We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, peaceful, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful, peaceful, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel! Situated high up in the hills above Sorrento on the edge of the village Sant'Agata, the views over the Bay of Naples make it worthwhile alone. The hotel is a quiet, relaxing place to chill out and enjoy the fab weather. The staff are very friendly and attentive but never intrusive. Guiseppe, who looks after guests around the pool, is so helpful and friendly, providing towels, drinks, food and generally making the place work well. Other staff also really helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they will help with any issues that arise.
The rooms are pleasant, bathrooms beautiful, excellent shower. As soon as we left the room in the morning it was cleaned and towels replaced, leaving it looking as it was the moment we arrived.
Breakfast, whilst seeming quite quirky (lots of cakes for breakfast!) is plentiful and there is an excellent selection of foods every morning. We did have lunch but didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we were keen to go out and about to eat and there are plenty of places either near the hotel (within 5 mins walk) or down in Sorrento. The hotel shuttle bus service is a real godsend - it runs regularly all day right up until 11.30 at night so getting down to Sorrento is never a problem. Local buses also stop right outside the hotel to/from Sorrento and Positano/Amalfi. Getting about from the Due Golfi is a piece of cake.
Overall, an excellent place to stay and we'll be back there soon!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view over the Bay of Naples. Spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danrSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a delightful review of your recent stay with us.
We were really happy to read your feedback about your experiences in the hotel and how comfortable and happy you were with the service and surroundings that we provide.
We have passed on your kind words on to Giuseppe and the rest of the team we have here at the hotel.
We really do hope that you can join us again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    196
    27
    6
    3
See reviews for
152
469
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Have just returned from the Grand Hotel Due Golfi and although I wouldn't usually bother to write a review I feel I must write one about this hotel. My daughter needs to follow a strict Gluten free diet or will become very ill and this was not a problem at all at the Due Golfi, she was spoilt rotten there was always a good choice of food for her and the waiting staff were fantastic, she never had to ask or remind them that she can't eat Gluten, the choice of food for her was amazing, she celebrated her birthday during our stay and they even surprised her with the most amazing Gluten free cake, Wow!! Try visiting a restaurant in England and asking what they have that's gluten free and very often they can only come up with salad! We were worried before we arrived that there would be nothing for her to eat all week but were thrilled and delighted to be so wrong. We all enjoyed our stay enormously the views are spectacular, the hotel is spotlessly clean, the staff are friendly and helpful, we had a brilliant holiday. The Hotel is about 20 minutes out of Sorrento which may not suit everyone as there is not much to do in the evenings but this suited us perfectly, there is a free shuttle bus to the main town so you could easily assess this if you wanted we used the shuttle bus just about every day we were there. We thought the beautiful views outweighed not being about to walk into town. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and am looking forward to visiting again!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91CJAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Madame,
we thank you for your review, we really appreciate you spending your time recommending our hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and you particularly valued our restaurant and the selection of food.
Every single member of the staff does his best for guest’s satisfaction and your words are a big motivation for our team.
Hoping to welcome you once again in the near future, we leave you our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hotel Du Golfi from 10-17 August and all I can say is positives. The hotel location is stunning with the most amazing views of the bay of naples and vesuvius. The staff are wonderful and attentive. The food in the hotel is very good and we took the half board option but ventured out most of the time as the area is foodie heaven. The pool though small is inviting and a comfortable temperature. Fab sunbeds with built in shaders for your face. I can't recall if it was a weds or a thurs night but the hotel had a special buffet night (they called it a buffet but banquet would be nearer the truth) the food display, presentation, variety and quality was breathtaking. The indoor bar area has a stunning glass wall with views of vesuvius and bay of naples. The rooms were comfortable and air con was effective in the 31 degrees daily temperatures. The sea view is mesmerising and I would reccommend paying the extra for it. The hotel gardens are beautiful and tastefully laid out. To be honest, I could go on and on. The guest mix seemed to be mainly British/Italian/German/French and the guests mix well and the relaxing atmosphere is a joy. The hotel provides a courtesy bus into sorrento and also to a small beach. Very useful and quite a money saver. Also there is a local bus stop outside the hotel but the area seem to cancel local buses without warning so be wary. On the other end of the scale, they have a brilliant train service and I would recommend catching the train to Pompeii as the train stop is right outside. It was only 4 euros return fare and 11 euros into Pompeii. Well worth it. Sorrento has lovely bars around the square and some lovely places to eat and people watching here is so entertaining as the Italians are so stylish. This is not really a hotel for families. There is no kids clubs, special dining times etc etc. The resort is also very hilly and again probably not the best for families with young children. From my point of view, it was bliss not to have to jostle with inflatables in the pool or listen to the mini-disco. This is a grown ups holiday. The resort and surrounding area are almost retro in charm and although the village near the hotel isn't overly pretty, it has some charming bars and restaurants. There are Vespa mopeds everywhere in ice-cream colours. Church bells ring out daily and the whole area feels like a 1950s movie. There are no chain stores that I could see or macdonalds etc etc. Didn't see an "english pub" or an "irish bar" though I'm sure there will be one somewhere but I hope not. All in all a perfect hotel and holiday.

Room Tip: Side rooms or back rooms have sea views, worth paying a bit extra for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benbec1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
duegolfi, Proprietario at Grand Hotel Due Golfi, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Guests,
We want to thank you for your generous review on our "charming" hotel.
We are pleased you had a great time at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi and that you were particularly impressed by our “Ferragosto Buffet”. It is a tradition in our hotel to have this big buffet on the middle of August .
We hope to welcome you once more in the near future.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Grand Hotel Due Golfi for four nights and had a really pleasant stay. The hotel has an amazing view and is very clean. We were staying B&B and the breakfast was great. The room was very nice and the shuttle bus was excellent. The staff were also very helpful and friendly. The only negatives were the fact that St Agatha wasn't that nice so you really need to go into Sorrento. Our room was beside the stairs so was a little noisy at times and you could hear quite a lot from the rooms next door. I also found the music by the pool a bit loud and repetative. It would also be nice if more was made of the front of the hotel - maybe a nice garden with seating.
Overall, we were happy with the hotel and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joannetaylor33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at this hotel. The staff were superb, they couldn't do enough to help and were all tremendously friendly.

We went half board and the food was excellent with a choice from three starters and main courses every day. The room and all of the hotel areas were spotlessly clean at all times.

The views from the bar and the restaurant are unbelievable - make sure you catch at least one sunset! Bathrooms are amazing with each one decorated top to bottom in traditional brightly patterned majolica tiles - not ideal if you have a hangover!

The pool is not the largest and has a 3m deep area at one end and so it is more suited to cooling down than swimming, so probably better suited to adults than children.

Be sure to visit Pompeii and Herculaneum whilst you are here - and make sure you visit both as they are very different. The Amalfi drive is also an excellent day out (Aircon Merc + Driver only 200 Euros for the whole day) but make sure you visit Ravello and go to the Villa Rufolo gardens for stunning views.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and if staying in the Sorrento area we would not hesitate to book it again - Recommended!

Room Tip: I would go for a high floor with a sea view if possible. Air con was very quiet in our room (96) but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandLisaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled with Thomsons at the end of July to this 4 star hotel and it was everything we could have hoped for. We booked a restricted sea view room (all that was available at the time) and were given room 202 on the side of the hotel. The view was stunning with a perfect view of the bay, Vesuvius and the hotel garden. We had a large/long balcony areawith table and chairs. The room itself wasn't huge but adequate for 2 people and air con and safe are included in the price. There isn't a Thomsons rep at this hotel as others have also said, you have to ring them (back in the UK) to book trips which we weren't prepared to do as we wanted to pay cash. I'm sure the helpful reception staff would book trips for you but we went to Mels Tours on the main street down in Sorrento and paid the same prices as Thomsons. The reception staff were extremely helpful from ensuring we had extra pillows to giving us directions to walk down into Sorrento (takes about an hour down some steps opposite the Hotel Jaccarino 200 yards away). The shuttle bus is very good although we only used it a couple of times. Food is excellent both in the evening and at breakfast, and the views from the restaurant and bar are to die for. Drinks are very reasonably priced with a bottle of wine at €9. The pool area is lovely and we never had any problems getting a sunbed or saw any being reserved with towels during our stay.
A 10 minute level walk from the hotel takes you into the small town of Sant Agata, on the first 200 yards of the road there isn't any pavement and care does need to be taken, especially at night, with the traffic. Sant Agata is very nice and has a few bars and restaurants to choose from.
We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone, it was definitely a 4 star standard and more.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms will definitely be worth the extra and get the sun all day and evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EveLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Spent a week in July at the Hotel Due Golfi after reading the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. We can only agree with what everyone else has wrote before. Stunning views, excellent hotel with fantastic staff. Great choice for breakfast especially the pastries! We enjoyed the meals at night always a choice of a meat, fish and vegtable course on starters and mains and you only had to ask if not liked and they would prepare something different. House wine was very reasonable at 9 euros a bottle, white and red equally nice.
Although no Thomson Rep called at the hotel (you were suppose to ring them to arange trips etc) the reception staff were pleasant and very helpful. We ended up booking our trips through the hotel as they could speak excellent English (thanks especially to Amelia).
Walked out some lunch times down the road to Sant Agatha to a Pizza restaurant Quattro Venti 5 minutes away from the Hotel. Spent couple of hours there dining and wining under the brollies. Excellent pizza and pasta dishes from about 5 euros and the house wine 5 euros.

Will hopefuuly be going back next year. Thanks to all the staff for making our holiday memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hales24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
927 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#6 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
538 reviews
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Aminta
Grand Hotel Aminta
#25 of 100 in Sorrento
2,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
Art Hotel Villa Fiorella
#1 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
387 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#4 of 47 in Massa Lubrense
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Due Golfi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Due Golfi

Property: Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Address: Via Nastro Azzurro 1, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Family Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Due Golfi 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Due Golfi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Sorrento
Grand Hotel Due Golfi Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing