We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a second honeymoon!”
Review of Villa Tres Jolie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Tres Jolie
Ranked #1 of 1 Trezzone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is my first review on trip advisor. Despite the best of intentions I rarely get around to posting reviews online. However we had such a great holiday I felt compelled to finally get around to writing a review, even if its 8 months late in coming.

We stayed at Villa Très Jolie in June of 2012; it was our first holiday after our honeymoon to the Carribean (in January) so it had a lot to live up to. I was a little worried that being not long after our honeymoon that it would pale in comparison. In the end however, we had such a great time it ended up feeling like a second honeymoon.

Villa Très Jolie surpassed all expectations. From the time we arrived we were made to feel right at home. Dani brought us each a glass of Prosecco to drink on our balcony whilst we enjoyed the stunning lakeside scenery. We stayed in two different rooms during our weeks stay, and both rooms were lovely, spacious and had stunning views.

The Villa has a very natural, friendly and relaxed nature to it. Prior to booking I was a little worried that Trezzone might be a little out of the way, but it proved to be a great base for exploring the Lake. Each day we would drive somewhere nearby, and then jump on to one of the many boat services that zigzag the lake.

One of the surprises of our visit, was how knowledgeable and helpful Dani was; it was like having a personal residential guide to the lake. From finding the right places to visit, to eat, to park etc. We really felt like we got the most out of our week, and ended up seeing the best parts at the right times. On one particular day we headed down for breakfast to find we had photocopies of timetables and a map, with a highlighted route of where to go and where to park. Brilliant.

If you are looking for a great day out, apart from the obvious choices around the lake, then a journey on the Benina Express is highly recommended. I would never have thought of nipping across the border to Switzerland for a train journey but it was breath taking. It was surreal starting the journey in warm t-shirt weather, and then getting to the top of one of the mountains and seeing snow, ice and mountain top lakes. Pretty much every stop the train made I wanted to jump out and have an explore.

From all of the places we have visited, this is one of our favourites. It has got everything right, whilst staying perfectly relaxed and not trying too hard. Thanks to Dani and co for a great holiday, and a special shout out to the lovely dogs as well, Judi, Dido and Lorenzo :)

We cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andrewrimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2012

Dani's warm welome to the Villa Très Jolie set the tone for a wonderful week there. With Dani's eye for detail and husband Giulio's carpentry and design skills we enjoyed comforts at the Villa that exceeded many de luxe hotels, e.g.amazing shower, great bedside reading lights. Dani is full of information about what to visit and where to walk. Giulio's dinners were delicious and beautifully presented. On the breakfast trolley the cakes made by Dani's mother are now among my baking recipes. We're hoping to find an Italian setter as perfect as Dido and Judy.
We thoroughly recommend staying at Villa Très Jolie.

Room Tip: We were in the De Luxe room - a very spacious room with superb views of the lake. We loved sitting r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Based on the reviews and pictures on Trip Advisor we decided to stay her for 3 days the beginning on October. It wasn't long enough! After staying in small rooms with small bathrooms in Venice and Florence this was truly luxury. A large, bright room with plenty of closet space and lovely white robes waiting for us on the bed and the spacious bath with a shower with multiple shower heads was wonderful. Everything was immaculate. It may cost a little extra to have a room with a view of the lake but it is worth it to wake up in the morning, go out on your balcony and just look at the glorious view. When we arrived, Dani showed us the main building where breakfast is served daily as well as the exercise room and hot tub and, after we had unpacked and settled into our room, we came out to the terrace where she served us some champagne or beer, whichever we chose, along with some snacks to welcome us. We asked about a restaurant for dinner and she had several suggestions. She is such a wealth of knowledge. You not only get information on where to go but how to get there and where to park.
The next morning we went down for breakfast and were greeted by a whole sideboard of choices. Cereal, juice, fresh hazelnut coffee cake & beignets made by Dani's delightful mother, fruit, toast, yogurt....the list goes on and on. Even soft boiled eggs with eggs Dani's busy father had gathered earlier from the chickens. If you leave the table hungry it is certainly not their fault!
We had planned to drive back to Milan for the day but Dani talked us into taking the train instead and she was absolutely right. She gave us all the info we needed to get the train to Milan and the Metro to the square where we were to meet our tour guide.
Another day we took the ferry to Menaggio, Varenna and Bellagio and spent an enjoyable day doing some walking to Castello di Vezio and through the house and gardens of Villa Monastero as well as doing some shopping in Bellagio. Just keep in mind that the ferry stops for the winter when the tourists leave. This was its' last run. Of course, we had maps and directions from Dani.
Because Trezzone is at the northern end of Lake Como, we were close enough to go over the border into Switzerland and poke around a couple of small towns, one very old and set up in the mountains. Need I say...Dani's suggestion. Besides this advantage, it is only a 3 hour drive to Zurich.
Are we planning to stay with Dani, her husband Giulio (who did lots of the work on the villa, a real craftsman) and her menagerie? Just as soon as our schedule allows!

Room Tip: If you just want a room (there are also apartments available) be sure to get one with a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank soxfanPaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked our stay at Villa Tres Jolie based on the reviews here and were at first a bit hesitant because it looked a bit far from the main towns on the lake. The minute we stepped into the place, however, all our doubts went a million miles away. The property is modern and very elegantly designed, and the view of the lake is amazing. Also, the owners Dani and Giulio are two of the warmest, friendliest people we have met!

We arrived by train into Colico where Giulio picked us up and drove us to the villa. There we were greeted by Dani, Lorenzo the dog, and Kath & Kim the goats! Dani showed us around the gym, turkish baths, jacuzzi, and offered us prosecco and olives on their gorgeous terrace.

Dani knows pretty much everything about the region and was extremely helpful. She always makes sure her guests are armed with a map and bus/ferry timetables and is full of great travel tips. Breakfast is really good - there is a wide variety and they are very generous! On some nights Giulio cooks dinner - he is an excellent cook and most of their vegetables are fresh from their garden.

There was no problem getting around - it's a short walk to the bus stop which will connect you to the ferries, or you can also take the bus around the lake. If you have a car, you can get around by yourself quite easily.

Our room was spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We will definitely be back for another visit!

Also if you are an animal lover you'll fall in love with the pets there! There are 3 dogs and 2 cats who are all adorable, friendly and so good-natured :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skywriter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Villa Tres Jolie is a lovely bed and breakfast that sits on a cliff overlooking the northern portion of Lake Como in the small village of Trezzone. What a beautiful location in a tranquil setting. This was our first visit to the region and it was one I would enjoy doing again. Danni was a wonderful hostess and answered every question in great detail before and during our trip. The highlight of our visit was organized by Danni, a trip on the Berlina Express viewing the Italian and Swiss Alps, glaciers and small villages. We could not have had such a wonderful visit without Danni guidance and suggestions. Her family welcomed us and we enjoyed lovely breakfasts with breathtaking views on the patio. I would recommend visiting Villa Tres Joie. If you enjoy nature, hiking and the beauty of Lake Como this is a great alternative to staying in the city.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe suite that included a wonderful kitchen and was on ground level. It is conv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryGreatLakesRegion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Danni, Giulio, Audrey and the gang (dogs & cats) make you feel like one of the family. Danni who had been a tour director in the past will furnish with you with all the information you need for getting around, site seeing, shopping or restaurants. Let her know what you want to do and she can tell you how to go about doing it. The rooms are wonderful with great views of Lake Como. Don't miss Giulio's cooking and family wine.

Room Tip: Choose the Mulberry room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gundthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We arrived at the railway station in Colico in the middle of a heavy rain storm, late at night. There to greet us with a huge smile was Giulio, Dani's husband. He drove us through the storm to Villa Tres Jolie, where a couple of glasses of wine had been laid out on the table in our room.

The room itself was marvellous. It consisted of the bedroom, a small lounge and kitchenette, dressing room and bathroom. Like the others, it has a view over the northern part of Lake Como.

We stayed ten days and so had the opportunity to observe Dani's routine. Each morning at breakfast she checks what plans each of the guests has, gets them maps, or draws them and has excellent suggestions (e.g. "Look out for the excellent cake shop here" "don't buy at the waterfront as things are much cheaper one road back").

The breakfast every morning was excellent and everyone was very friendly.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank msjhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trezzone
14.7 mi away
Hotel La Darsena
Hotel La Darsena
#2 of 8 in Tremezzina
835 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Bellagio
17.7 mi away
Filario Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15 mi away
Borgo Le Terrazze
Borgo Le Terrazze
#1 of 14 in Bellagio
821 reviews
17.2 mi away
Nest On The Lake
Nest On The Lake
#1 of 9 in Lezzeno
320 reviews
24 mi away
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
B&B Villa Le Ortensie
#1 of 2 in Molina di Faggeto Lario
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tres Jolie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tres Jolie

Address: Via Provinciale 33, 22010 Trezzone, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Trezzone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Trezzone
Price Range: $110 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast above the sunny shores of lake Como, just 150 mts above the lake, hot tub Whirlpool bath, Sauna, Turkish bath, gym, free mountain bikes, info point, library, all bedrooms are ensuite and all have lake view! Private free car park, Breakfast on the terrace with spectacular lake view, and lovely olive grove. Theme weeks with walking and wine tasting. Gluten Free and Vegetarian guests are very welcome, we have plenty of nice things for you to try! Pets (well behaved) are welcome. Home cooking and a warm welcome await you from Dani, Giulio and the pets ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Tres Jolie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tres Jolie Hotel Trezzone
Villa Tres Jolie Lake Como/Trezzone, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing