We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian welcome”
Review of Tenuta Cusmano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tenuta Cusmano
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Located under twenty minutes from Rome's Ciampino airport, Tenuta Cusmano is a idyllic and tranquil location with views that stretch as far away as the Vatican itself. The grounds, garden, trees and pool are obviously the result of a family dedicated to delighting their guests. As we were shown to our apartments we could hear and see a rather joyful game of volleyball being played under the trees in the convent next door. It feels like a happy place. None of this is the best of Tenuta Cusmano. Maurizio Cusmano epitomises Italian warmth and welcome and for him and his assistant who checked us in late as we arrived from the airport, I can only wish success. The apartment we stayed in had two balconies, both of which give out onto the incredible views. The decor and layout of the apartment was somewhere between charming and a little dated, but this is not a purpose-built luxury resort but a family hotel. We were recommended a traditional Roman pizzeria which was as good as we were told it would be. Unfortunately for us we were travelling on the next day, but I believe anyone who has stayed here and returns to Rome willingly stays anywhere else. We'll definitely be back and for longer.

Room Tip: Reserve a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnTupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 283 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2014

This hotel deserves it. A quiet oasis, not far from Rome. Large rooms, fantastic roomy pool and sun bathing areas, vineyards and that's just for starters. If you want to relax away from the hussle of central Rome, this would be a great place to be. We are on our way to the Amalfi coast and wanted somewhere different. Grottoferra town has great restaurants ( ask Mauricio for a list) and there were no other tourists, and great little villages to visit ( very close to Frascati ). Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try out Sonia.( The rooms are named). Great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank markgoyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

I have stayed in many hotels in my life this by far was one of the best, the room quality was perfect very clean comfortable beds and pillows.
The room had an amazing veiw over looking the valley and vine yard very beautiful, so beautiful we stayed for an extra few days.

Maurizio the owner was very kind and enthusiastic he was above and beyond helpful, ' very friendly as we're all his staff , our breakfast was good quality food served every day with warmth and professionalism.

The pool , well what can I say delightful, with amazing view.

We will definitely stay again

Room Tip: Every room in this hotel was a dream
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 832Alison62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Small beautiful hotel with lots of character. If you stay at this hotel ask for the 'Sonia' room, it has a huge balcony and the most stunning view of Rome. Maurizio and the staff were incredibly friendly, welcoming and helpful, going above and beyond to make our stay very special. Should we ever return to Rome we will be visiting Maurizio and his team again!

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Wee stayed for 2 nights and loved our stay. Big comfortable rooms with comfortable beds and great views looking out to Rome. Very clean, and great service. Maurizio the owner was very friendly and helpful. He Made our stay very enjoyable. The pool was also great. Went for a trip round the lakes. Loved Nemi, which grows the smallest and sweetest strawberries! Tenuta Cusmano was a great place to base ourselves and just explore the outskirts of Rome.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for two nights at the end of our holiday and I don't think I have ever been so enthusiastically welcomed to a hotel as here by the owner. We arrived early as the weather was so bad and were given complimentary coffee, fruit and cake whilst he checked our room was ready - it was. Our room was a little small but that didn't really matter as the balcony had a wonderful view over to Rome and the adjacent vineyards. Everything was really clean and comfortable and I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for the price. Breakfast was fab and it was so nice to be offered freshly cooked eggs as well as all the other things on offer. We asked to try their own wine one eve and were given a complimentary bottle of Frascati, which was wonderful. Such a shame the weather let us down and we weren't able to try out the pool, which did look very inviting. Good local restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for two nights with our daughter at the end of our Italian adventure. Firstly the owner Maurizio is a credit to his business and chosen field, he was so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for him. When we arrived he made us feel like we had dropped in to see an old friend. The property is gorgeous and we spent relaxing afternoons by the gorgeous pool looking out over vineyards and 20 hectares of beautiful land. The property is outside of Rome but because we had a car it made it easy to visit and then escape back to our sanctuary. The rooms were perfect for us and the little balcony was a great spot to enjoy a glass of red at the end of the day. Breakfast was always bountiful and we never left for a days adventure feeling unsatisfied. The little town of Grottaferrata is to far to walk to I think as it is about 1km away but is a fairly busy road, but it is easy to drive there. My daughter loved being able to run and explore the gardens after a day of museums and history in Rome. Thanks Maurizio for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tsvmummuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grottaferrata
1.9 mi away
Villa Tuscolana Park Hotel
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
Park Hotel Villa Grazioli
#3 of 4 in Grottaferrata
539 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Mercede
Villa Mercede
#1 of 14 in Frascati
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
Hotel Castel Gandolfo
#1 of 6 in Castel Gandolfo
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Verdeborgo
Hotel Verdeborgo
#2 of 4 in Grottaferrata
83 reviews
0.8 mi away
Locanda dello Spuntino
Locanda dello Spuntino
#4 of 4 in Grottaferrata
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta Cusmano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta Cusmano

Address: Via Anagnina 20, 00046 Grottaferrata, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Grottaferrata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grottaferrata
Price Range: $126 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tenuta Cusmano 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tenuta Cusmano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta Cusmano Italy/Grottaferrata, Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing