We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (940)
Filter reviews
941 results
Traveler rating
662
241
28
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
662
241
28
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolshuttle bussea viewbay of naplessant agatalovely hotelgala dinnerfresh orange juicepool attendantamazing viewshalf boardmount vesuviusrestaurant staffpublic transportreception staffevening meala wonderful holiday
Filter
Updating list...
568 - 573 of 941 reviews
Reviewed September 1, 2010

Visited the Grand Hotel Due Golfi for 2 weeks from the 22nd July till the 5th August 2010. This hotel is located on the top of the hill at Sant'Agata su due Golfi, and is located about 20 minutes travel by bus from the centre of Sorrento. The views are magnificent, and would strongly suggest one to opt for a room with a sea view as we had. Each morning we would wake up with a full view of Sorrento, Gulf of Naples and the Vesuvius in the background.

The hotel is very quiet and is located just 5 minutes walk from the centre of the village of Sant'Agata su due golfi. This is a very quiet village which has some minimarkets, and also some restaurants. However, the first part of the walk lacks a pavement and one must be very careful when walking this part of the road, especially at night.
Travelling to and from the hotel is quite easy. The local buses: SITA bus offers regular trips from Sorrento - choose those that pass from Via Nastro Verde as these stop in front of the hotel. The hotel also offers a shuttle service which is free of charge that takes you to the centre of Sorrento (however this does not stop you infront of the train station - you have to walk to get there). The service has to be booked in advance because the bus may be full.

We booked the hotel as bed and breakfast, and the selection of food items present for breakfast was quite wide. We were really spoilt for choice. The place where breakfast is served enjoys nice views of the gulf of naples.
The hotel also has a swimming pool which is not really large but very clean and with a good service. The pool attendant is really ready to attend to your needs and you can ask for a clean towel each time you use the pool.

We booked a tour to Salerno & Paestum from the hotel, and I must say that is was very well organised.
We travelled to several areas of the Campania region using the CampaniaArtecard3 days such as Napoli, Herculaneum, Pompeii, Oplontis, Caserta, Amalfi, Positano etc. This card entitles you to free transport for 3 days and to 2 free admissions to cultural sites. The place of the hotel is also convenient because one can catch a bus to Positano and Amalfi from just in front of the hotel.

The hotel staff were very friendly, and helped us throughout our stay at the hotel.

All in all I would suggest the hotel Due Golfi because it is an escape from the busy hustle and bustle of the city centre to a quiet place with breathtaking views!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IL-PINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel and we can only say that we had a wonderful experience. The staff are always ready to help you with their knowledge of the area, The pool was small but perfectly adequate for our two children. Whilst there one evening my son felt unwell and didn't come down for dinner. The staff were aware that he wasn't with us and when we told them he wasnt feeling well they arranged a tray of food for him to have upstairs. A day later it was our daughters tenth birthday and they made a cake for her and sang happy birthday to her. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone, especially families. They gave us connecting rooms which was lovely, The rooms were very well presented and spotlessly clean. The only negative comments would be that sometimes there were some big gaps between the shuttle bus to Sorrento and the return to the hotel, and as my son and husband are vegetarians the food became a little repetitive towards the end of the week . We did our own excursions and this was really easy to do, just get on the hotel bus down to Sorrento and you have about a 10-15 minute walk to the train station where it cost one euro 10 cents for a return trip to Herculanium. Once outside the station you can pay 10 euros to get a minibus up most of Vesuvius. You can pay a further 6.50 to walk to the crater. By the way if you are wearing a hat watch out when you get to the summit; my husband's hat became a victim of the wind and was blown off his head and into the crater! One word of advice: When the minibus returns you back to the station they will ask you if you want transport to Herculanium but it is only a ten minute walk straight down the hill. The worst part is walking back up especially as it was so hot. We also went to Pompeii on our own, again getting the train from Sorrento to Pompeii. When you leave the station it is more or less across the road. This was an amazing day out but it just can not be done properly in one day so make sure you do this over two days .We should also mention that we got a card that we paid twenty euros for and it lets you into five archaeological sites over three days. Two were in Naples and we were advised not to do these as the area was not very desirable but it is still worth getting the ticket because you do save some euros, If you have children under sixteen take their passports as they will then get into the sites for free.
As we had two children aged thirteen and ten we decided to give them a break from walking and took them to the island of Ischia. We went to the port and you caught the boat at 9.30 and returned at 5.20pm. Ischia has sandy beaches, it was a wonderful day out but make sure you are wearing lots of sun cream. Finally the hotel recommended a day trip to Capri stopping along the way to see the blue grotto. There is an extra charge for this about 11 euros each but if you haven’t seen it before it was beautiful and you just have to decide whether its worth the money for five minutes. They also show you other points of interest around the island and will also offer you the chance to go around Capri and Anacapri with them. This will cost twenty euros for each of you, so we decided to catch the local bus up to Capri. Firstly it was like being squashed into a tin of sardines and if you are of a nervous disposition close your eyes and hang on tight. Look out for the buses they all have scratch marks and you will soon be able to see why ! Finally the day we went to Capri it was 98 degrees F (37 C) and I an sure we would have enjoyed it more if we weren't all so hot. To sum this review up hotel good, Sorrento beautiful, and a holiday that I shall always remember.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mamamaria_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a week staying in this hotel. Before we left I read some of the reviews on tripadvisor and the majority of them were excellent. There were some reviews that were bad.... please dont take any notice of these reviews!
We had afantastic time and we would recommend it to anyone. Although maybe not very good location for people with really young children.

Transfer time - It took 2 hours to get to the hotel from Naples airport. It should have taken just over an hour but it was Italy's bank holiday and we got stuck in a lot of traffic, also in August they have lots of Festivals so be aware of this. On the return journey it took an hour.

Hotel - On arrival the hotel was better than we had expected. The staff were lovely, very welcoming and helped out whenever we needed it.
The hotel room we stayed in was lovely. The room was clean, bright it had air conditioning, minibar (drinks expensive), patio door onto balcony. Towels were changed daily. Bedding changed once a week. Our balcony faced the Bay of Naples and a lovely view of Vesuvius. Breath taking views!

Sorrento main town is actually about a 10-15min drive away, however you can get a free shuttle bus from the hotel. This bus is actually owned by the hotel and the driver will drop you off and pick you up. You need to book at reception the day before and make sure you do as it can get booked up.

Swimming pool - Was freezing haha!! but once you got in it was lovely. The pool assistant handed out towels and sun bed cushions, plenty of sunbeds to go around for everyone and parasols also - No charge for any of it. There is a poolside snack bar which offers good food.

Restaurant - The food was varied. Breakfast was buffet style, cereals, toast, pastries, biscuits, croissants, cakes, fruit, rolls, scrambled egg, bacon or sausage tea/coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice.
Dinner - Dinner was off of a menu, 3 choices of starters and 3 choices of main. The dinners were also varied, sometimes in odd ombinations for examples, one night I chose fish & Crisps. I assumed tthis was their version of Fish & Chips however when the waiter brought it over it was some fried fish on a bed of ready salted crisps with a spoon of tinned carrots on the side!! Made us laugh but it was very tasty. But neither of us could fault the food.

Twice during the week they had what was called a Gala night which is where they have either a singer or a man playing a mandolin. Everyone gets the same starters, 2 x main and desserts. Good evening but did drag abit.

We were on a half board basis so any drinks we had with our evening meal, from the snack bar and any meals we had at lunch time from the snack bar were put onto our room bill which had to be paid by the end of the week at reception. We kept tabs on it as it soon mounted up to nearly 150 euros, drinks were expensive except for water, 2.50euros for a bottle of water. There is a small shop up the road which sells Fanta, coke, water and some snacks.

Excursions - We visisted The Amalfi coast(Day trip), Vesusvius &Herculaneum and we also visited Sorrento and took a trip on the Big red tour bus.
Pompeii - We were going to do this but it worked out cheaper to go by train which apparently is easy to do. But we werent that confident. A family who were at the hotel at the same time as us went by train and they said it was very easy and Pompei is more or less opp the station. 12 euros entrance fee.

Vesuvius & Herculaneum - You are picked up early from hotel, pick up others en route. Cost includes guided tour on coach and around both sites.Price doesnt include entry fees though or lunch.

Coach goes up to 1000ft then you can have the option to walk up to the crater. Well worth doing but quite tiring. You are given a stick to help you climb. After this you are taken for lunch at a recommended restaurant and a set 3 course lunch is laid on for you. May have to share tables. Meals were good. Normally around 12-13 euros. (Not inc in excursion price)
Take hat and water.

Herculaneum - Fascinating place, really enjoyed this. Guides are very informative and know so much about the area. You spend about 2 hours here then its time to go back to hotel. It was very hot when we went so would recommend drinks and take a hat or umbrella.

Amalfi coast - All day trip. Picked up from hotel early, a coastal trip down to Amalfi. Long day bt very enjoyable. Optional boat trip which we did and it was excellent. After you have about an hour to walk around the town, gorgeous little town and shops, we stopped in one of the many ice cream shops and had an ice cream. Gorgeous ice cream, you must try!!
Then back to the coach and up to Ravello were lunch is laid on for you, again on a roof top terrace. Gorgeous location. 12-13euros for 3 course lunch inc wine.
After this then atrip to Ravello town for about an hour then back to the coach and dropped off.

Very well organised trips. I recommend taking drinks and wearing hats or even taking an umbrella as it was HOT!

Great week would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer2010Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2010

The hotel we had booked in Sorrento was full, and we were taken instead to the Hotel Due Golfi. We were not disappointed! The rooms were a reasonable size and most importantly clean with plenty of towels and the usual ameneties. We had a huge balcony that would have been great for a family, if I stayed there again I would book the sea view. The breakfast was good with everything you would expect from a continental style and the views of Sorrento from the dining room were amazing.
We had to book the shuttle bus to go to Sorrento as it was quite busy, so we had to make sure we planned our days accordingly. In an evening we dined out in Sant' Agata which was only a 5 min walk from the hotel and had some great restaurants. We were lucky enough to see a music concert in the centre of the village, it was great to see the streets lined with locals and tourists (mostly Italian) enjoying the entertainment.
All of the staff were very friendly and the head barman gave us some great tips on the best places to eat out. I would definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the Sorrento area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank littlesthobo79Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2010

My husband and I with our four children aged 8 - 14 have just returned from a fantastic stay at this hotel.
Every single member of staff was pleasant and helpful and made us feel special. The hotel was superb and to be in the mountains with the view and peacefulness suited us better than the busy town of Sorrento, although the hotel shuttle and local transport made it accessible.
The rooms were clean, well air conditioned and serviced daily.
The food was great, although my children found dinner difficult, but the staff were more than willing to accomodate their fussy tastes! Thank you Josef, Franco, Gennaro, Isabella and Francesca!
The Mandolin Player was delightful.
The poole boy Afello and Luigi the main bartender were wonderful, looking after our needs and spoiling my children. All the staff were excellent with the children.
The reception staff were brilliant - very knowledgable and helpful with my lack of Italian and wanting to use local transport to visit places ie Possitano, Pompeii, Vesuvius and Rome! Thank you Monika, Ornella, Claudia, Amelia and Guiseppe.
If I wanted to see any changes, I would like the Shuttle to run more often and would discuss with Josef evening menus before dinner ,in the hope I could sort out the children
without disrupting the kitchen (although I was never made to feel this was the case!)
In short - a superb hotel with wonderful staff that we sincerely hope to see again one day!
our thanks to all.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews