We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hideaway”
Review of Villa Arcadio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Arcadio
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
St. Wolfgang, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Hideaway”
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Villa Arcadio is a beautiful and peaceful, small hotel in the south of lake Garda. Sitting on a hill, surrounded by olive trees, you can enjoy the great views over the lake from the restaurant or the pool area.
Jaana, the owner, and her staff are incredible friendly and helpful. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are exquisite - no need to go somewhere else.
Our room (a superior room) was nice and clean, big enough for a weekend stay, with a great view.
If you are looking for a boutique style, family run hotel with great service and attention to detail, try Villa Arcadio - you won`t be disappointed.
Thanks for a relaxing stay - we will be back soon ....

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ballner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    26
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
99
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
BC Canada
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed there because of location and proximity to Monza for the Grand Prix this year. Jaana the owner is charming and is very much on hand in the running of the hotel. Our suite was outstanding, wonderful linen bedding and super soft towels. Sparkling clean everywhere. Beautiful views from our room #13 (sometimes there was a food smell from the kitchen below, but the food was so good it made up for it).
Lucca one of the staff was extremely helpful as where all the wait staff. Pool was freezing but refreshing.
Yes, we would go back and we are really fussy travellers.

The views from this Villa are beautiful...oh and the dogs are friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

This is a brilliant hotel. It's in a wonderful location overlooking Lake Garda and the view from the pool and terrace is spectacular. The staff are highly knowledgeable, friendly and service generally is top class. The food is wonderful and a lot seems to as fresh as can be, having been grown in the gardens. The hotel (a converted convent) has been renovated in a very tastful way so that rooms are modern and comfortable. The mangement/owners clearly pay great attention to detail and it shows. I would fully recommend it.

It's difficult to find any bad points but if I had to...it's not particularly cheap. Also, if you are a real sun worshipper, its position means the sun goes behind the hill it sits on quite early (530ish when were there in early Sept).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azucaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed here for a two night weekend break. When we arrived we were practically thrown into our room without a word. The lack of welcome continued throughout the weekend to the extent we felt invisible at times. The room itself was nowhere near good enough for the price we paid. It was smaller than we had expected and very basic both in terms of furniture and design. It looked nothing like the photos we had seen on the website. However, the view from the window was fantastic. We were also slightly disappointed by the noisy children by the pool. We appreciate that this is not the fault of the hotel but unfortunately it did impact on our enjoyment.

The setting, the outside areas and the restaurant were all fantastic. These alone cannot, however, justify the price of this hotel. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonViaggiatore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

Was looking for a spa hotel break in Italy for myself and Mum and saw reviews on TripAdvisor for Villa Arcadio. Their website had a 3-night deal including all expenses but drinks - expensive, but definitely worth it. Hotel had arranged a return transfer car from Brescia airport (approx. 25 minutes) and we were allocated a twin room (no 9) on the 1st floor - modern, clean, airy and with lovely views of the Villa's courtyard and the Lake itself.

Don't visit expecting to lose weight - the breakfasts and dinners were delicious - plenty of fresh ingredients and puddings/desserts were especially fantastic. Weather permitting, breakfast and dinner can be taken outside - stunning views. Absolutely freezing pool in June - you have to be brave! Relaxing spa treatments are taken in the Finnish sauna room located in basement. We were sent the timetable of treatments booked in advance - very efficient.

Salo town itself is 10 minutes drive from the Hotel - we took a cab for 11 euros - shops, good walking and even more beautiful views. If you want to travel further afield and use the Villa as a base you definitely need a car. The owners greeted us upon arrival and Jaana was there upon our departure to wish us safe travels. Perfect.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocQueen6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

I chose this hotel after reading the reviews and I was quite disappointed by it. We were there off season and that might not have helped.

When we got there there was one person at check in, we went to our room and didn't like it a bit: it was rather small, dark with a small window; bathroom was nice and good sized. I asked for an upgrading and I was told that was the top range! Come on, a tiny dark room is the top you've got? Not a good start.

The hotel is modern, clean, with a nice brekfast room although breakfast was nothing to remember.

As other reviews pointed out it's on top of a hill, nice surroundings but you always need a car if you want to move around.

It's not worth the price they charge, even if we had a special discount due to the off season it still was too much, not worth it.

Don't really understand what are all the ravings about.

Won't be back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

We stayed for just over a week (summer 09) taking three rooms. Rooms are well-appointed and carefully restored (monastic friezes etc.), the service is charming and willing, and the whole place is tasteful and sophisticated. Ask the owners about hiring their Aquarama - a fantastic experience! There are minor things that aren't 5* perfect but overall the feel of the place is very positive and enjoyable. Hotel food is very good but can become repetitive for longer stays. Great 'hidden' restaurants nearby if you get the right tips. If you're relying on taxis be warned that Salo is underprovided for. Overall the hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aprophet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salo
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
225 reviews
1.6 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#8 of 16 in Salo
134 reviews
1.9 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Bellariva Hotel
Bellariva Hotel
#5 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
261 reviews
1.5 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
267 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Arcadio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Arcadio

Property: Villa Arcadio
Address: Via Navelli, 2, 25087, Salo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Salo
#5 Luxury Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Arcadio 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Arcadio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Arcadio Hotel And Resort
Hotel Arcadio
Villa Arcadio Salo, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing