We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant hotel indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for ten days in August. The hotel staff were very friendly and they went out of their way to welcome you. It is a family run hotel with many guests returning each year. The facilities are limited with quite a small outdoor swimming pool which was in the shade by five o clock in the evening, when we were there. The rooms are adequate but take your own hairdrier as the ones in the bathroom take forever to dry your hair. It is great to have a fridge in the room and also free use of a safe. The area is wonderful, with a typical village five minutes walk away, which has cheap restaurants and a lovely ice cream shop. The roads are a bit scary with very steep,narrow roads with mad motorbikes and scooters everywhere who seem to have no respect for anyone. Pompei is fantastic and we spent five hours there! The coastal road is spectacular but again very scary! Be careful where you park.....we parked our hired car in a red parking area and got a 41euro fine! We attended the Assembly of God church in Sorrento and an interpreter was available to translate the whole service just for myself and my husband! Well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 9 nights in August. Staff welcoming and friendly. Fantastic location near St Agata with lots of lovely restaurants. Fabulous view of bay from sea view room, definitely worth the additional cost.
My only Criticism would be too many "canned" food items served in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JodieH40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at Villa Romita for one week in August and enjoyed our holiday. The staff are very friendly and helpful, food is very good with a choice of dishes every day. The shuttle service to Sorrento is handy, however you need to book well in advance in order to get a seat (only 15 seats). The rooms are very basic, but clean, we were hardly ever there as there is so much to see in the surroundings. The hotel has 4 stars, however, in my opinion is worth 3 stars. There is no free WIFI, but there is a laptop in the main hall that you can use free of charge. The pool is clean, but not very big. The free towel service is also very handy. There is a stunning view over the bay of Naples from the hotel. It is a quiet hotel where mainly couples stay, there were not a lot of children. From Sorrento you can take the fast ferry (40 min. - 25 euro) or the train (1.15 min - 4 euro) to Naples which is worthwile a visit. We also took a trip to Pompei by train (40 min.), a boat trip to Capri and a boat tour to Positano and Amalfi. The excursions offered by the hotel are very good and not too expensive, you get picked up at the hotel which saves you the bother of having to use the shuttle first to Sorrento and than walk down to the harbour which takes about 15 min. a lot of steep steps down (and when you come back up again). We enjoyed our stay and would come back, but next time in spring or automn as it was very hot and very busy in high season.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JojoShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Had a great stay at Grand Hermitage. We stayed at La Romita, which was great. The hotel is located in the center of Sant'Agata, a beautiful little little town with great food. The hotel has a great pool for those days where you just want to relax and enjoy the view, and a shuttle down to Sorrento. I would definitely recommend doing boat tours to either Capri and/or Positano & Amalfi, where the company picks you up directly from the hotel. I will definitely be recommending Grand Hermitage to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our Italy Art & Language school group stayed at Grand Hotel Hermitage in April and loved the whole experience. The hotel staff were magnificent to our students, generous, kind and organised several extremely successful day trips to Capri and the Almalfi Coast. William and Renato were impressed by our school group and praised our students on their good, friendly and respectful behaviour. The meals were amazing, we were even consulted the evening beforehand which dishes we would prefer! They even organised a 'special' last evening with candles, cake and entertainment. The accomodation really suited our school group, in the 'Villa' part of the hotel, it was perfectly well setup with teachers rooms and students nearby. San Agata the village near the hotel, also allowed a safe outing for teenagers to buy gelati, top up phones and to have a sense of freedom. A perfect stay, we will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms in the villa all are great, although the ones with a seaview are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had booked two nights at the Grand Eremitage Hotel located high above the Bay of Naples. The views are absolute stunning from the hotel. Very peaceful and fresh clean air. The decor was slightly outdated but everything was working, clean, presentable and well positioned. Had dinner both nights at the hotel and the food was reasonable and tasty. Think Grand Eremitage offer good value for money and it is recommenable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAtraveller160411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a week at the Grand Hotel Hermitage earlier this month and it was fantastic. The hotel commands a superb position overlooking Sorrento and the bay of Naples across to Vesuvius. The hotel has a comfortable and relaxed feel about it, and the staff were friendly, funny and very helpful. Rooms were a good size, and even with a massive double felt quite spacious. The bathroom facilities were excellent but the view from the balcony got the top prize! The food and service was good, and we ended up eating there most evenings as well although some of the set menus could be expensive. Our children often shared a meal between them which was no problem for the hotel, and saved a bit of money! I can't really find fault with this hotel, although parking space was a bit tight and you'll need to be good at parallel parking!

Room Tip: All the rooms with sea views should be excellent, but particularly the ones on the upper floors obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
853 reviews
1 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#23 of 100 in Sorrento
3,317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Romita
Villa Romita
#10 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#29 of 100 in Sorrento
1,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: $53 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing