We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (943)
Filter reviews
943 results
Traveler rating
663
242
28
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
663
242
28
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolshuttle bussea viewbay of naplessant agatalovely hotelgala dinnerfresh orange juicepool attendantamazing viewshalf boardmount vesuviusrestaurant staffpublic transportreception staffevening meala wonderful holiday
Filter
Updating list...
418 - 423 of 943 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

When we arrived on a rather damp Monday afternoon we looked at each other with a feeling of trepidation and isolation - the hotel is 8km out of Sorrento and the road just seemed to go on forever. We needn't have worried - what an absolutely fabulous hotel. The staff are probably the most friendly and helpful that we have ever come across - particularly Deborah in the bar and Giuseppe at the pool. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and the view from our room (305) was just breathtaking - looking down over Sorrento and the Bay of Naples and across to Mount Vesuvius. The free minibus to and from Sorrento was extremely useful and always ran to time. The restaurant provided a good selection of dishes, both at breakfast and dinner, with everything cooked and presented to a very high standard - thank you Franco, Guido, Giovanna and Guisy (apologies for the spelling). The Gala Dinner Night each week was great fun. It was just lovely relaxing outside under the wisteria with one of a good range of cocktails before going in for dinner. On the two occasions that we decided to eat out in Sorrento in the evening, we were able to switch dinner for lunch - there was no menu, just say what you wanted and it appeared. We would strongly recommend the trip to Capri and the Sorrento Musical - both arranged through reception and both a wonderful experience. The only thing that we found rather strange was that you couldn't pay cash for anything and had to charge everything to your account but this certainly didn't distract from a most fantastic holiday. We will most definitely return. Thank you to everyone at the hotel.

Room Tip: You must make sure that you get a room overlooking Sorrento, Mount Vesuvius and the Bay of Naples.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LutonHatter88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Sir,
Thank you for sharing this great review of your time at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
It gives me great satisfaction to know that you were well looked after and that we were able to offer our assistance to you during your stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to all the team here, especially the ones you mentioned.
Thank you also for your comments about the good selection of dishes at breakfast and dinner. I certainly believe that everybody visiting Italy hopes to have good food and we do our best to meet your expectations.
I truly appreciate you recommending our hotel and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were in this area late June and early July and couldn't be more pleased with our hotel selection! Everyone was very helpful, the rooms were wonderful ( be sure to book a seaside view room) and the breakfast was terrific! It was centrally located for Sorrento, Pompeii and the Amalfi coast area. We loved it here and would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Be sure to book a seaside view room! It is a spectacular view from the room and balcony!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeLoveItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your great experience at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am delighted to read that you are pleased in choosing our hotel for you visit of the area.
It gives me great pleasure to know that our central location was convenient for you and that you found the room to your liking.
My Restaurant Manager will be happy to hear that you found the breakfast delicious, we know how important it is to begin the day with a wholesome meal.
Thank you for your great comments regarding the extremely helpful staff that you encountered; I will be sure to share your review and pass on your thanks to the team here.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had a good sized room overlooking the front of the hotel. The cleanliness was outstanding in the room and bathroom. We had a lovely meal each evening in the hotel. The waiter took a shine to my husband and gave him two puddings each night! Lots of choice, plus a salad bar. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable. There is a free shuttle bus to Sorrento from the hotel and also a bus stop right outside. You can catch the bus to Amalfi in one direction and Sorrento in the other. Well worth a visit. Beautiful views from the rear of the hotel and free wi fi in the reception area. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GKWSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Madame,
Thank you for your taking the time to provide feedback of your stay at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
I am delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were impressed with the cleanliness, our evening meals and our complimentary shuttle bus to Sorrento.
Thank you for your compliments regarding the service that you experienced, I will be sure to pass on your words to all of my team.
Thank you for recommending our hotel, I hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I arrived at the Due Golfi 28th June. We stayed for a week and can honestly say we found the whole experience utterly fantastic. Ranging from food, to service to cleanliness this hotel was virtually flawless.
The aesthetics of the hotel is beautiful and being a keen photographer managed to capture some beautiful images of the hotel and its views. The interior of the hotel is self explanatory in the name and emits a very grand setting, with BOSE speakers connected through the hotel with beautiful paintings and decorations around the site whilst all kept pristine clean. Throughout the whole stay neither of us found a speck of dust. The cleaners were efficient, thorough and thoughtful after giving us extra pillows and sheets without even asking.
The service was wonderful with all of the staff making you feel as welcome as they possibly can. I also have a severe nut allergy and upon asking for advice, the staff has written me an italian translation for usage around Sorrento and informed all chefs and the owner of the hotel to sort me out special desserts nut free for no extra charge. All staff continued to have smiles on their face and language barriers were minimal.
The price of the hotel was phenomenal considering the experience we received. Drinks were very well priced and the hotel wine was only 9 euros and was delectable. On top of all this the food was of a much higher standard than expected, there was never a single meal that wasn't wonderful and despite wanting to try eating elsewhere we couldn't help but stay at the hotel. Service was swift and the food was brilliant. They also had a 'Gala Night' during one night of our stay where they paraded special courses and served freshly roasted goat with a beautiful entree and dessert. Breakfast gave a wide variety of choices for any breakfast tastes.
We had a half view balcony, yet couldn't have a better view of the beautiful Sorrento and mt. Vesuvius. (we also had free air con which many hotels didn't)
Overall we would undoubtedly recommend this hotel to anyone ever considering going to Italy as it was wonderful and fantastically priced and near perfection for any person looking for serenity and beauty with wonderful services. The only shortcoming i can POSSIBLY consider is that it takes longer to reach Sorrento (15/20mins) but their free shuttle service and incredible views counter act this easily.

Simply brilliant hotel with incredible staff. Limencello on last day was a wonderful gift.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niall C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear sir,
Thank you for your wonderful feedback of your stay at The Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
It gives me great pleasure to read your review and find out that for you our hotel was virtually flawless.
I am also delighted to hear that you found the price of the hotel phenomenal considering the experience you received, as well as that you enjoyed the high standard of the food we serve.
I truly appreciate you recommending The Grand Hotel Due Golfi and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was our first half-board holiday as a family for a while ( we had mainly been doing the "all-inclusive" packages as the girls were younger) and, to be honest, although I had been to Italy before, was a little worried that there would not be enough, as a family, to keep us entertained for a week - how wrong I was!!
We booked via Thomas Cook and I must say, their reps could not be faulted (particularly Lucy and Devan) - all extremely knowledgeable, fun and helpful. We would highly recommend, if you go with Thomas Cook, to do the "Cook and Fun" excursion - a half day making Pizza/Gnocchi/Limoncello in a beautiful farmhouse restaurant overlooking Capri - lots of fun food and alchohol was enjoyed!!! Now, on to the hotel....
We were the last to be dropped off on the transfer from Napoli airport (approx. 1and1/2hrs) high up on the hills over-looking Sorrento. At first I had a feeling of impending doom as we seemed so far away from the main town and the rest of the hotels however, this ended up working much to our advantage - the views from the gardens and the bar are unbelievable! The distance to Sorrento is nothing to worry about as the hotel runs a free shuttle bus service throughout the day and night (last pick up in Sorrento at 11:30pm) which you simply book the day before - even the drive up and down is picturesque and quite enjoyable. If you want a good location CHOOSE THIS HOTEL!!! Some of the other hotels, situated half way up the hill, although look pretty are not as good as the Hotel Due Golfi for location, and leave you stranded as it is treacherous trying to walk up the road to Sant'Agata or down the road to Sorrento.
The hotel is situated a ten minute stroll from the local town of Sant'Agata - an authentic Italian town that is well worth visiting (I would say more so in the evening when it comes alive with youngsters meeting up for Gelato/families out for meals/all generations of the extremely friendly locals promenading). We only ate here once at "Ristorante de Mimi" however, the food and service could not be faulted - for four of us, including a bottle of wine, starters and main courses we paid approx. 80 Euros which included two of the most tender, huge Fillet Steaks!
Back to the Hotel....The rooms, although when you first arrive may feel somewhat small, have everything you need and are thoroughly clean. Beautiful tiled floors, a compact but very well serviced en-suite (with wonderful drench shower!), hair-dryer, toiletries etc. We were a little disappointed that we did not get a sea-view room as, at the time of booking we were told we could book one 2 weeks prior to arrival ( at a supplement) and, when we tried, were told none were available. However, this really wasn't necessary as rooms come with a balcony and I quite enjoyed watching local life go by at the front of the hotel. Each room comes with a good air conditioning system/mini-bar (which is extremely reasonable) and a TV - I would say, being English, that the only improvements that could be made, would be Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room ( for that all important first drink in the morning!) and possibly another English television channel (only BBC World News available - although Sky News is available on the large TV in the bar). All in all, a very comfortable, clean stay in nice rooms - I commend the housekeeping staff.
All of the reception staff were extremely friendly and, amazingly, seemed to speak every language under the sun! From welcoming us, to booking the shuttle bus and various excursions - nothing was too much trouble - grazie!! We would highly recommend the boat excursion to Positano and Amalfi (via Nerano) advertised on the reception desk. From speaking to other guests, at 39 euros per person, it appears far cheaper than the tour operators trips and really is a great day out. We were collected and dropped back at the hotel by minibus and spent a wonderful day seeing the Amalfi coast, shopping and sightseeing.
Hotel Food.....Well, what can I say? I arrived slightly over-weight and returned not fitting into any of my clothes!!! The food was wonderful! Breakfast was huge and varied - plenty of cereals/fruit/juices/pastries/croissants/Eggs/Bacon/Frankfurters - the list is endless and all very good. The hotel was absolutely brilliant by allowing you, when on half-board basis, to swap your evening meal for Lunch - just tell them the day before! The two lunches we did have were again of epic proportions and we were pretty much invited to choose whatever we wanted - Steak/Omelette/Chips/Caprese salad - unbelievable - the staff could not be more willing to please. Dinner was a more formal affair - usually two choices of a three course meal - again which can be mixed and matched - all of extremely high quality. The Restaurant Manager, whose name unfortunately I did not get, was a wonderful friendly man, and ran the restaurant with military precision. All of the restaurant staff were smart, proud, friendly and above all extremely good at their jobs. In particular, I would like to say a big thank you (Grazie mille!!) to an extremely sweet, kind and lovely member of staff who we had the pleasure of meeting - Giovanna - she made all of us feel extremely special and welcome -we all thought the world of her!
The Hotel bar....during the day you order via the pool attendant, Giuseppe (Grazie!!) - a friendly young lad who again is more than happy to serve snacks and bring you lovely cocktails! In the evening the lovely Debora takes over and serves in the main bar. Debora (Grazie!!) makes a beautiful Vodka and coke/Gin and Tonic and I would highly recommend trying some of the most reasonably priced and gorgeous cocktails from their extensive range (particularly the Strawberry/Banana Dacquiri!!!). One comment I would make, and although certainly not a criticism, is that when on holiday we found that, although the food could not be faulted, by the end of the week you are beginning to get "full" and sometimes the thought of another extremely large formal dinner is too much for the waist-line to bear ( particularly after a large Breakfast/Lunch) - It would be really good if the bar offered a light snack service in the evening so, if you did not fancy the large dinner, you could order a small informal snack to have with a few drinks in the bar - I think this would be invaluable.
The Hotel pool... was small, but was clean, well tended and everything you needed. We enjoyed a couple of pool days and never found it over crowded or hassle to find a lounger. If you needed a towel, you asked and you got. If you needed a parasol, you asked and you got. A very nice facility.
All in all a wonderful holiday, in a wonderful country, in a wonderful hotel with wonderful staff! The location is perfect for trips into Pompeii (do it yourself - it's so easy and cheap via the shuttle bus from the hotel and local train - no hassle at all!) and I can guarantee you''ll be as happy as we are.
Well done Grand Hotel Due Golfi - you gave us a holiday to remember - we will definitely be back xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank darkhorse1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear sir,
Thank you for your brilliant review of your experience at the Grand Hotel due Golfi, it gives me great pleasure to read that your holiday was a wonderful an memorable one.
I am delighted that you were able to benefit from the hotel’s brilliant location, perfect for trips into the area profiting of our complimentary shuttle service and for relax thanks to the quite of the village.
My Executive Chef will also be delighted to hear that you found the food varied and of high quality.
Thank you also for your compliments about the service offered by all my team. We really appreciate when our guests notice our dedication and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to everyone.
We look forward to welcoming you again to the Grand Hotel Due Golfi.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews