We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The True Italian Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madonnina Albergo Ristorante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cantello
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“The True Italian Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at Madoninna for a week in the mid of August 2013. It is a beautiful place a couple of minutes from the motorway, ideal for a stop over or even better for a week of wonderful holidays. You can choose between the morbide charme of the old albergho or the New York Loft style of the new building where they have a lovely roof terrace with a small but very refreshing swimming pool. Great views from the terrace over the hillside.

We stayed a the modern building, huge room with two queensize beds, nice bathroom and air conditioning. everything was clean though of course a lot of concrete, wood, and minimal style like I mentioned a bit meatpacking district boutique style.

Madonnina is famous for weddings and other events, they have the perfect party locations.

The owners Roberto and Carla are the best. They are full of heartwarming hospitality and you happen to feel like in family. Also the other service staff was very friendly and helpful.

The food was delicious. I lived for two years in Italy and therefore know to differentiate between true Italian cuisine and Tourist Staff. here you get genuine Italian food, always fresh and always home made. Usually I do not care for dessert, but here the pasticciere was wonderful. Also Pasta, Meat and Fish were of the utmost quality.

I can highly recommend staying at Madonnina and we will surely return. It is a great place just 10 minutes from Foxtown (for shopping) twenty minutes from Lake Como and an Hour from Milan. So there is a lot to see and to do. But if you rest on the beautiful roof terrace you suddenly forget about shopping and Sightseeing.

Grazie Carla, grazie Roberto

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thomas_muller_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    36
    17
    0
    3
See reviews for
61
46
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Incredible place, to be seen, the friendliness of the staff and the excelllent table is a must do!
It's an hidden jewel, you arrive in an Albergo from another time and then you discover a modern building with room, a pool and a solarium.
And also such a friendly owner, whos tells you great stories...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philippe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

This has been my third trip to La Madonnina and once more, as for a repeating Broadway play, reality surpassed expectations. Let me tell you first about the restaurant and the food. Palate, smell, and vision were the first ones to be rewarded with the feast of colors, aromas, and tastes presented in our dishes. The season of asparagus! This time the menu was all you wanted to taste with asparagus and beyond: asparagus, asparagus and more, the embarrassment of the riches. My selection included: asparagus with trout and a superb vinaigrette, asparagus in millefeuille, asparagus with foie gras and a single, divine, giant raviolo filled with ricotta and an egg over a divine julienne of… asparagus! A real must. The food seemed even better that the previous times, when I thought that, with the freshness of the best ingredients and the precision in cooking then, perfection had been reached. The list of wine is very nice and extensive. Prices are reasonable. The ambience and the spaces of the restaurant are diverse: from the conservatory, to the stark, newly renovated “kirche”, to the warm, beautifully restored, old post house. All share a very pleasant marriage of eclectic furniture, whimsical structures and playful design! 
This is also reflected in the bedrooms that are deceitfully simple, each one with their one style, but all pleasantly decorated with lots of vintage fittings. The park and the swimming pool were also nice additions to our stayings. In all my three visits, I found the staff highly competent, attentive and welcoming. The owners were always extremely pleasant, warm, clearly passionate, and entirely committed to the whole enterprise. By talking to them, it was clear that both restaurant and hotel are a real labor of love. Finally, the location of La Madonnina is very “strategic”: between the lake Maggiore, the lake of Como, the lake of Lugano, a few miles from the Swiss border, nearby the Malpensa airport. The landscape is lovely, hilly and green in the Italian Prealps: a real haven of peace and tranquility, just a few miles from the buzz of Milan, the throbbing heart of the Italian economy. Indeed, La Madonnina is the ideal place where to recharge the spirit, the palate and the body in any season.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felice79_55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bern
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed at the madonnina for the fourth time - and first time with our 2 kids (baby and toddler).
we were given family room in the hotel (vs. silk mill) and slept very well.
The room was big, clean and well heated. The beds were very confortable, our eldest slept in a proper little bed (instead of the average travel cot you are given at most hotels).
The bathroom was very nice with a big Whirpool (4 "seats") and a HUGE rainshower (no way we could even THINK about testing them - we were in bed at the same time as our kids).
The breakfast was very rich: coockies, bread with marmelade, scrumbled eggs, fresh ham, cheese, fruits, orange juice and really good coffee.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maiabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Some time ago a trendy designer must have convinced the owners that the new could be bolted onto the old - namely a coach house a couple of hundred years old. So atmospheric bedrooms are complemented by space age bathrooms. Go figure. But put that aside, we had a good nights sleep and the restaurant was excellent. It was a stopping point from one side of Italy to the other and it did the job, just like it did in the old days. I think by the way it would be delightful in good weather - something we missed out on.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastersretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

we stayed at the Madonnina at the beginning fo September 12 for 5 days and had a fantastic time.Our flight had been delayed meaning we arrived at 11.00pm having not eaten since lunch The sat nav found it OK and it was about 40 minutes from Malpensa airport.
On arrival Roberto offered us a fabulous cold buffet and then shown a choice of accomodation, which in hindsight may have been because he was hosting several weddings over the weekend and the alternative may have been less noisy. We actually went for what we had booked - a family room,and in reality, we were hardly bothered by noise from the functions.
As in previous reports the Hotel is very quirky with fascinating decoration which may not be to everyones taste but to us, it was a unique experience. The family rooms are in a converted silk mill just across the road from the main hotel. They have plenty of room, ours had a wet room, 2 TVs and a massive balcony with beautiful sun loungers. On the roof of the building is a fabulous sun terrace with a swimming pool. Robert explained that it was not yet finished but it will be a wonderful asset when it is.
The breakfast was great and kept us going most of the day. We ate dinner in the Restaurant one night and we thought the food was wonderful and reasonabely priced.
Unfortuately the weather was not kind to us but we found the hotel a great base. After visiting the handy shopping centre in Varese to buy jumpers, We visited the villages and villas of Lake Como, Lugano and Locarno and Stresa on Lake Maggiore. None of these destinations were more than an hours drive and the roads were good and parking easy. We did not go to Milan but we understand it was very accessable from the local railway station about 5 minutes away. If you go to Locarno do go on the cable car and the chair lift to see the views of Lake Maggiore, it is expensive, but well worth it.
Roberto helped us with our plans most mornings which was very welcome and the whole family made you feel at home.
We would definitely return and highly recommend if you want to experience a real Italian Albergo full of character and charm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveller32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Former Post Office (1700'), family-run hotel added many unusual properties around since. Comfortable and sophisticated, yet calm and refined. Just a dinner there is worth a trip.

A special treat - talk to Roberto, take his advise about surroundings.

Family with older children
Geneva, Switzerland

Room Tip: K-line will bring you to loft-size rooms in building across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cantello
0.7 mi away
Impero Hotel Beauty & Spa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Cascina Canova
Hotel Cascina Canova
#1 of 1 in Uggiate-Trevano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
5.5 mi away
Hotel Morgana
Hotel Morgana
#2 of 6 in Mendrisio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Colonne
Hotel Colonne
#3 of 23 in Varese
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Cruise
Hotel Cruise
#1 of 2 in Montano Lucino
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ungheria Varese 1946
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonnina Albergo Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonnina Albergo Ristorante

Property: Madonnina Albergo Ristorante
Address: Largo Lanfranco da Ligurno 1, 21050 Cantello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Cantello
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cantello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madonnina Albergo Ristorante 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An ancient post house, is situated in Cantello, an italian/Suisse border town near Varese and a quater of an hour away from Lugano and Como and a hour of Milan.Its interesting geographinc position places this establishment between natural green parks and the blues of numerous lakes in the Alpine Foothills : Lakes Lugano and Como , Varese and Maggiore :not only greenery but also intertaiment fun parks , swimmingpools, golf-clubs ,popular sales outlets ans shopping malls.And for art lovers local area offers interesting cultural sites such als Castelseprio , Castiglione Olona and Sacro Monte and the villas and gardens of Varese and its province.It's ideal for a little break before setting out for italian destinations of world interest as well as beinga crossroads of flavors . Culture and scenic beauty typical of the region which the Albergo Madonnina invites you to enjoy to through its special offer ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Madonnina Albergo Ristorante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonnina Albergo Ristorante Cantello, Italy - Province Of Varese

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing