We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old style hotel with excellent service”
Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely old style hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed October 15, 2009

A lovely hotel set away from hustle and bustle of Sorrento so very peaceful after days out exploring the likes of Pompei, Vesuvias, Amalfi Coast and all the other interesting places to be seen. The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble, food in the restaurant offering a good choice, nicely served and very appetising. The staff were always smartly dressed and the layout made us feel we were dining somewhere special.
Lift to all floors but still steps to negoiate to the rooms as the 200 year old original building is a villa gradually extended over the years.
Our room, although on the small side, was very comfortable and cleaned to a high standard. The shower in the bathroom caused problems as it proved impossible to prevent water going everywhere so thank goodness for all the extra towels (changed daily) to mop up the excess on the floor - not sure if this was just a problem for us or occurred in other rooms.
The lounge is huge with comfortable seating but very under used, the reason being that the price of drinks is astronomical so people tend to take a stroll up to the village. This is our only complaint about the hotel as after an excellent meal what could be nicer than to sit in the lounge/bar to enjoy a relaxing drink and socialise with the other guests but not at extortinate prices. The loss of revenue must be substantial so think again owner and then it can be reported that you have the ideal hotel.
All in all excellent with just the warning about excessively priced drinks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Englandtraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    214
    92
    56
    12
See reviews for
116
273
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NANTWICH CHESHIRE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We thought that the hotel was in a lovely location, after reading some very negative reviews regarding dogs howling, and cocks crowing, how can a hotel be held responsible for such things. First impression of the lounge and reception area , was nice bright and clean. staff were helpful and freindly. The bedroom was a little dark , which cannot be helped as it was in the eves, the bathroom was in need of updating, although the view over Naples was amazing especially at night. We have been to Italy several times and the food was average and not the best. we have experienced, but was always served hot. Also read that some people had found it a struggle to get into Sant Agata , we think they must have gone the wrong way , as it is a nice stroll down a footpath that takes only two minutes. There was little entertainment at night but this could have been because we were slighty out of season. Pool area lovely, lovely views, very relaxing. Buses are a little unreliable if going to Amalfi or Positano, but found them reliable into Sorrento. We will be sure to return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNTON98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have broken our golden rule of not returning anywhere a second time, and have just spent a magical week in Sorrento, or St Agata to be precise. After our first visit two years ago, where we stayed at this wonderful hotel, we could not wait to return, and we have not been disappointed! The view from the terrace of Vesuvius is worth the trip!
The same wonderful staff are still there, and you cannot fault the excellent service, not only in the restaurant, but the bar and reception as well. A special thank you to "two scoops", who made us laugh every evening trying to persuade my husband to have dessert! The rooms are kept spotlessly clean, and each one is individual, not like the modern boutique hotels!.
Although it is a little way out of the town of Sorrento, and can be a bit quiet for some, that is exactly what we look for, away from the constant bustle. However, there is an excellent courtest bus that will drop you in Sorrento, and the local bus service is frequent.
I am sure that we will reurn again some time, as this has to be the nicest hotel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana1952Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

Hotel Jaccarino thank you all! Your staff is the best - We loved our wonderful, helpful front desk staff. As embarrassing as it is that we speak very little Italian we do try our best when we travel to lear a bit of the local language. It was so helpful that many of your staff spoke at least a bit of English. We especially want to thank your front desk staff - Including the blonde American lady who gave us wonderful local tips of things to do and see with the limited time we had. We also loved our bartender, Pasqual, as well as the entire wait staff. The service was perfect - Just the right amount, always anticipating our needs without being intrusive. The food was very good. The views from the pool, bar, patio and dining room were amazing. We found you with our I Phone and booked our reservation as we drove in to the area. St. Agata is such a sweet little town. High elevation, above Sorrento lends to lovely views and breathtaking winding drives along the Almafi coast - FUN! Our room was one of the best values we'd experienced throughout our trip from Barcelona along the coast of Spain, France and Italy....*Keep in mind, best VALUE..This was not a trip filled with luxury hotels. They can be found all over the area of well over 200-400E..THIS hotel has more amenities and better service and views than anything in it's price range. Thank you, thank you! ~ Deb and Kevin Cooper

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank debkcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Lovely hotel and setting is fantastic, we had booked and paid for a sea view room with a balcony which was really nice but other people who obviously hadn't paid extra for this were complaining and demanding to be moved. I feel this is unfair as you have the option when booking to pay for one of these rooms so why expect to be moved to them free of charge. Hotel is spotless as are rooms, food is good in fact too much for me so I rarely ate a dessert. Pool area is lovely and plenty of sunbeds. The down side is the price of drinks, vastly overpriced and noboby drank there at night most people went into the village and drank at Orlandos which is a fantastic local bar. When we came back at night the barman would be sitting down watching the television as he had nobody to serve. I don't understand why the hotel doesn't realise if drinks were cheaper people would stay and sit on the terrace enjoying the view. We did not have wine with our meal as I do not drink wine but we had a bottle of water which cost 3 euros, in the local supermarket a large bottle was less than 1/2 euro so it was a bit of a rip off. It's true about the dogs barking and the cockerel crowing but you are in the countryside so what do you expect. All in all a good holiday and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WelshLady78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2009

We found the hotel to be quite pleasant, clean and tidy. Communal areas were lovely and very clean. Our bedroom was small and to the rear of the building with no view or balcony and uncomfortably warm due to a lack of air conditioning. However, what we did have a view of was local life which included all the noise of the comings and goings of the local people, but it was good to see and certainly did not spoil our holiday.
We found the food to be acceptable but the bar prices were quite steep which did not affect us as we took the very short walk into Sant Agata each night. The bars and restaurants were very welcoming and the prices much more reasonable. Also, a perfect spot for people watching as the locals all congregate in the square and the streets at night chatting.
The hotel minibus service is really helpful for getting to Sorrento but if you don't want to tie yourself to a time the local bus service stops outside of the hotel and will take you to Sorrento or along the Amalfi coast line.
As with previous reviews we would suggest sight seeing under your own steam as places of interest are all easily accessed via the local bus, boat or train service at a fraction of the cost of those organised by the tour operators.
Whilst we had a lovely holiday and the staff were helpful and friendly, were we to return to Sorrento I do not think we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EPMCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2009

There is a beautiful view from this hotel... but there are beautiful views from every other hotel in the area, so it's hardly a selling point.
The blonde American woman at reception is very unhelpful. She'll happily tell you that there are beautiful beaches along the Amalfi coast... but only mention they're only accessible by boat when you return from a very unsucessful 3 hour drive trying to get to one! I think our experience at the hotel would have been much better if they employed a more welcoming and helpful receptionist!
The hotel is bizarrely noisy at night! In the daytime the area is peaceful and quiet but the second it gets dark the dogs, roosters and mopeds just go crazy!
The rooms we had were spacious, nicely decorated and clean but the beds very uncomfortable - take your own pillow.
The food at dinner was average to poor, and although the breakfast buffet was alright the coffee is very strange, tasting more like caramel than coffee... Our main issue with the hotel was the prices - 3 euros for 1L of water is ridiculous! (Tap water isn't available). The 'snack menu' at the pool consisted of cheese toasties for 5.50 euros, which weren't even nice.
If you are going to this area I'd say go B&B as there are loads of lovely restaurants where you can have dinner, and try to stay in the actual town of Sorrento.

Finally the average cost for a sunlounger is 11 euros, and you're not allowed onto the beaches unless each member of your party buys one, so be prepared for this!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
927 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
387 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#33 of 100 in Sorrento
3,160 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Property: Hotel Iaccarino
Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing