We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Italian hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Iaccarino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Iaccarino
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly Italian hotel in fantastic location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had a fantastic time at the Jaccarino which we stayed at on a B&B basis. The breakfast was good with plenty of choice.
The reception staff were very helpful and when a transfer for a boat trip failed to pick us up arranged rapid alternative transport to the marina and got the boat to wait. Full marks for this service. Also we were all offered sea view upgrades for all 3 rooms, however I was happy with the room I had(48) so did not take up the offer.
All rooms and common areas were spotless and the beds were comfortable.
Sant'agata is a lovely town with plenty of good restaurants and bars and more relaxed than Sorrento.
Ravello is a fantastic place to visit and can be reached by two buses, one to Amalfi and then another to Ravello. This was a journey not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat_Pete53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    209
    90
    56
    12
See reviews for
112
268
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

what a wonderful place to stay! we stayed for 4 nights wish it could have been longer and cannot wait to go back. The staff treated you like family and really went the extra mile to assist and help. We got a room upgrade with the best view of vesuvius and the coastline just magnificent!! the hotel pool was fantastic. The hotel resturant food was just OK. breakfasts were really good. location in the hills is just magic with the small towmship of sant agata just up the road whoch has some wonderful resturants and very friendly townspeople. Rooms were really nice and spacious.

Room Tip: roome with the coastline view are much better and on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Just got back yesterday and got to say that we don't usually think about visiting the same place twice but we will be back here. Hotel was as someone else mentioned a little tired depending which side you look at (the back I guess you could call it looks awful but the front, the side facing Vesuvius is lovely). Our room had big balcony facing the pool and the view of Vesuvius was breath taking, the night view of the twinkling lights was beautiful across the bay. We had a very large room with a big king bed and a single bed. The furniture was big and substantial, enough drawers and hangers for all our stuff for the week, en-suite was white and blue and very clean, a little old fashioned but went with the charming interior of the old world charm of the hotel. Our room was cleaned every day and clean towels provided, the cleaning staff were very friendly when you see them, they are always there in the background being discreet getting on with their job. Staff were very friendly and helpful, don't know why some reviews say otherwise as we always found them to be helpful and pleasant. The pool area is lovely with plenty of beds available, never had trouble finding three beds together. You can also get towels at the pool café instead of using beach towels or taking towels from room. Food in café is very nice, cheap and plentiful. We only went to restaurant once and food was very good, waiting staff were plentiful and very helpful and friendly. Sant Agata itself is a considered a village, I would say a busy wee town. It has about 4 or 5 restaurants which served very good food although very much of a sameness. In particular we liked Beunos Aires, although it does not look much the food is delicious. The Gelato in one of the Gelato shops was to die for especially the dark chocolate fondant one. There is a free bus from the hotel to Sorrento, think it goes 3 or 4 times a day, it takes 15 minutes or so and allows you hours to wander around the beautiful Sorrento. We also took a public bus to Positano which is well worth a visit, a beautiful town on the Amalfi Coast, houses painted ice cream colours on a very steep hill leading down to the sea. Well worth the treck, we got the bus which was surprisingly on time and modern but full to the brim to the town from across the road from the hotel due Golfi, this takes you to town at the top of the steep hill where you get a small internal bus to the bottom of the hill where you are free to explore the cafes, shops and tiny cobbled streets and then get the small internal bus back up to get the public bus back to hotel. Buy bus tickets from local tabacchi shop in Sant Agata for just over 7 euros each person for a 24 hour ticket which gets you to Amalfi, Sorrento and Positano in a 24 hour period. Would not use the local tours as it is much cheaper get public buses and water taxis rather than pay for a tour and that way you can stay as long or as little in a place as you like. Would recommend for pastry and coffee in the morning/afternoon from the Blue Moon bar Café, coffee is delicious, pastries to die for and the owner is lovely. Also recommend the Bar Central for the same, delicious coffee and pastries. Would recommend this hotel and Sant Agata. We even talked of maybe selling up here in a couple of years and moving there it is so lovely and the people are very friendly. Although don't think I would drive as the driving is a little erratic. Most cars have bumps and scrapes all over them and after watching them weave in and out of oncoming traffic and parking in spaces a few inches smaller that their cars I can see why. It is a little scary on the bus when you get passed on the winding bendy mountain roads by cars and mopeds on the tight bends with what appears a cavalier attitude to safety and oncoming traffic. Would go back and highly recommend. One thing I forgot to mention, beside the hotel is flats and apartments with either gardens or allotments, in one of the gardens is a cockerel which heralds the morning starting at about 4ish in the morning and does not stop for hours, every few seconds he would let out another strangled cock a doodle doo.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with balcony facing sea as the other views not so good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got back yesterday while this hotel is In beautiful place. ,I got to look at the back yard from my balcony .for solo people they do not have a sae view. . I found out after I got there , the hotel staff are as miserable as possible ,the person on the desk called Laura is the most unhelpful person I have ever met .tompson sales rep only interested in sales of trips , plese if you are on your on do not go there .. Sorrento is so beautiful. ,say some where else's .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bet26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have just returned from this hotel where I have been on several occasions. All I can say is it has unfortunately changed from a good hotel to a poorly run hotel where there is no such concept as customer service.

The staff all seem very down and when you ask them for something it is greeted with an attitude of 'it's a problem, i can't be bothered'. The evening meal was poor, food piled on a plate and no real taste. The atmosphere in the restaurant was terrible and the staff were very miserable and at times very rude. Added to the fact that we found a caterpillar in our food, I say no more.

Breakfast was ok but after drinking tea or coffee we had stomach pains which I think is from the water. However, it could be the cleanliness of the glasses which had a particular aroma about them.

The hotel is very expensive and you have to pay for everything including WIFI. The main positives are that the views are very good and the pool area is lovely.

Shame, we won't be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Iaccarino provides a totally relaxing experience, in a charming, traditional and restful surrounding. It offers one of the most picturesque views you will ever see, across the bay to Vesuvius. The staff are wonderfully helpful and always willing to put themselves out to make your stay as pleasurable as possible, whether its sorting dinner reservations or setting up your late night tea tray before going off duty. We have visited numerous times both as a couple and as a family, and it never disappoints. If you want to truly unwind there is no better location. The hotel offers an excellent four star experience at a reasonable cost. We look forward to seeing Mr Martello, Laura and the team next year.

Room Tip: Pool view worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel Iaccarino looks slightly tired from the outside, but when you enter the huge sumptuous lounges, it has the Italian feel of elegance. I agree with previous comments about differences in staff friendliness; the restaurant staff are mostly happy and friendly, the restaurant would benefit from a 'deputy' maitre d' to take orders at busy times.
The busy little town of Sant Agata is lovely, with 5/6 bar restaurants serving delicious food (Gregory's, Buenos Aires bar and Bar Centrale) and Orlando's bar and ice cream parlour (home made ice cream to die for!). Regular perfomances in the town 'square' (it is in fact triangular!) are a treat - we had a teenage musical, childrens ballet and dancing, and on our last evening an orchestra and singers (a bit like the 3 tenors). These performances are open to all and free.

Room Tip: We paid the extra for sea view and bacony - and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullGirl246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
1.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#32 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais
#4 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Iaccarino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Iaccarino

Property: Hotel Iaccarino
Address: Via Nastro Verde 4, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Iaccarino 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Iaccarino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iaccarino Hotel Sorrento
Hotel Iaccarino Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing