We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Experience in Grottaferrata”

Taverna dello Spuntino
Ranked #6 of 120 Restaurants in Grottaferrata
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $39 - $67
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Special Experience in Grottaferrata”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We could tell by the amount of visitors from Roma that this restaurant was going to be special and it lived up to our expectations. Warm atmosphere, delicious food and plenty of it - lamb chops in rosemary and garlic, and orange Tiramisu were wonderful. The wine was reasonably priced and excellent. An authentic Italian experience - the little statue of the Madonna in the front of the building such a lovely, typically Italian effect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    289
    88
    44
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“what a gem!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

fantastic food, fantastic service and amazing dining experience and not overly priced - top tip only order 1 of each course for 2 people as portions are masive (waiter suggested this) loved it! (also has a hotel attatched which i wished we had stayed in)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank discerning09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frascati, Italy
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very abundant portions”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

serving very refined food and wines and producing very important food-bills at the end of the experience

Helpful?
Thank venessamalachim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly restaurant”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We found the Taverna a very friendly restaurant. As we didn't speak much Italian so were given a english translated menu but it was quite difficult to read (the font) and the translations didn't quite make sense. I would suggest leaving this until you are familiar with ordering an Italian meal but is then definitely worth the visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Perfecto! Could not have asked for a better experience.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

It's difficult to add anything new to the existing excellent reviews of this restaurant. The review from member SaraManiBucate sums up my thoughts perfectly. Every morsel of food at this charming restaurant was a culinary and sensory delight. After having 1.5 days of our vacation ruined due to WindJet Airline's loss and subsequent find of our luggage, we came here based on a recommendation from our hotel (Grand Hotel Villa Fiorio - thumbs up) to have a celebratory lunch and we were rewarded with amazing food, enchanting atmosphere and outstanding service. It greatly exceeded my expectations and perfectly captured the area's charm and gastronomic delights.

Our server, Carlo Parigini, went above and beyond with his attention to detail, charming, proficient and professional service. After we finished our lingering meal, he gave us a personal tour of the restaurant's ancient wine cellar. He melted my heart with his kindness and restored the happiness to our vacation.

If you are looking for a place with charm, great food and great service - look no further.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LvtrvlLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna dello Spuntino also viewed

Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
 
Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
 
Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
Grottaferrata, Province of Rome
 

Been to Taverna dello Spuntino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing