We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rivalago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivalago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sulzano
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“September 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

We found the hotel to rival any boutique hotel in New York or London. A beautiful hotel with modern design and attention to detail in all aspects. The view from the hotel is captivating, and if you enjoy cycling it is a great location with designated lanes just for bikes. There are a couple of Riva boat shops near by for antique boat fans. The breakfast is very good with many options hot and cold. There is something about lounging by the lake and pool and enjoying a fine cappuccino.
We used the hotel as a base to visit the Lamborghini and Ferrari Factories. This property meets the expectations of a riva or a ferrari. You will be well looked after. The hotel staff suggested some lovely dining options in the area

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevlar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    60
    13
    1
    4
See reviews for
35
193
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Inspired by another review on TA we booked a week at Rivalago for a relaxing week in the Italian lakes. Arriving after dark in a hire car we discovered how difficult the parking was to access, and ended up asking the hotel staff to park it for us. We also discovered there was no food available after 6 pm, and trudged to the only nearby hotel serving food for a distinctly mediocre meal.

However the next morning after a delicious breakfast we looked around and were able to appreciate how beautiful the hotel and it's surroundings are. We found the staff charming and helpful, and decided to explore the area by boat and leave the car where it was for a week. The island in the middle of lake Iseo is opposite the hotel and easily accessible by ferry boat, proved to be the best option for dinner. There are several good restaurants, mostly specialising in locally caught lake fish.

So if you ignore the hotel parking (8 euro per night) and park in the street outside the hotel and accept that you have to travel for dinner the Rivalago is a very beautiful and well run lakeside hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Idyllic setting on the shore of lake Iseo, one of the most beautiful places in Italy. Hotel Rivalago offers modernity coupled with tranquillity and the best breakfast buffet I've tried for a long time on 3 continents. After a day's outing, the sunset is enchanting on the terrace or on the bank of the lake, or a quick, refreshing swim before dinner. The rooms are fine, although slightly smaller than average. The staff are very friendly and need to run fast in the late afternoons when serving sunset drinks. book early for a room with balcony. Rent a boat to go sailing on the Lake or stop of for lunch, drink and sightseeing on a nearby island. There is a magical quality to this area, and it is totally relaxing. Slightly expensive but in line with all else in the area.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is a steep slope down to the hotel from the road, so pack accordingly. Check out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anneCopenhagen660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a lovely retreat on Lago d'Iseo. The room was very comfortable with very nice furnishings. We were lucky to have a lake view which is a huge plus. The staff was pleasant & anxious to be helpful. All of the amenities are modern which gives this hotel a striking freshness. We enjoyed our stay & would happily return.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank June W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

This Hotel sits on the lake side of Iseo,perfect with views to die for.We came for four days and was not disappointed the quality of the room was first class we had a lake view a must when the sun sets over the lake.The staff could not be more helpful and always willing to please with information at hand which made our stay just perfect.Breakfast was extensive and all items locally produced nothing was to much trouble,as it was september there were no meals in the hotel at night but local places to eat and at good prices.We were sad to leave and will be back again our last visit was to lake Garda but try here more relaxing!

Room Tip: book a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Boutique style hotel in a serene location overlooking Lake Iseo. The decor is contemporary and unfussy. We had a room with a lake view and balcony which was definitely worth the supplement. It was wonderful to wake up to those idyllic views each morning. The breakfast was very good with an extensive range of continental products in addition to the typical cooked English selection. Lunches were also a good standard with an interesting choice of wines. The restaurant was closed in the evening as it was low season. Dining options in the area are adequate so this wasn't an issue for us. The hotel is spotlessly clean and our room was made up promptly each morning while we were at breakfast. This hotel is a great choice if you are looking for a relaxing retreat away from the hustle and bustle of city living.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have just spent four nights at this very special hotel which is right on the lakeside in a quiet position about five minutes away from the ferry.The hotel is immaculate,scrupulously clean and with very friendly well trained staff.There is a swimming pool for those who dont wish to swim in the lake and food and drink is served outside for those who wish it.The breakfasts were superb.
The restaurant was closed the evening we were there but the hotel suggested several local restaurants for us to try.do book a lake view room,the view is stunning and if you can afford it a junior suite.We shall return !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulzano
2.0 mi away
Relais I Due Roccoli
3.7 mi away
Iseo Lago Hotel
Iseo Lago Hotel
#2 of 13 in Iseo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Araba Fenice
Hotel Araba Fenice
#1 of 1 in Pilzone
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#1 of 1 in Sale Marasino
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
5.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella Iseo
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella ...
#1 of 4 in Clusane sul Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.0 mi away
Cocca Hotel Royal Thai Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivalago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivalago

Property: Hotel Rivalago
Address: Via Luigi Cadorna 7 | Lake Iseo, 25058 Sulzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sulzano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sulzano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rivalago 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering private beach area and water sports facilities, Hotel Rivalago is set in Sulzano, 33 km from Bergamo. Guests can enjoy the on-site restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and private parking is available on site. Every room at this hotel is air conditioned and is equipped with a flat-screen TV. Certain units feature views of the lake or pool. Each room has a private bathroom fitted with a bidet. For your comfort, you will find free toiletries and a hair dryer. There is a shared lounge, babysitting service, gift shop, and shops at the property. Guests can enjoy various activities in the surroundings, including snorkeling and diving. The hotel also offers bike hire. Sirmione is 45 km from Hotel Rivalago, while Garda is 49 km away. The nearest airport is Orio Al Serio International Airport, 31 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rivalago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivalago Hotel Sulzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing