We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not go. Full stop.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Would not go. Full stop.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2006

We were recommended this hotel despite having a 1-year-old baby for whom there was nothing to do. He loved swimming but the pool was far too cold for an adult to go in, nevermind a young child. The room was tiny, the smallest on the floor according the the plan on the wall. We were put in there despite the hotel being almost empty. The only other guests were older couples. No problem, but no other kids for our son to play with.

The town at the back of the hotel is basic at best with Sorrento itself far too far away to walk (and too dangerous due to very twisty roads & Italian traffic).

The hotel is really shabby & tired. Towels supplied in the room were like bed linen. Furniture & rugs in the main foyer/ bar area look completely battered & moth eaten.

We were only there for 1 week but decided to shell out for a 2 night trip to Rome just for something to do, the hotel had no form of entertainment at all. We also went on trips to Pompeii & Herculaneum, brilliant days out. These and Rome were the only highlights of the holiday. Easy to get to by bus from the hotel to Sorrento (if it arrives on time or at all!) then train. Cheap too.

To be honest I think we were given bad advice as this was a terrible hotel to stay in with a baby at that time of year.

I was really disappointed as we had heard great things about Sorrento, sadly our hotel was not actually in Sorrento. If you are looking for somewhere nice to stay in Sorrento I have heard nothing but good things about the Hilton Palace. And it has a heated indoor pool too.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nikih1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    209
    89
    55
    11
See reviews for
110
266
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel - but can see why it has varied reviews! The location is simply fabulous and would earn this hotel 3 stars on its own. Yes the rooms are old fashioned and dark, but cool in the heat and clean. The road up to the hotel is a trip I will cherish.
We liked the food but are aware that some people have very high standards. I would say that it was like good home cooking - but they are more sure-footed with italian dishes. They must try to cater for early risers though - we had trouble with early breakfasts too (lots of trips and excursions start early).
Fun too was the 'real' italian town hidden behind the hotel - some good restaurants and v. convenient shops.
We found the staff friendly - a little Italian goes a long way. The problems mentioned with the courtesy bus may be true but there is also a good SITA bus service that could have been used by the respondant - I certainly would not have liked to walk to the hotel, not for a bet!
On balance, we liked the hotel and would use it again. The sooner the better.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Superfliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2005

Because of a delayed flight it was midnight by the time we arrived at the Jaccarino.The staff made us feel very welcome and we were offered a meal even at this late hour.The view from our balcony was stunning and I would advise anyone who stays here pay for this luxury,it is well worth it.Sant`Agata is a small but attractive town and we enjoyed the walk down the old road to Sorrento,although I would not advise any unfit person to attempt this,it is very steep and undulating.
The food was good without being outstanding,my wife who is a vegetarian was very well catered for.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful.We will definitly be returning to the Jaccarino,if only for that wonderful view

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2005

We stayed at this hotel betwwen 27th September and 1st October 2005 and were very diappointed at the it's standards as follows:
1 – the Jaccarino Hotel is in a desperate state of repairs and is badly run down
2 – there is no Air Conditioning anywhere in the hotel
3 – the windows and doors are not double glazed
4 – the hotel is swamped by mosquitoes, flies and other crawling insects
5 – there was no mini bar / fridge in the room
6 – there was no shower in the bathroom and the sanitary ware were very old and dilapidated with broken tiles, toilet and taps
7 – with the exception of a small outdoor swimming pool there were no other leisure or sports facilities in the hotel.

The hotels has been rated by Citalia as a four star hotel, but Thomson’s and Thomas Cook have down graded this hotel to a three stars hotel, but frankly is more like two stars and worse.

Good luck

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2005

My husband and i stayed at this hotel in september. It was our second trip to Italy and i really hope it won't be our last.
Having read some reviews before hand i was rather worried about
staying in this hotel. However with the exeption of a couple of very minor grumbles, we would both agree that our stay was a very happy one.
What were our grumbles, well we did ask for a balcony with a view, we got
a balcony but the view was of other balconys. As we booked our holiday rather late we couldn't really complain, and we didn't pay for a sea view.
Actually after a while it didn't really bother us to much as sitting out there
in the evening with a glass of wine was very nice and peacefull.
My husband found the evening meal to be okay, but i have to confess that i found it rather strange. Not what i would really consider to be typical
Italian food. But i have to stress that we were never hungry.
The courtisy bus was available everyday.exept Sunday, but contrary to what we were told on arrival the local buses run everyday including Sundays. There is a brilliant train and bus service and trips out under your own steam are much cheaper than if you go with Thompson. The staff
were very very helpful and the other guests were very friendly.The village of st agata[ 2 mins walk from the hotel is very lively at the weekend but
there isnt an awful lot to do there in the evening.
All in all i would say that your holiday is what you make it and if you want
to be in the heart of the bustle and noise then avoid this hotel. If
however you don't mind peace and quiet then this is the place to be. As for
the hotel itself forget those two grumbles. because i for one would
certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank leatherjacket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2005

Have just returned from a week staying at the hotel. Would definitely reccomend, even though there were some minuses!

On the plus front: Breathtaking location. Our room looked right out across the bay, with Versuvius in the background... awesome!

A really good location to be based explore the cost. Local bus/ train and ferry links are all easily accessible. Really glad we were based slightly outside of Sorrento. The village itself is cute with many nice restaurants, including the amazing 3 Michellin star Don Alfonso (a must!)

The staff are just sooooo lovely and could not be more helpful.

Great pool, wasn't too crowded early Sept.

Our room was lovely, but ask if possible for one of the rooms by the pool. These are more recently refurbished.

The minuses

It is true, when we went the food at both breakfast and evening meal was very...VERY dissapointing. Lunch from the poolside cafe was better. HOWEVER this really didn't matter, as we really enjoyed popping out to the village or into Sorrento to try something new... hey, that is what holidays are all about!!! This would not deter me from staying at the hotel again, I'd just go room only or B&B next time that all!

The mozzies were a big problem when we went, and we were quite badly bitten... didn't ruin the holiday, just be prepared, that is all!!!

All in all the pluses, the view and the warmth of the staff far far outweigh the niggles... Can't wait to rebook!

Other highlights:

Capri (we stayed overnight, which is highly reccommended) Check out the Weber Ambassador if you do this! Such a magical place

Pompeii ... Awesome! VERY hot and dusty! Hat, loads of water and suncream a must!

L'Antica restaurant. Our favourite restaurant in Sorrento. Exquisite food and wines, the loveliest staff... A real 'foodie' treat.

Don Alfonso - As above

Enjoy! It is a truly magical place.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hcbn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

When I arrived with my grandaughter (maybe our last holiday together as she is growing up too fast)....we were very disappointed with the room.Having paid the extra to Thomsons for a balcony it was still very dark and musty with no air conditioning (which really should be essential).We requested a room change immediately however the hotel was full.
On waking the next morning( not so tired) and listening to peoples converstaions...... "our" room wasnt too bad.
The view from the terrace of the bay of naples is absolutely breath taking and made up for other disappointments.
Staying at this hotel you need to be "active"....steps to everything!!
The small village St.Aggata is well worth a visit( a short walk from the hotel) all of the bars and shops were cheaper than the hotel.
Took a couple of trips with Thomson (VERY EXPENSIVE) ...but loved CAPRI.Could have done it for half price under our own steam though.
Our first visit to Italy which should by no means be compared to visits to other european countries (spain etc) as its a completely different culture...no english bars,no lager louts,very smart dress....what a very pleasant change.
A wonderful country.....would certainly visit again however would most probably not stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank nes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Property: Hotel Iaccarino
Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing