We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, terrible service”
Review of Hotel Duomo Salo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Duomo Salo
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Small rooms, terrible service”
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Rooms in this hotel are tiny. We ended up having to put half the furniture in the balcony to be able to maneuver around the room. 40 Euros on top of the 100 rate for an additional person in the room (total of 2) seemed over the top. Loved Salo but would not stay here a 2nd time. Desk staff were outright rude, refusing to help our friend in another room with a broken tv. The desk lady just waved for him to leave because she didn't have time. Restaurant staff were very nice but overall our stay here was not welcoming. We've dubbed this the 'hotel of Doom'

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Naya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    65
    26
    18
    9
See reviews for
28
97
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

In outseason I had to visit a fair in Garda Lake area. The crise closed all my precedent hoteles in uwinter. In this case I was forced to find other. By look i find this hotel. Warm,nice and clean with a professional staff realy imprest me. The location of the hotel is realy splendid and can be a nice hollyday destination following my oppinion in summer.Good brackfast in italian style.All of this are a realy great, outseasoun in crise time. I will recome with pleasure.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Iulian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Abbiamo alloggiato per tre giorni in questo hotel. Ottimo tutto, iniziando dalla professionalita' e dalla gentilezza del signor Corrado e a tutto il suo staf, per non parlare della cucina che ci ha deliziato di eccellenti cene. Ottimo hotel lo consiglio sicuramente. recensione della mia compagna Americana in inglese:
What a wonderful experience for me! I was welcomed with the beauty and grace that I anticipated coming to Italy. Corrado made our stay very warm and comfortable without being intrusive. The room was exceptional, clean and well managed. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious, and the location perfect and romantic. We will tell our friends and definitely return for another visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAVALE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

As with most older hotels the rooms vary greatly. We were 2 couples travelling together, When we booked the hotel had one suite and one standard room with a lake view. The standard room was the better deal, with a better view. The restaurant is quite good, the breakfast is excellent. The rooms are not 4 star, they are a very good 3 star, the furniture and beds need updating. The bathrooms are new and modern and kept very clean.

BTW don't rely on your GPS. To get you there. The hotel is on a walking street and they told us people using GPS always get lost. Put the Papillon Restaurant into the GPS and park in the lot across the street, walk down to the hotel, they will get the electronic post lowered and you can drive in to unload your luggage.

Room Tip: Book standard room with lake view on the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boone52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great location, staff are friendly and helpful, fairly small but clean rooms, no noise. The only downside is the AC. I was there in August and the room was roasting hot even with the ACs on. I stayed for one night only since it was an accidental find, but I would love to go back there soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Breakfast was good but dinner was awful. Although we were staying half board, we had no choice but eat out for almost all of our stay. Which of course meant we used a lot more of our budget on eating out.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newgirl1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

An absolutely delightful hotel, excellent location, rooms a little small but everything else about the hotel made up for this and with the staff so charming what better place could there be to stay and visit the delights of Lake Garda. This was an accidental find, a small hotel, no noise - apart from the lapping of the yachts ... and the music on the prom', which provided a delightful distraction in the evening. Would we return ? `You bet yer .... `. Nice, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salo
0.1 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salo
240 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#7 of 16 in Salo
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#8 of 16 in Salo
134 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gardone
Grand Hotel Gardone
#2 of 19 in Gardone Riviera
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Duomo Salo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Duomo Salo

Property: Hotel Duomo Salo
Address: Lungolago Zanardelli 91, 25087, Salo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Duomo Salo 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Duomo is located in a splendid position on the lake promenade of Salò. Pleasant homely atmosphere, professionalism and service, in a classical elegant modern 4-star hotel. Directly in the pedestrian precinct, quiet location next to the Renaissance cathedral. Famous and exclusive Restaurant Rosa in the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Duomo Salo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duomo Salo Hotel
Hotel Duomo Salo Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing