We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (937)
Filter reviews
937 results
Traveler rating
659
240
28
6
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
659
240
28
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolshuttle bussea viewbay of naplessant agatalovely hotelgala dinnerfresh orange juicepool attendantamazing viewshalf boardmount vesuviusrestaurant staffpublic transportreception staffevening meala wonderful holiday
Filter
Updating list...
530 - 535 of 937 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Just spent 10 days at the Grand Hotel Due Golfi. Very pleasant and clean hotel. The staff is very welcoming and helpful, Our room however was disappointing when we got there (top floor, view of a wall surrounding the balcony area and one of the beds meant for an adult was in fact a small folding bed!!). We asked if we could have another room and although the hotel was full, the manager did her best to accommodate us. Three days later we had a different room and it was so much better!!
We had our evening meals at the hotel. The food is good, well presented and the service very efficient. They have an excellent salad bar. Our only criticism, the meals are served between 7 and 9pm and we felt a bit rushed to eat. In fact the plates were taken away as soon as we had finished and our next course brought to the table minutes after. One of the waitresses was even taking the plates away disregarding whether or not others had finished at the table, not particularly good we thought!
Plenty of choice for breakfast and good overall.
Not so good was the pool area, just not adequate for the size of the hotel and extremely cramped. As we had stayed nearby a couple of years ago, this holiday was meant to be a relaxing one, spending time by the pool. We could not understand why it was designed that way when the hotel has such large surroundings and benefits from lovely views at the back! Why could not they built the pool area there?
They have built a foot bath very close to the pool which doesn't stand out enough consequently two people fell while we were there. Should really be improved to avoid further accidents.
The hotel has a minibus that takes you to Sorrento free of charge but you have to book it the day before you wish to go.
Overall, very well run hotel but our personal opinion is that they could improve on the use of the gardens they have so that it is possible for all the guests to enjoy the sea views, not just at meal times if you are lucky enough to sit by the windows.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor, wall surrounding balcony area
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martine002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

After having researched this Hotel and seen the rave reviews - we got exactly what we had expected................one of the most lovely, welcoming, friendly and clean hotels we have had the pleasure to stay in.
We only had B&B as we wanted to eat out at local restaurants, but the buffet hot / cold breakfast ,with all the trimmings was certainly not to be missed. Luigi the Barman (even though he admitted to being a Sunderland football supporter!) and Amelia deserve a special thank you !!

The sea view was a must and the panoramic view was to die for !!

We hope to back very soon. Thank you Grand Hotel Due Golfi x x x

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is a very comfortable hotel, very attentive staff, and exceptionally clean everywhere. The pool area is fine but could do with a bit of an update. Breakfast selection was good, and starters and desserts in the evening were generally good, but main courses sometimes let it down; the service was also quite rushed as each course was served seconds after you finished the one before - therefore quite a contrast with the restaurants elsewhere .The shuttle service is needed, and perhaps could run a bit more often. St Agata very close by, and well worth the 10 minute walk for the restaurants and snack bars as a change from the hotel restaurant, but the road in to it is a bit scary at times as no one seems to slow down for pedestrians!. One other thing to be aware of is the cost of the tours - this is out of the hotel's control but clearly you can become a captive audience for First Choice. It is possible to get to Pompei and Herculaneum by train for a fraction of the cost of the tour (bearing in mind the free shuttle bus) and you then decide how much time you spend there rather than the two hours allowed on the tour - this is more relevant for Pompei which is much bigger than Herculaneum - it is useful to have a guide but it is easy to get a book and guide yourself. The other thing to be aware of is that the tours do not include the entrance charge to either of the above so you have to allow for another 11 Euros each - I think it is a bit of an expensive ride on a coach!!
However, the views from the sea side of the hotel of Sorrento and Vesuvius and the disposition of the hotel staff do more than compensate for any of the shortcomings referred to above.
Overall, very good standard and good value.

Room Tip: definitely book a room with a sea view - you won't regret it
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed here between the 20th and 27th August 2011. Booked through Expedia but before booking used tripadvisor to assess suitability. WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED!

We arrived an hour before official check in time but were show to our room straight away. We booked a room with a sea view (room 103 - which is spectacular), it is well worth the extra cost. The downside of not booking a sea View room is that you could end up with your patio area being right next to the outside bar area. From a sea view room you can see Sorrento, Naples and Mount Vesuvius - truly spectacular.

The facilities are superb. The room was very clean and I would say the hotel has been refurbished recently or has been immaculately maintained. The room was cleaned every day to a high standard and fresh towels left. Although room 103 is right next to the lift it did not pose a problem at all. If fact other guests were very respectful of each other. I cannot remember one night when we were disturbed. All in all a fantastic hotel and a fantastic holiday.

We stayed on a half board basis which offered a great choice of food daily and excellent value. Italy is not a cheap place to eat and I calculated that booking half board saved us about €20 per day. Mind you by the time you have added a few drinks, who cares!!

The restaurant staff were excellent, in fact all of the staff were excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone. A special mention goes to Luigi who is an absolute star. From the moment we arrived to the time we left he looked after everyone with great attention and care. He speaks a number of languages and is extremely sociable. If you are a Sunderland supporter you are in for a treat! I had to work in the evenings to keep on top of things whilst away from the office and enjoyed his company on a few of those evenings - thank you Luigi, it was a pleasure to meet you. Also worthy of a special mention is Guiseppe, the Receptionist who works the night shift. A real gentleman and very helpful. Again a few evenings spent chatting with him.

The hotel hosts a Gala Dinner once a week which we enjoyed a lot. The food thoughout our stay was fantastic and great value for money.

With two children you need a pool. The hotel has a great pool and is well maintained. A good area for sun beds too and not too busy.

Well located for some sight seeing. We visited Sorrento, Positano, Pompeii and Capri. Capri is stunning. We went on an organised day trip which we booked via the hotel. An early start but a worthwhile day out. Definitely opt for the guided tour offered by Vincenzo on the boat at an extra cost of €20 per person.

Pompeii was very hot! If you chose to go then go early and take plenty of water!

The village of Sant Agata is beautiful too and worthy of an. evening stroll.

A fabulous week in a great place with great people. Thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noisynorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

It is very unusual to find a modestly priced hotel that has such professional and friendly staff, from the girls on the front desk, the young guy looking after the pool to Luigi the barman they all went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one. We were bed and breakfast in a room overlooking Sorrento, so a great view, breakfast fine, unable to comment on dinner as ate out in the nearby village each evening[5 mins. walk]. Regular hotel courtesy bus to and from Sorrento[free]. A strong recommendation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Malcolm418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews