We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Paradise”
Review of Hotel Moderno

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Moderno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2008

This is a lovely little hotel set north of Bergamo. We went as a two family group - 4 adults and 4 children aged 8-13. The hotel is pretty isolated and is a hairpin ride on the people carrier we had hired. It is a family run hotel and Stefano quoted us a very reasonable price for upgrading our half board to full board. After experiencing the food you would not really want to eat anywhere else!! All the food is freshly prepared and most of the produce is from local suppliers. The local children played in the square every day and were most welcoming to our children who seemed to integrate well despite the difference in language. If you like spectacular views, mountain walks and photography, wonderful food and a convivial atmosphere then this is the place for you. The only downside would be a lack of local entertainment and a fair trek by car down the mountains to Bergamo or Milan.

Stayed: July 2007
4  Thank Kamikazesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Moderno
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 216 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2008

Had a fantastic time staying for 6 nights at Fuipiano, It's a small friendly hotel with fantastic staff and location (as per previous reviews). It's situated in the hills above Bergamo so you really need a car, but the directions from the Hotel website are spot on and once you've done the drive up the valley once it's relatively easy (i'd never driven abroad before). The hotel is really well signposted and easy to get to Lake Como and other places of interest from the Hotel. The old part of Bergamo is very interesting and there are some great walks in the hills around the hotel as well. We booked B&B but the food was that good that we ended up going back to the hotel every night for something to eat - couldn't fault it and it worked out at about 25 euros for 2 courses & 1/4 litre wine, water and coffee pp. It's a small village so it's not the place to go for nightlife but if you like the outdoors/exploring different places it's ideal.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank areyouhavingalaugh?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

We originally booked 1 night at this hotel, the rooms, the staff, the service, and especially the food were FANTASTIC, A day later we came back and stayed for two more days, stefano and his father were wonderful hosts.this hotel is about 50 minutes drive from bergamo airport, with a few hairpin bends at the end of the drive, but the views are well worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HAWKESBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2008

This family run hotel offers excellant service and accomodation. The food was very reasonable and of excellant quality.
The family do everything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We wanted to catch the bus to Bergamo, but the bus does not run from valle Imagna until 8th Jan, so Stefano - the son - gave us a ride to the next village and supplied us with bus tickets as you cannot pay on boarding. Great service.
The village is a little out the way, so really you need a car. We only wanted a short break to rest over New Year, so was not bothered about visiting other places nearby. But as a base, with a car, you could not pick a more beautiful location.
the village itself , although only 200 residents has 4 restaurants and six bars, all within 5 minutes of the hotel.
I could not fault this stay in any way, everthing about it was excellant!!!

Stayed: December 2007
3  Thank Hev1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2007

My wife and I (early 60s from UK) stayed for a few nights in May 2007. The hotel is easy and straightforward to find but at the end of a long, winding road. Public transport is very limited, bordering on non-existent if you ignore the school bus, and taxis may well refuse your business. Personal transport is, therefore, pretty much essential.
The welcome was very friendly and family members speak excellent English. The owners were genuinely keen to be as helpful as possible and would go well beyond the normal call of duty to solve their guests' self-inflicted problems.
The bedroom was comfortable and clean with views down the valley, as was the bathroom (apart from the view, of course). Neither were "luxurious" but much better than would have been expected for the price. Absolutely no complaints -everything worked.
The restaurant was comfortable and workmanlike - exactly as it should be in this sort of hotel. The food was very good and portions were generous but there's no problem in sharing dishes if you prefer. Thus we could have say a shared plate of varied antipasti, a shared big bowl of pasta and then a meat course each and leave the table with a little room to spare. There was a sensible short menu translated into English plus "tonight we have no minestrone but we have a rabbit special". I can recommend the specials whole heartedly, especially the snail stew. All of the dishes are local and traditional and cooked by someone who cares. The wine list was good and priced very well.
There are some pleasant walks around the locality with vast views down the valley. We would happily return for another relaxing break.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank HobbyTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2005

Situated only 50 mins from Milan (Orio al Sero) airport, this hotel is at the top of the Imagna Valley in a small picturesque village of only 200 permanent residents. It is the place to go for peace and quiet, walking in the hills, chilling out, relaxing and enjoying the beautiful scenery.

The Canella family, who personally run their hotel, gave us a friendly welcome to this spotlessly clean establishment and accommodated our every need. The hotel is basic and comfortable but where is really excels is the menu of home cooked traditional italian food which is mouthwatering and some of the best tasting dishes I have tasted in Italy. The menu is varied, freshly cooked and portions are generous with a good selection of wines to compliment. The restaurant is well supported by locals from nearby villages and it is lovely to sit amongst them and get a realy feel of Italy.

I have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending Albergo Moderno to anyone wanting to stay in this area and not afraid to put on a few pounds after sampling the superb table.

14  Thank Sandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Gianluca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fuipiano Valle Imagna
1.7 mi away
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
#1 of 1 in Rota d'Imagna
1,166 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Villa delle Ortensie
Hotel Villa delle Ortensie
#1 of 2 in Sant'Omobono Terme
265 reviews
6.4 mi away
B&B Sopra il Portico
B&B Sopra il Portico
#1 of 1 in San Giovanni Bianco
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Papa
Papa
#2 of 3 in San Pellegrino Terme
84 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel San Gerolamo
Hotel San Gerolamo
#1 of 1 in Vercurago
84 reviews
13.0 mi away
Orobie Alps Resort
Orobie Alps Resort
#1 of 1 in Roncobello
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Moderno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Moderno

Address: Via Dante Alighieri 2, 24030 Fuipiano Valle Imagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Bergamo > Fuipiano Valle Imagna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fuipiano Valle Imagna
Price Range: $38 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Moderno 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is located in Fuipiano Imagna,a small village, situated at the top of the Imagna Valley, 1019 meters above sea level. In this little place, sine 1959, Canellas Family has run this Hotel called 'MODERNO' and they still do their best to look after you as well as possible during you stay at the hotel, especially with their traditional cooking. The Hotel has 16 rooms with phone, Television, Free Wifi, private bathroom and panoramic balcony. Hotel is 30km from Bergamo and 40 from Como Lake. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Moderno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Moderno Fuipiano Valle Imagna, Province Of Bergamo, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing