We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“simply the best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
North Humberside
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Like so many people we had read the reviews of the hotel prior to booking our two weeks stay - and on every level it exceeded all expectations. Every member of staff was very friendly, helpful, and welcoming - with a special mention to 'our friend' the Voice on reception! (Hello!) The food was delicious and plentiful, the room kept spotlessly clean and the pool area was totally relaxing with often just the 'sound of silence' or the twitter or birds in the background.
The hotel operated a small shuttle bus into Sorrento which we used on quite a few occasions and just towards the end of our stay, it was being changed to a larger vehicle and different timetable to accommodate the approaching higher season. We used the public bus back from Sorrento on a couple of occasions but they did not seem to run too frequently and so we were more than happy to book our return journey at an appointed time on the shuttle bus - which worked very well for us.
Sorrento itself is extremely picturesque and atmospheric and we never tired of visiting it - but we were so pleased to be staying in our hotel way up the hillside, which was so peaceful, relaxing and with totally stunning views. The 'private pathway' to the nearby village of St Agata was charming and literally took just 5-10 minutes to walk there. The village offers a Church which is well worth a look round, quite a few nice restaurants to sit and watch the world go by, some little shops and banking facilities and leads to some very pretty walks to have just a gentle stroll. It is then just a simple return walk back to the hotel or, alternatively, the bus also goes to Sorrento from the village.
Visits to places of interest can be taken by public bus or train from Sorrento and the staff on Reception were very helpful in recommending those which were easy enough to do by yourself and which would be best suited to an organised trip. During our fortnight's stay we visited Pompeii, Herculaneum, Rome, Capri and a drive along the Amalfi coast, all of which were brilliant.
All in all, we had a truly magical holiday and a wonderful stay at the hotel, where we felt we arrived as guests and left as friends. Definitely we would not hesitate to return here and very much hope that we will have chance to do so again in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 513, a sea-view on the highest level and it was perfect. The views were stunning a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LydiaNorthHumberside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    270
    73
    32
    7
See reviews for
238
464
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Myself and my son had a fabulous few days at this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and all spoke good English. They were extremely helpful when it came to advise on trips to Capri and Pompeii etc. We took the train from Sorrento to Pompeii and the hotel took us down into Sorrento and picked us up at an agreed time (This is a free service). The Hotel is set up on top of the mountain side among lush gardens...a beautiful relaxed setting. The views are fantastic! There is a village a short walk from the hotel that has a variety of shops, cafes and bars. We were half board, the food was good, plenty of it and if you didn't like anything of the menu (Choice of 3 dishes for starter and main) they offered an alternative such as a chicken breast or something. They also had an a la carte menu which looked to have plenty to choose from. The food prices in the area were not too steep, so if I were to go again I would probably try B&B there as I like to explore and try different foods typical of the area I am staying. The rooms were basic, cleaned every day and had a tv and wifi (Extra cost of 2 euro a day for Wifi in the villa - which is where we stayed). Pool is nice and clean and my son had a lot of fun playing pool games with the friends he made there. We also enjoyed playing table tennis on an evening to work that dinner off. All in all I couldn't fault the place and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Villa Romita (2 Minutes walk up from the Hotel along the private drive/garden) in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tandfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Wow we had read all the reviews before going and I thought it was too good to be true. Well I was pleasantly surprised, they were attentive, accommodating, helpful and friendly. It seemed nothing as too much trouble, we arrived just before the kitchen closed but they still managed to get us a couple pizzas. The next day we got down to the pool and the bar\kitchen was closed but they still managed to put something together for us. All the staff from the manager through to the barman the check inn staff and Franco and Tony who made sure our luggage was at our rooms and got us safely into and from Sorrento daily on the complimentary shuttle bus. Then there is the serving staff they were the also fantastic. I would go back there in a flash.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room as they have the best views ever. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

This hotel was located about 8km from Sorrento, up a steep and winding road. We couldn't call the hotel on arrival so had to take a local bus up. Drivers in Italy don't help load heavy suitcases into the luggage compartment. The hotel had a shuttle bus which went down at set times and one day picked us at a prearranged time and place. One of the tour companies charged us extra for hotel pickup. The positive aspects of the location were wonderful views from our balcony and being able to walk into the nearby village which was much less crowded with tourists than Sorrento. The hotel was clean and comfortable and staff helpful. Great pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. Don't choose this hotel if you want to be based in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The hotel was very good with excellent, friendly and knowledgable staff. Rooms were good value with either views over local countryside and pine woods or over the Bay of Sorrento.
The hotel is out of Sorrento, high up in the hills although the hotel runs a free shuttle bus to Sorrento and there are regular buses that stop outside the hotel and in the nearby village.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea view, but even those without tend to have great views of the countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

We booked a seven night night holiday as part of a British Airways package,
We had a large bedroom with balcony, looking directly across the bay of Naples to Mount Vesuvius. The staff were were all very friendly and helpful. We had breakfast and all but one dinner in the hotel, very satisfactory, but do not leave it too late to have breakfast. Overall good value for money, although perhaps not quite up to 4 star standard.There is no spa or fitness centre, however there is a very good pool and children's pool. A good place for walking, easy stroll through the grounds to S'Agata, where there are several good restaurants. The hotel is 8 kilometres from Sorrento, there is a limited shuttle service, although the management are planning to improve this during high season. A taxi from Sorrento is around 50 Euros! Plenty of car parking.

Room Tip: a seaward facing room, 3rd floor or higher provide superb views. Room numbers 11 and above have sunn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alanweymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

My husband and i had stayed at the hotel for 5 days and were very pleased with it! the hotel room was clean and pleasant and the staff was extremely friendly. They helped us in booking most of our excursions and in general were very helpful and fun. the view from our room was to die for and waking up every morning to that was the best part of the trip. Nice restaurants close by within 5 minutes walking distance. All in All an experience we thoroughly enjoyed!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room from the 3rd to 5th floor and make sure u have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing