We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 Weeks stay”
Review of Hotel Delle Palme

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Delle Palme
Certificate of Excellence
Portgordon, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1 Weeks stay”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The hotel was clean, room well equipped with television and en suite. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Would have liked tea or coffee facilities in our room.
The breakfast was continental but could have been improved with some yogurts. The evening meal was not exciting and would have been improved with perhaps a selection of fresh fruit as it is in plentiful supply in the area of St. Agagta.

Room Tip: Would not advise extra to pay for balcony as very small and noisy when raining
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellepalme, Proprietario at Hotel Delle Palme, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Mrs. Veronica,
thanks for the appreciations, we do always our best for our customers.
The staff is really good and helpful.
About the bar-service in the room we can just say that is enough to ask and it also is possible.
About the fruit in our long experience of hotel-keepers we noted that most people prefers to change avery day and that they like also italian icecreams and cakes expecially who is not on diet. Anyway also here it was possible to ask for fruit and nobody would say . " not possible".
Berlieve me, every year we have about 3.000 customers stayng in our hotel and we work hard to try to let them spend a good holiday but sometime people has other problems and so they are not serene and fair in their judgement. Never mind the life goes on anyway and the hotel is always full up.
All the best and cordiality to your sweet family.
Luigi and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    92
    31
    15
    1
See reviews for
46
131
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Hotel excellent Staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. Evening meal could hpave been hotter served on cold plates and vegetables overcooked, but didn't spoil the holiday.
Trips out were very good but why such early starts?
Went with Newmarket holidays who hadn't told us how long it would take from Rome to get to hotel so after waiting over an hour for non existent passengers it was over 6hours befor we arrived at detination.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter. very clean and lovely swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 93douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellepalme, Proprietario at Hotel Delle Palme, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We thank you for the very good vote and for the compliments to our staff.
About food " served on cold plates and vegetables overcooked " we specify that our food is cooked at the right moment , it is really freshly cooked every day!
So we do not need ( and it is not italian custom ) to have hot plates.
We also are sorry for the long travel from Rome and for early-rising trips but this is not absolutely our problem.
Have nice time and thanks again.
The management and the staff

Hotel delle Palme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took a trip with my 84 yr old mother to Santa Agata last week with Newmarket Holidays. We departed from Manchester to Rome to be met by the company rep and transferred by coach to the resort, which is fine except they told us that we would reach our destination in three hours. Five and a half hours later we were still on the coach! My mother was ill on the transfer due to the length of the trip and winding roads but the rep was helpful. We arrived at the hotel and given the keys to our room which was VERY small. Situated on the ground floor right behind reception, this deemed to be the noisiest room in the hotel. The shower was tiny, banging elbows as you moved around. The beds were as hard as rock. Putting this aside we decided to have a good holiday. The hotel staff and owners were lovely, nothing was too much trouble. Food wasn't great but, "when in Rome" and all that. We met some lovely people and had excellent organised trips. Our rep Guiliana was lovely, very helpful. We wouldn't have seen half of what we did without their help. Capri was the highlight of the trip for my mother without a doubt. She even took the chair lift to the summit from Anna Capri which amazed everyone, I'm very proud of her might I add. The only thing I would do different is to fly to Naples, this is a shorter transfer time. I would return to this hotel without a doubt and recommend it to other travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janetteelizabemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I must be careful that this review is not marred by the appalling treatment we received from Newmarket Holidays, who cancelled our original holiday two days before departure and offered us the one we felt we had to accept or lose out financially due to insurance costs, airport parking costs and loss of business due to my having to cancel a week's worth of appointments. Anyway,I quite liked this hotel. It is the sort of place where Hercule Poirot would be very much at home, and, in fact, I half expected him to appear at any moment. It is far from being a modern hotel but is more than adequate. It's location is not perfect. You will need a bus or a taxi to get anywhere, unless you have a strong desire to walk. Food was not quite what I expected, unless Italian cuisine for that area permitted tomatoes and lettuce to be served with gravy.
Rooms were spotless and smelled clean. Staff were superb, nothing was too much trouble for them. I was interested to hear that the staff don't get a day off. I asked one of the dining room staff when it was that she would get a day off and the reply was ''October.'' So please remember that your hard working staff will have began work at about 6.30am and will often be working all the way through to about 10pm. Every day !
We booked an excursion every day and these included a trip to Pompeii, Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Isle of Capri and the Amalfi Coast excursion. These are often hard work and heavy on the feet. I had every intention of paying for the excursions by credit card, but Newmarket don't accept them, only cash, which made a big dent in my wallet. Exchange rate is very poor at the local banks, so I have been told. About .80 Euros to the pound. The hotel was slightly better. Glad I bought mine in the UK.
Something to consider when you go on an excursion is where you eat lunch. Your tour guide will suggest that you eat at a certain restaurant at one of the locations you visit. It will often be a set meal and will cost you 13 Euros. Some of us decided to visit other restaurants nearby and found that in most cases a nice meal could be had at a lesser cost. But it is up to you. Some people were saying that the tour guides are on commission from the restaurants concerned, but I have no evidence of that.
My wife and I were very disappointed that our original holiday, which included a stay in the Rome area, was cancelled by Newmarket and I can't say that I enjoyed the holiday we accepted. But the Hotel Delle Palme and the friends we made there helped soothe our disappointment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DGD352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellepalme, Proprietario at Hotel Delle Palme, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thanks a lot for your very good comments about our hotel and our wonderful staff.
We always try to do our best and you have surely noted that our noticeboard is full of letters complimenting and thanking us, in particular from our english guests.
Our staff are hard working but due to the severity of italian law actually only work the number of hours permitted by their contract ( Italy is not China !).
We have been working with NEW MARKET for over 20 years and we have always received maximum collaboration and correctness from them.
We have noted the complaint about the trip to Rome and about paying cash for some optional excursions.
The kind and efficient representative has pointed out to us that most excursions are pre-paid in England but cash payment is requested for few optional excursions here; as the low nunber of requests does not merit the expense of having the machine to accept credit cards and also pay the high bank commission,
We were sorry about the cancellation of the Rome holiday ( surely justified) but in exchange you were able to visit places of unique history and incomparable beaty ( Pompei,Vesuvio,Herculaneun,Positano,Amalfi,Capri,Sorrento and our small but lovely Sant'Agata sui due Golfi)-
Since the time oh the GRANDTOUR our area has been known as SIRENLAND thanks to the famous writer G.N. Douglas.
Lastely , as to transport in the area we have the local blue buses wich are economical and link Sant'Agata to Sorrento and Positano in 20-30 minutes.
New Market is very careful about their choice of hotels , locations and guests requiriments.
The fact that many guests return is a sign of the good choices made by NewMarket.
As to their representatives ,guides,the attraction of our beautiful area, the Italian gastronomy and the warm welcome that guests are given.
It only remains to thank you again and we promise that should we have the pleasure of having you again as our guest you will find Hercule Poirot to personally welcome you.
Have nice time!
Hotel delle Palme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We've just returned from our, now, annual visit to the Hotel delle Palme where the welcome from Luigi, his family and staff was as friendly and helpful as ever. Our room and the hotel as a whole were spotlessly clean, the food was delicious and plentiful and the relaxed, peaceful atmosphere of the hotel and Sant Agata itself worked its usual magic at the end of a long and busy English winter. The village sits high above Sorrento with breathtaking views across the Bay of Naples to Vesuvius on the one side and to Capri and the Gulf of Salerno on the other. There are a profusion of wild flowers here and there is a lovely walk from the village with its small, attractive shops and places to eat, down a steep and winding path through groves of lemon and olive trees to the noise and bustle of Sorrento. Over the years we've discovered many other wonderful walks in and around Sant Agata and this has added to the numerous reasons we've returned again and again to the Hotel delle Palme. For information about walking trails in the area/group walks etc and to download a walking map go to www.freeramblers.com and follow the links. There is also a good local bus service from Sant Agata to other small towns and villages on the peninsular as well as to Sorrento with its railway station connecting with Pompei, Herculaneum, Naples etc. One last point, the Hotel delle Palme has a wonderful swimming pool, the perfect antidote to a long walk or a visit to Naples or Pompei. We'll be back again next year we hope!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Like Pat & John my friends and I travelled with Newmarket to stay at the Delle Palme. I had read reviews and was concerned about the food - totally unfounded! We were impressed by the variety and standard as well as the willingness of staff to arrange meals without tomatoes/mushrooms for my friend and I. Meals were wholesome, freshly prepared and very well served. No complaints there. The staff are all extremely efficient, friendly and eager to please.
My single room at the front of the hotel was comfortable and spotless and I had no problem with any noise from the road. My friends' rooms at the rear were equally comfortable. Yes, the hotel is 'quaint and rather colonial' but this added to its charm for us and we would certainly return there.
My complements to the owners and staff who made our stay so successful and enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mary d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellepalme, Proprietario at Hotel Delle Palme, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks a lot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thetford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have just returned from a week here with Newmarket Travel. After reading mixed reviews of the hotel we went with an open mind. We were very pleased with the friendliness of all the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. We had a room at the front but did not have any problems with noise at all. The room was perfectly adequate and spacious and very clean. We would have liked tea making facilities in the room but that is a british thing! One review said that they were disappointed about no english speaking TV channels other than CNN. Most people do not go to Italy to sit and watch TV. We had lovely food and something for everyone and different choices every day. At least it was all fresh cooked local produce and not frozen food that most places in UK seem to use. All in all we enjoyed our stay there and if we ever go back to that area would certainly stay there again. Thank you Delle Palme

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
561 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
989 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
3,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Reginella
Hotel Reginella
#11 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delle Palme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delle Palme

Property: Hotel Delle Palme
Address: Corso Sant'Agata n.32, 80064 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delle Palme 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 4 stars - Parking- Swimingpool -Free wifi- Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Delle Palme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Delle Palme Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing