We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting and Calm”
Review of Hotel Rivalago

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivalago
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sulzano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent three nights here right on the lake across from the Island and enjoyed the setting particularly.
. Hotel is more of a three star than four star (which it gets) in terms of rooms but the setting lifts it up one category. There were a few unpleasant surprises. The first was we were given a parking permit to park in the town's parking lot..in part because the hotel has very limited on site parking and it was going to be full with a private party on the weekend. This was surprise number two...the dining room, normally open six nights a week was to be closed on Saturday night....we were not told this until Saturday midday but the desk did suggest soom nearby restaurants that could be walked to...we actually had a wonderful meal (better than the hotel) at one a five minute walk away called Villa Rosa...if we had known about it earlier we probably would have had two, not one dinner there

Room Tip: Pay the extra surcharge for a lake view room and if available ask for a balcony/terrace as well The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol L. W.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was the 4th time we stayed at this beautiful hotel. The lady owner is very friendly and into personal care for her guests, as do all the personnel members.
This remains one of the most beautiful places in North Italy and I will return for sure.
The rooms (even if you don't always have lake view) are charming and comfortable with all you need.
The pool is literally at lake level and simply beautifully surrounded with a very nice garden.
Breakfast is a real pleasure as well.
Only remark is that the hotel outsources the evening restaurant to another party and that quality is not at the level that we would expect it to be compared to the hotel service and quality. That's a pitty. Better is to go out for dinner in the numerous nice lake view restaurants in Sulzano.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank LaurentBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Rivalago lets you fully enjoy the peace and beauty of the Lago d'Iseo. A room with a lake view is totally worth the extra cost. The staff are very friendly and attentive to detail. The breakfast is rich and excellent. The boat to Monte Isola departs from a nearby pier and takes only a few minutes. There is a heated pool, although we didn't get a chance to try it and hence can't judge it. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good and we received a bottle of wine to welcome us. Overall, I totally recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weeboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent and well placed as a base to explore the area. There are some lovely small towns all bursting with nice restaurants, shops and cafes. The ferry or river taxi service takes you to all the locations and keeps you away from driving if you want to have drink.

However, the most disappointing part of our stay was an evening meal at the hotel. They seem to be operating an outside catering company coming in of an evening to do the cooking. The restaurant was soulless, bright lights and the breakfast tables covered over with tablecloths. The service was slow and the portions very small. I had a rack of lamb consisting of two chops and a few cooked carrots and courgettes, the lamb had a crust on it that wasn't cooked properly so it formed a sort of powder. The rack of lamb cost 20EU. My wife had two dishes where the sauces contained some sort of thickening, not what you would expect from a decent Italian restaurant.

By contrast all the other food we had at other restaurants was excellent, the Villa Rosa, a short walk away was Great. This was the only down side to our stay, the staff were great and as I have already said the location wonderful. Oh talking about the location, it was a pig to get to, make sure you have some detailed instruction or a sat nav.

This won't put us off from coming back, and I can't see how the people who own this place can be happy with the restaurant, come on sort it out or get rid if it.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Rivalago May 3/4 and I must say the Hotel and it's setting is just beautiful, very friendly Stuff, can not fault the Hotel with anything!! It was a little difficult to find arriving by Car, we parked for 10 minutes at a Parking up on the Street (blue zone) to walk down to the Hotel so we could ask where to drive down to the Hotel Parking, and the Police had given us a Parking Ticket in the mean time:-( welcome to Italy! but Lago Iseo and the Rivalago made up for the Parking Ticket disapointment. We purchased a day ticket for the Lake Boat and spent almost all day traveling around the Lake getting off where ever we felt like, there are many beautiful little Towns to visit each one very charming. Lago Iseo is a Gem and so is the Hotel Rivalago, hope to go back one day!!
I am a Travel Agent from Ottawa Canada

Room Tip: Lake front for sure, well worth the Money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneVal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely hotel in a pretty location. Staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. Room was large and clean and felt fresh. Breakfast was great value and would shame many larger hotels.. Life doesn't get much better eating it whilst looking out across the lake. Not a huge amount of parking at the hotel but again the staff were quick to help with alternatives.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Unable to find a single thing wrong with this hotel. It is perfection in every way... From start to finish everything was spot on.

There was no check in at all, we turned up, they knew who we were and took us straight up to our suite. We later signed a small form at our convenience. So smooth, So easy.

The room was spotless, large and the terrace overlooking the lake was stunning. It was the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. To be honest it looked like nobody had ever set foot in it. Not even a scuff on any wall on any corridor.

staff were helpful and friendly and breakfast was excellent.

Hotel = 100% Perfection.

As for the area itself, we loved it as a one off. If you want peace and quiet then this is the place for you. Pretty much no shops, little in the way of restaurants and next to no English speakers which is not ideal for us useless English that have never learnt a foreign language. Having a hire car is a must as we had to drive to a super market to get some bits. We hired a boat and had a lovely walk around the island.... perfect peace if you like that kind of thing. I don't think its a particularly tourist centred place, aside from the lovely hotel staff we found most people quite unfriendly...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sulzano
1.7 mi away
Hotel Araba Fenice
Hotel Araba Fenice
#1 of 1 in Pilzone
323 reviews
2.0 mi away
Relais I Due Roccoli
5.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella Iseo
Romantik Hotel Relais Mirabella ...
#1 of 5 in Clusane sul Lago
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Iseo Lago Hotel
Iseo Lago Hotel
#2 of 14 in Iseo
487 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Kinzica
Hotel Villa Kinzica
#1 of 1 in Sale Marasino
244 reviews
3.2 mi away
Borgolago Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivalago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivalago

Address: Via Luigi Cadorna 7 | Lake Iseo, 25058 Sulzano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Sulzano
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sulzano
Price Range: $175 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rivalago 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering private beach area and water sports facilities, Hotel Rivalago is set in Sulzano, 33 km from Bergamo. Guests can enjoy the on-site restaurant. Free WiFi is featured and private parking is available on site. Every room at this hotel is air conditioned and is equipped with a flat-screen TV. Certain units feature views of the lake or pool. Each room has a private bathroom fitted with a bidet. For your comfort, you will find free toiletries and a hair dryer. There is a shared lounge, babysitting service, gift shop, and shops at the property. Guests can enjoy various activities in the surroundings, including snorkeling and diving. The hotel also offers bike hire. Sirmione is 45 km from Hotel Rivalago, while Garda is 49 km away. The nearest airport is Orio Al Serio International Airport, 31 km from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Rivalago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivalago Hotel Sulzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing