We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful hotel in a marvellous location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful hotel in a marvellous location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My wife and I joined 50 others for a friends wedding.The hotel and location was superb with very helpful and professional staff.The service was faultless and the Manager Renato was a wonderful host whose friendly organisational ability is breathtaking.
We highly recommend this hotel for any stay in Sorrento and visits to the surrounding Amalfi region.

Room Tip: recommend a room with a balcony is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith_moller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    270
    73
    32
    7
See reviews for
238
464
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
gloucs uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

From the time we arrived the staff, headed by Renato, could not do enough for us. A broken aircon unit was promptly fixed. The rooms were charming and comfortable, with pretty tiled floors throughout. Fridge and safe available, and a very decent sized bathroom. Public areas also very comfortable, with a stunning terrace overlooking the bay of Sorrento and Vesuvius. We had gone for our friends' wedding, and our party comprised 50 people - the hotel coped admirably, and put on a superb barbeque and wedding banquet. Organisation of excursions and transfers was impeccable. This hotel is great for groups of friends or for families (lovely pool) with plenty to do, and free transfers to and from Sorrento in their shuttle buses. Also the village of Sant'Agata is 5 mins on foot, with a variety of eateries for all tastes and pockets. Will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rutherfordxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2011

A hidden gem about a 10 minute shuttle ride (by complimentary hotel shuttle) from Sorrento looking down the mountain over the city and the bay of Naples, this is a wonderful and elegant hotel. The service is outstanding, the food, if you choose to eat in the "elegant" dining room is outstanding! A short walk to the small town of Sant' Agata up a quiet and well lighted path gives you a feel of Italy you don't get in the tourist centers, while still being able to access these tourist destinations easily! Easy to get to other destinations on the Amalfi coast, Pompeii, and Capri Good central location! You are almost like family when you get there!

Room Tip: Ask for a 5th floor room...nice scenery
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

I have just got back from The Grand Hermitage and miss the place already ,This is an authentic fanily run Italien Hotel and the staff are the friendlist we have encountered anywhere and we have travelled extensively . They will help you with where to go and teach you a bit of italien as well .We felt totally at home which i think is one of the most important things in a stay.The shuttle bus runs all day and when we arrived at the train station as i new the taxis were expensive i called the hotel and they came and picked us up,Get a sea view room as it is a lovely view of the bay of Naples.Go in May or June before it gets too hot to do all the sightseeing ,Make sure you go to Bar Orlano in village of S'Agata great food ,service and people,Big thanks to Renato,Tony ,Salvatore,all the staff and the drivers of the bus Thanks Caron and Garry from Yorkshire xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caron-arnott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
345 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

We arrived on May 5 2011 for 3 nights, we have been upgraded to sea view without asking.
The room was big and nice (the size of the TV maybe increased) .
the hotel is providing transportation to Sorrento - free- takes about 20 min.
We loved this Hotel and the service
Value for money - very good

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peretzb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We arrived late at night after a long journey in the Car, and the welcome we received set the tone for the four nights we stayed. The receptionists, the waiters, the resteraunt staff and the cleaning staff must have all gone to the same class of customer service, as they were faultless. We used their facilities as our base, and it was always a pleasure to walk in through the door. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wag6112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We went for a 10 day trip to Sorrento and before we went i upgraded to the sea view rooms........worth every penny. Amazing views, especially on a clear night, with the lights all around bay.
The staff and management were very friendly and extremily helpful. The shuttle bus was a great touch but some days it stopped early on in the day and couldn't pick you up late at night. The breakfast in the morning was a pleasent surprise and always filled us up for the day.
There is also a private path which leads directly into Sant'Agata Sui di golfi, which was perfect to go out for food and a day trip around the village.

The only slight negative on the hotel was that our beds were 'beds' not a bed. They were two singles pushed together, which in a very romantic town with a romantic sea view isn't very romantic. If they had double beds in all the rooms this hotel woudl have got 5 stars all round from myself.

I would definately return.

Room Tip: Book in advance and get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adbil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,843 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Sorrento Palace
Hilton Sorrento Palace
#34 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Fiorita
Hotel Villa Fiorita
#42 of 100 in Sorrento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
Hotel Caravel Sorrento
#4 of 19 in Sant'Agnello
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita

Property: Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Address: Via Nastro Verde 9, 80067 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#4 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in woodland consisting of ancient trees and flowers, and overlooking the splendid Gulf of Naples, this tranquil hotel effortlessly blends tradition with modern amenities and services. Although the hotel is detached from the noise and chaos of Sorrento, it is within 10 minutes walk of the charming village of Sant’Agata sui due Golfi, which can be accessed via the hotel’s private path. Sorrento can also be reached on the shuttle bus service, which runs from May to October and stops in front of the hotel. Fitness point with a lovely Jacuzzi pool, and any massage treatment are available to enjoy and relax your holiday.Spend long days relaxing by the outdoor pool for adults and the smaller pool for children, or sipping drinks on the terrace overlooking the unique scenery of the Gulf. Discounts may apply for longer stays.Newly renovated, these rooms are furnished with a lovely terracotta tile floor and antique-style wood furniture, giving a sense of an ancient farmhouse villa. These rooms also have a wonderful view over the Gulf of Naples. All rooms are with individual air-conditioning and Wi-fi connection ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing