We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost some......”
Review of Hotel Laurin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Laurin
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Salo
Certificate of Excellence
Wesmtount
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lost some......”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed at the Laurin two years ago; service, hotel, food all was amazing. We went back early this Summer (2012) based on our previous experience and were somewhat disappointed.
The general service was not to the level of two years ago, nor the dining room at night.
The AC in our room was operating poorly. Sleeping was then not comfortable.

Room Tip: If ones goes, please ask to be in room #2 or all rooms or in the old part and not on the last floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hermani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    48
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
32
134
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel is simply the best I have ever stayed in! The pictures on the website are authentic but until you walk through the open doors of this hotel and experience the ambience you will never understand how wonderful it really is!

I walked though the rooms on the ground floor and each room was beautifully decorated each had its own unique style. The large reception room is breathtaking. I stood forever looking at the beautiful artwork on the ceilings and listening to the italian classics made me feel immersed in italian culture.

We stayed in La Dolce Vita and it was beautiful. I really felt like a princess waking up to the fabulous decor and the incredible view! Breakfast on the terrace was the best start to the day. Light lunch was always lovely as was dinner (although I found the dinner menu a bit pricey).

The staff are exceptional so friendly and helpful; particularly Nina and Sdra. We loved every minute of our stay and felt that we were visiting a family home it was an exceptional experience.

Our room was freshened every day and sweets were left on our pillows. It was so sweet!

If anyone is thinking of getting married in Italy you have to have your reception in this hotel. That room I described earlier is so exceptionally beautiful. I would nearly get married again to experience the reception in this room.

Thankyou to Mrs. Rossi and her husband for their wonderful hotel, their attention to detail, and their obvious investment in staff.

My next visit to Italy will involve Salo, Hotel Laurin and la Dolce Vita. The perfect trip to a perfect place!

Room Tip: La Dolce Vita has to be experienced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank gobi44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We already went twice to Laurin and was always excelent. The house is beautiful and very Romantik with amazing afrescos and delicious breakfast at the terrace. We highly recomend! ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovana l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The breakfast terrace is my favourite place, and my wife loves the fact that breakfast finishes at 11.00 every day. I had stayed overnight a couple of times earlier this year on business, and was pleased to return for three nights to tour the lake area. The rooms I have had were fine: clean, comfortable, but the views to the rear of the hotel are limited and I guess the best rooms face the lake. But it is the public spaces that delight and the quality of the staff and service. Breakfasts are of good quality and include eggs cooked to order, and sitting in the morning sun overlooking the lake is a real pleasure. We dined one evening in the stately, high ceilinged, frescoed dining hall; very good food, and wine, and service. There is a pool and loungers... the noise from the road intrudes a little. Old fashioned and that is a good thing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: a room with a lake view, will no doubt cost more...but if they are not busy, ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveloften47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

The Hotel is a huge Villa a bit on the outskirts of Salo. Only 150m away from the Promenade which is 4km long. Here you will find bars, cafeterias and Restaurants.
The Hotel itself has a very good Restaurant with a limited menu, good service and great rooms.
All in Art Nouveau style ( Jugendstil ). Painted walls and ceilings, huge windows and a view to the lake from the upper floors.
BUT... the drawback was, there was no heating in the rooms, not in the public nor in the guestrooms incl. bathrooms. As we were there mid Oct, the nights were cool to cold and we could not enjoy the view from the room without being under the bedcover.

Room Tip: we had a 'Dolce Vita' room with lakeview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have just returned from a great trip to Hotel Laurin. The Art Deco villa is just as it looks in the photos - very beautiful throughout, especially in the dining area and the entrance hall. We stayed in Room 2, which had a lake view window and a private balcony which was fabulous. The staff were the best we met on our tour of northern Italy - very helpful and knowledgeable. Breakfast on the balcony is lovely with a good selection of food, however the idyllic setting is somewhat tainted by the road that runs along the front of the hotel. Whilst it is quiet at night, it is noisy during the day - perhaps not the best if you plan to soak up the sun by the pool, although we gave it a whirl anyway.

Other than that, the hotel cant be faulted, and they do an unbeatable cheese board! I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel - great lake views. Get a balcony if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabelandalbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I stayed here with my wife this July for 7 nights. We really found this to be the perfect base for our trip to Lake Garda. The hotel itself is full of charm and the service really is excellent, nothing is too much. Breakfasts are excellent, with a large selection of cold meats and breads. This is followed by a selection of cooked to order breakfasts. We didnt actually get to eat in the hotel as Salo has has some excellent restaurants, in particular Papillon Pizzeria. THis is the 1st restaurant you will come to when walking to the waterfront from the hotel (3 minute walk). Each day as you relax by the pool you will be offered a glass of proseco, then a refreshing sorbet, all on the house. Nothing is too much to ask for. One point I will make is that the rooms with partial views really are small and a bit dated. We have been to Ital y before and this really isnt anything new as Most Italian rooms are smaller than Irish Hotel rooms. If you are like us and just sleep in the room then this reaally shouldnt be an issue. The larger rooms situated with direct views of the lake really are stunnin (managed to sneak a look), but unless you like sitting in your room all day on holiday I wouldnt be too pushed on upgrading.

Room Tip: rooms to the very front of hotel have excellent views of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank honestopinionDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salo hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Bellerive
Hotel Bellerive
#3 of 16 in Salo
225 reviews
0.4 mi away
Locanda del Benaco
Locanda del Benaco
#8 of 16 in Salo
133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salo' du Parc Hotel
Salo' du Parc Hotel
#13 of 16 in Salo
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
Aromi Piccolo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Salo
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Eden
Hotel Eden
#7 of 16 in Salo
337 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Panoramica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Laurin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Laurin

Property: Hotel Laurin
Address: Viale Angelo Landi 9, 25087, Salo, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Salo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Salo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Laurin 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Laurin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Hotel Salò
Hotel Laurin Salo, Italy - Lake Garda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing