We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastico”

Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890
Reserve with
Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $166
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastico”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Had a stunning meal here. Was staying in Positano and drive was well worth it. From being greeted, to mama guiding us through meal, meeting chef, and the wine stewArd, nothing was less than top notch. This was our fourth two sat restaurant in Italy and easily the best. Made to feel welcome and the tour at end of wine cellar was wonderful. Started meal at nine and pulled out of the driveway at two AM. Time flew. Recommend unconditionally for anyone near the Sorrento peninsula

Helpful?
Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    93
    36
    22
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely the Best restaurant on Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We drove one hour from Ravell to eat here and we have tried a lot of Michelin restaurants.
Forget the other ones, and set aside 3,5 hours for a true and clean Gourmet meal. Ingrediants are local and herbs are grown around the corner. Two brothers with passion - and I mean passion - is running this place - ask for their advice - do not pretend you are an expert here...
Food is traditional and genuine - only the best ingrediants are used. We did choose some local White Wine (Fiano d'Avellini) and let the brothers choose the menu. A fantastatic meal and and excellent service. Waiters are local and not true proffessional, but that we considdered charming - they did their best and did run like hell. We tried all the other Michelin restaurants in the region - but this one was the best of the best rerding both food and athmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Klaussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a wonderful meal here - Fish was great and service very good for the busy time we were there on a saturday night.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank 186470Maryc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ethereal dining in Sant'Agata”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We dined here with friends during our stay in Sant'Agata in September 2012 and had an excellent experience. This was our second visit to this restaurant (having first gone in 2004), and the experience this time was more pleasureable than the first. The first impression upon entering is an extremely well decorated dining room and a gracious reception by one of the proprietors. The food takes its roots from the local area: tomatoes, zucchini, basil, mozzarella and the excellent seafood. However, this is food from the Campania region that goes far beyond that in both execution and presentation. The lobster tempura was certainly the star fo of the first courses, although the mozzarella souffle with tomato and basil was a remarkable take on the caprese salad. Pasta courses are artfully done and all quite delicious. And the secondi, while minimal in quantity, were excellent. The pork prepared three ways was quite good as was the tuna and the lamb. Wine service is off the charts in terms of both quality and quantity. They also have an extremely knowledgeable sommelier in Maurizio who is happy to provide you with his thoughts on wine at various price levels. We asked him to select a wine for us and produced an excellent Taurasi that was reasonably priced. Be forewarned that there is nothing "inexpensive" on the list, although there are relative bargains. The desserts are quite good, but unless you are going for the tasting menu, there is little need to order one as they will provide you with a very nice selection on cookies and small patries at the end of the meal to have with your coffee. This is a special place for special occasions that anyone who can afford it should try at least once.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bryan561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
311 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Enogastronomy tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The place, the decoration, the service , the wine list, the owners present all the time, the chef always present

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890 also viewed

Sorrento, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 
Vico Equense, Province of Naples
Sorrento, Province of Naples
 

Been to Ristorante Don Alfonso 1890? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing