few hours my son & I were able to pop next door to Aquadream so that worked really well. The nearest beach was lovely but we were a little disappointed that some of the other beaches weren't as accessible as we hoped & parking could be difficult or expensive. This area of Sardinia is quite chic rather than quaint oldie worldy fishing villages that we might have thought of but it was safe, very hot & nice to be away from the British crowds. So to sum up I'm sure lots of people would love the Hotel but my advice is to be careful about where the room is & try to get one with a bit of a view (ours was room 40) if possible & if you can afford it go for the first floor !

Room Tip: Room 40 didn't overlook anyone else & had a double aspect bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hagafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The pictures on the booking site cannot really represent the beauty of the property. The rooms are white washed with lovely balconies surrounded by oleanders and colorful bougainvillea. There is also a lovely swimming pool and a beautiful terrace to sit and sip an aperitivo. This is a four stars hotel for the price of a three star. A real deal! My day always begun with a lush and abundant breakfast: fruit, cereals, cornetti, and a perfect omelet made by chef Anna. The beach is really close by and there are many lovely little bays with pristine water that are perfect for swimming and snorkeling at walking distance. Sometimes I had dinner at the hotel's restaurant which offers delicious homemade food with daily specials at convenient prices. Only in one day I felt part of a family. Big thanks to all the staff at hotel La Jacia. I can't wait to see you again next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arles74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My sister and i stayed a week at the hotel and loved every minute of being there.The two ladys on reception were the best they went out of there way to help us to the point of driving us to a place we couldnt get to they were truely outstanding and so friendly.As for the hotel grounds how amazingly relaxing and the smell of the flowers and path ways filled with rosemary bushes was somthing else.It was a week away from the waterpark opening and yet it was so peaceful i amagine it would get a little noisy when it opens so if your looking for peace go when its not open cause you still have a lovly swimming pool that we sat around in the day and we had a midnight swim and it was so warm.Again i carnt stress enough how great the staff are if you want to go somewere or want to do an activitiy they arrange it for you and explain where you go.
The only thing we could be negative about is if you book a taxi make sure you go to the girls at reception to book it cause we did it on our own and it was so expensive cause they see we was english.
Every way you turn your head you are looking at mountains its walking distance to the beach and the water is so blue and clear this hotel is a must but be sure to go at the right time understanding there is a waterpark there but at the right time of year you can have the most relaxing holiday.
It was that great we got two bottles of wine for the girls at reception.

Room Tip: I would say go for a higher floor room at the hight of summer because the walls are thin and you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hooch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

i was with my husbant and stayed 5 night in this hotel.what can i say about this hotel,it was like my dream come true,i was searching and preparing and googling,for this holidays which actually was ours honeymoon,so i wanted to spend it in all italian style,bcs im in love with this country.i have been in 5 or 4 stars hotels in Turkey or tunisia or croatia etc,and i can really compare this hotel with 5 star hotels,but recosrdindg to italian holidays,what i like to say is that the hotel la jaciaa was exxellent and fits totally to italian taste holidays,the walls wasnt thin at all,the roooms was separeted into diferent buildings with walls dekorated with flowers which flowers was every day cared by personels,room was soooo sardooo,soo italian,biig,clean,alwaays,hot water,big bathroom ,exellent view from our balconyy,,what can i say other...oh yea the breakfast,exxellent, i can still remember the tastee of hot and fresh croisants which i eated with nutella and milk,yuuumii...it is a clean and exxellent pooll,the hotel was soo agorturismo looking,and sooo near too,beaches,and the pizzerias or restaurant....i wiill remember this holidayyys in this hotel,after the baia sardinia we went to alghero which was smth diferent from baia,but comparing those two i will defeneetlyy return to baya sardinia and the la jacia hotel,which made my holidays exellent,p.s.the personel was exellent ,always helpful,thee onlyy thing i will complain is the payment for we-fe,which is not ok in nowdays hotels service.the other waas exxxelllentt,so if you are lokking for comfort,rest,italian holidays,you beter go to this hotel.
biig regards for the personel,from the tourists from Macedonia,maybe you remember as, :)))

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dea l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked 3 night and ending up leaving after 1 night. It was so bad without a refund!!! We had to find another hotel. The hotel is next to a waterpark which is really run down and most of the rides were closed. There is really loud music blasting all day long.

The hotel walls are so thin you can hear everything next door. Our shower was blocked when I took a shower water stared coming out of the toilet etc. Basically you were standing in poo. When we reported it to the hotel receptionest "Lucia" she said this is Italy nothing can be done on a Saturday evening.

Breakfast was vile the did not even have boiling water for tea. If you are late for breakfast they charge it to your room. If you need pool towels they charge it to you room. What a rip off.

I was traveling with my mum (70) and two small children. The manager "Andrea Galante" was dreadful he did not even help me carry my bags. Basically they did not care as we had booked via thier website and paid in full for the 3 nights.

Sardiana has some lovely hotels please do youself a favor do not stay hear you will be disappointed.

Dreadful!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobGeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea G, Direttore at Hotel La Jacia, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Dear Ms. RobGeeta,
this is Andrea Galante writing.

First of all i never walked you and your kids to the room because i never escort guests to the room and i don't even believe we ever met! So I don't know who did escort your party, but in any case, as the many opinions on the tripadvisor site prove, our staff is far from being inhospitable. If you had asked for their assistance, they would never have refused you. Hard to believe they did not help you as i have seen many times do more than that for our clients!

Second, It's written everywhere, on any website and of course in our website too, the hotel is adjacent to Aquadream. That's why many people come here and keep returning year after year. The music from the park is not really a problem since the volume respects the Italian Law.

Third, it's August! If the park had most of the rides closed, we will be out of business in a week. Really don't know which ride you wanted to go on, becuase apart the jumping basket - which is a pay per game and not a water ride - everything else is open and running!

Fourth, the plumbing problem did occur. This is true but it is also true we solved it in approximately 2 hours. Maybe in London they would have solved in 1 hour, sorry for the delay.

Fifth, the wall are not thinner or thicker than most hotels, and honestly, this is the first time i get this complaint. By the way, it happened to me many times to be staying at 5 star hotels such as Cipriani or Four Seasons or Carlyle and be able to hear the sound of the adjacent room.

Breakfast really is a full treatment, from freshly baked croissant, prosciutto, cheese, pastries, fruit and yogurts, juices, capuccino and espresso, etc, and an additional menu a la carte including omelettes or crepes, etc can be ordered up to 2pm. I don't understand how you did not find the hot water for tea, or American Coffee - it's the first items from the left side of the breakfast buffet where we have three dispenser for hot water, hot milk and american coffee. And with all due respect, in ANY hotel with complimentary breakfast if you miss the time they are open for breakfast you need to pay for it extra, IF the option is even available. This is true in London as well. We tell all our clients, the breakfast is between 8 am to 10:30 am. The time frame, I think, is a fair duration within which our guests can come to enjoy the breakfast buffet.

Finally, about ADDITIONAL towels - for the beach or swimming pool -, that's a service which is included in the DELUXE rooms, along with other privileges. You had a standard room that does not include this service according to our hotel regulations. In the document you signed at the check-in, it specifically stipulates this and says that the regular room guests can rent a beach towel for 2 euros (which is the price to wash them).

We regret you had a bad experience but believe that you are not being fair or honest in your evaluation of our services. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Baia Sardinia hotels
2.9 mi away
Airone Hotel
Airone Hotel
#1 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
459 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Li Graniti
Hotel Li Graniti
#5 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tre Botti
Hotel Tre Botti
#15 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
Grand Hotel Smeraldo Beach
#6 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Club Hotel
Club Hotel
#3 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
277 reviews
1.4 mi away
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
L'ea Bianca Luxury Resort
#2 of 23 in Baia Sardinia
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Jacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Jacia

Property: Hotel La Jacia
Address: Localita La Crucitta, 07021 Baia Sardinia, Arzachena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Olbia-Tempio > Arzachena > Baia Sardinia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Baia Sardinia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Jacia 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most of the rooms come with their own private balcony or patio, some with a breathtaking panoramic view of the coast and others that open up to the beautiful garden or poolside. While every room of the hotel is unique, all of them are furnished in the elegant and simple Sardinian style with your comfort foremost in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel La Jacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Jacia Sardinia/Baia Sardinia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing