We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Old fashioned charm”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 10 nights in August, using it as a base to explore the Amalfi and Sorrento coastal sights. The hotel, although dated, is not without charm and the quirky reception staff give a uniqueness to the property. The views across the bay of Naples were the highlight of the hotel, and its key attraction. The rooms were clean and functional if unspectacular. The location of he hotel was excellent for Sant Agata which had a few reasonable restaurants, and a relaxed family atmosphere. The breakfast food at the hotel was basic, and the evening meal on the few occasions we ate at the hotel was disappointing. A stay of 10 nights was over long however the views and proximity to Sorrento and the Amalfi coast make this a good option for a shorter break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Maya L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    278
    74
    34
    7
See reviews for
244
478
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wicklow.Ireland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Going once again to this hotel is very special indeed. Every single aspect of the operation is fine tuned and perfected. The welcome afforded to all guests is unique. The setting, looking down towards Sorrento and the whole Bay of Naples is awesome. The rooms are comfortable and of a reasonable size with for me, the luxury of absolutely no noise from adjoining rooms.
Breakfast is a great variety of just about everything you can imagine both hot and cold all laid out on a series of buffet tables so one takes time to get through it all.
Lunch is generally served in an area adjacent to the pool area and is the best value and quality in the locality......Caprese Salad and beautiful pastas are to die for.
Dinner is generally “Al Fresco” and is a lavish affair with plenty of choices and if you are on just Bed and Breakfast it is just about €20.
Hotels are very personal as what is just right for one person may not be right for another but with this hotel in all of the many times I have stayed there I can honestly say I cannot find better for comfort, location, good food and the most marvellous welcome.
I always find that all of the staff are so very well trained and go out of their way to ensure that all guests enjoy their stay. They do this in a very happy atmosphere as this hotel is “on the button” as far as enjoyment is concerned. Management and staff work seamlessly together to create something unique. This is the perfect location to visit Pompeii, Ercalano, Amalfi (take the bus there and take the boat back), Positano and the many wonderful sights and locations in this region. Travel by bus or train and I would think twice before driving as the roads are winding and well Italian drivers are ....well !!!.
This hotel offers a much personalised, individualistic professional service for all guests and all of this under the friendly, welcoming and personal direction of both William and Renato.
Hope you like it as much as my wife and I do!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank TomMonaghan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We arrived in Sorrento a day early, and our hotel didn't have any vacancies. They recommended this location, and what a pleasant surprise. We were given a room on the 5th floor. Fantastic views. The restaurant has a wonderful breakfast and we had a lovely dinner there also. The staff was very helpful & friendly. We actually wanted to change our other reservation and stay here, but they were booked.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank deyon7277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I have recently returned from a week staying in the Grand Hermitage. I agree that the staff are helpful and friendly but the room........oh dear! Although kept clean the wardrobe and chair were riddled with wood worm. The chair was dirty and broken. The rail in the wardrobe was so high, obviously built for someone over 6 foot that it was extremely difficult to use. The television was almost at ceiling level and wouldn't work until a member of staff kindly came to sort it out. The plug in the basin would not go down....... The room was 515 but I understand from other guests who were there that the rooms overlooking the bay are very different.

Room Tip: One overlooking the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in different parts of the world but GHH definitely beats them all in service! I organized a trip for nine people to our wedding and everyone in our group were extremely happy with this hotel. Every member of the staff were incredibly polite, friendly and just overly nice. Trying to make the stay as easy as possible for our group, I did ask for maybe a little more than usual (probably up to annoyance..) and this staff and its owners made everything possible without even blinking an eye. None of us have ever experienced such customer oriented staff ever before! Everyone were just amazing!

The rooms were very beautiful and big, decorated in old italian style with dark wood furniture and gorgeous tile floors. The bathrooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable and all rooms had beautiful and big balcony with amazing view.

The pool was beautiful and clean, there was also several activities in hotel.

We went on a tour on a private boat to Capri organized by the hotel. It was really one of the highlights of the trip. Also, the seemed to have lots of other tours too and I really believe they are incredible value - just as the one we had at Capri.

The breakfast buffet was very good and the coffee was great! The restaurant was also good and food was one of the best we had on this trip.

Hotel offers shuttle service to Sorrento town about every hour and it must be booked in advance. The shuttle was great and really serves all day. We also booked transportation from hotel to Naples airport when leaving and it was great and easy.

There were shops and restaurants at the nearby Sant'Agata Sui Due Golfi village that's just about 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

Everything at this hotel was amazing but especially the owners and the staff. This is definitely an amazing value for the young and even older people. In our group there were people from 29 years old up to elderly people in their 80's and everyone said they'd definitely return to Grand Hotel Hermitage!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you don’t mind the drive up the hill (in the free shuttle) and the dated furniture, you’ll probably love everything else about it.

LOCATION: High above Sorrento. A 7-minute walk through the woods deposits you into the village of Sant’Agata, with several restaurant options and shops.

ROOM: Jaw-dropping panoramic view from your balcony in the upper floors. Even if you don't plan to spend a lot of time in the room, the view from the balcony will stay with you forever and is worth it. The rooms are spacious. In the online photos I thought the majolica floor pattern looked a bit overwrought, but once there I realized they’re totally typical of the region, and pretty expensive, too. Yes, the furniture is dated, but just squint and try not to let it bother you. The place has good bones in its design and building materials, and has a lot going for it.

BEDDING: Passed my bedbug inspection. Hard beds, hard pancake pillows.

NOISE: Very quiet on the 5th floor, except when some teenagers from a group were yelling down the hall at each other.

INTERNET: Free on their computer only. Otherwise, you have to pay for it, but you won’t be able to get reception on the upper floors.

AMENITIES: Bar soap, shower gel, shower cap. Linen hand towels and big terrycloth bath towels. Funky hair dryer looks like a giant penne rigate. It’ll get your hair dry, but forget about styling. Keyed safe is free, held my MacBookPro w/no problem.

STAFF: Best you’ll find anywhere. It’s a multi-generation, family-run business, so they’re highly invested in making it a good experience for you.

DINING: Elegant dining room with linens, swag drapes & upholstered chairs, but there’s no dress code and everyone’s very casual. Breakfast buffet had plenty of options. Self-serve coffee and juice dispensers. For 20E you can get their 4-course meal (salad bar, entrée, main dish, and dessert). For 15E you can get salad, steak, french fries, and dessert. Don’t. Spend 5 E more, it's far better. Wait staff is very attentive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Callejera1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

First time to Italy, went from Ireland to Sorrento then on the Rome for our Honeymoon.

The staff in the Hotel are very helpful and friendly. We asked to be on the 4th floor or 5th floor for the view but when we arrived they didnt have any left on that day but one was opening up the next day so they would move us, we left our bags packed and went out for the day when we came back they moved our bags for us up to the 4th floor with an amazing view. The rooms are clean but if you dont close the inner door you can hear people walking in the hallways. If you want to go down to the town you need to book with the shuttle bus the time you want to go down and come back or get the local bus. No wifi in rooms but access to a laptop with internet in lobby. When booking i found it cheaper to book on the main hotel website and that most of the other websites never gave you the option of a sea view room. Definitely go for the upgrade and get a sea view, the other view is up the mountain and the upgrade didnt cost that much more.

Getting there from Naples Airport just get the Sorrento bus for €10ea takes an hour and leaves every hour. In Sorrento Dont get taxis as the are over expensive. Cost €50 to get a taxi from the train station to the hotel and it was only a 15min journey, get the local bus but you need to purchase the ticket first. The local bus is for Sant'Agata Via Nastro Verde, just ask the drivers and they will tell you if they go past the hotel.

Go up through the grounds to the town of Sant'Agata for dinner great little shops up there that are cheap and food is good, ate there nearly every night for two weeks. The hotel does do dinner which was good the one night we ate there, breakfast is normal buffet style in Italy and it does the job.

If you are going to do day excursions dont book them before you go book them in the hotel they cost the same and that way you get picked up at the hotel and they can see what the weather is like. 5 days before we left we were planning on doing Capri on one of the days and when we arrived i went to book it and the staff checked the weather and told me that it would be raining so ended up with a different day. If i booked it at home i would have had to go in the rain.

Not sure if the hotel is for kids and teen, did not see any when i was there, all older couples.

If you plan to go to rome, get the train its easy and cost us €54 for two people in 1st class and only took an hour. The main train website has three price tickets for the same seat, they price changes if you want to have the insurance that if you miss your train you can get another one later, if your like me get there early so you wont miss it and then you can go cheap. It was a difference of €100 for the same seats. Plan to get public transport early as they always run late and not on time.

All in all i enjoyed my first trip to Sorrento and the staff were super friendly would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try getting on level 4 or 5 and rooms that are below 8 e.g 403 or 507.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 709AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
782 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#47 of 100 in Sorrento
454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
3,150 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel La Vue D'Or
Hotel La Vue D'Or
#31 of 100 in Sorrento
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing