We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charming House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Oasi Olimpia Relais(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
$198
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Hotel Due Golfi(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)(Great Value!)
$216
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Iaccarino(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sant'Agata(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Reginella(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
$74
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montana(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)(Great Value!)
$144
$86
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel La Pergoletta(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)(Great Value!)
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Romita(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)(Great Value!)
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Residenza Villa Titina(Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
45
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall carnarrow streetssant agataamalfi coastisabellaapartmentterracenaplesbuspompeiihoneymoonvesuvius
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 46 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

This lovely large well equipped apartment in a beautifully renovated stone house provides a perfect base for exploring Sorrento and all the villages on the peninsula as well as the breathtaking Amalfi Coast. The stone walls are 5 ft. thick which keeps the inside temperature perfect. Sant Agata is on top of the peninsula, thus there are vantage points with views both north to Naples and south over Salerno Bay.

Getting to Sorrento by train from Rome (a change at Naples) was easy and then a 20 minute bus ride from the Sorrento train station brought us to Sant Agata where Isabella picked us up.

One day we did the 30 minute walk....a steep downhill.....on a pedestrian path to Sorrento and returned by bus. Walking past houses with vegetable and flower gardens while taking in views of the cliffs and Sorrento below was picture perfect. Ten minutes uphill from the town centre is a Benedictine monastery. Worth the walk for views across the Bay of Naples.

From the apartment it is a 10 minute mostly uphill winding walk to the Sant Agata village centre where there are bus stops, shops, internet points, a large grocery store and many great restaurants. We did not have a rental car and found the peninsula bus service economical, convenient and easy to use with frequent service wherever we wanted to go. There are single ride tickets or all day passes.

We also did the Amalfi coastal road on the bus which was quite a journey. The bus drivers are genius at negotiating the narrow road with its hairpin curves. Spectacular views! We spent time in Amalfi and Ravello, perched even higher on the cliffs above.(another short bus ride) Don't miss the Villa Cimbrone there. At the end of the day we returned from Amalfi by ferry to Sorrento, enjoying the new perspective of the cliffs rising straight out of the sea and passing by Capri.

Charming House is so quiet, with Isabella's beautiful garden and vineyard it is a welcoming retreat. You can see the ocean and green valley below from the huge terrace. The perfect place to enjoy the culture of the Italian countryside. You won't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank scangirl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Isabella made our stay fantastic! Santa Agata is such a charming little town with very kind people. Walking the streets was such a pleasure and Torca was stunning! So glad we made the walk there. We will be back in the summer some day! We loved our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terryphotog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

My sister and I spent 10 amazing days at the Charming House in Sant'Agata. Once we arrived in Naples, we had arranged with Isabella for a car to pick us up (and return) at the train station and drive us to Sant'Agata. This was ideal for us and we highly recommend this option.

You are within all the Amalfi Cost destinations from Sant'Agata to explore the many regions. There are regular buses from the main street in Sant'Agata to take you to Positano, Sorrento and other areas.

We cannot say enough about our stay. People were friendly and we definitely felt like a local. We found a great butcher shop, pastry and bread shops, supermarkets, restaurants, internet cafe, many shops, cafes to sit and enjoy espresso with all kinds of fabulous desserts.

The apartment has everything you will need to make your stay comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped and we definitely enjoyed preparing our meals and having coffee early morning on the terrace to the sounds of roosters. The bathroom is big with a shower, bidet and also has a washing machine which was very useful for us as we had already been travelling for two weeks.

The Charming House was so relaxing, peaceful and very secure all the time. We found it hard to leave and say goodbye. Isabella will make sure that you are comfortable and she is very helpful to give you ideas on what to do and where to go.

We also spent time around the apartment and had the chance to explore the gardens, enjoy the sounds of nature, take in some sunshine on the beautiful terrace or just relax and enjoy the company of Chiara, Isabella and Virginia.

This location is a gem and so are the people.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Canadiennes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Charming House for two weeks June 2008. What an experience! Isobella was such a friendly and helpful host, you almost became part of the family. The accommodation was clean and spacious with a private terrace for those early morning snacks and evening meals with a glass of wine ,fruit, cheese and fresh bread whilst overlooking your own personal view of the sea. The village is friendly and caters for all your needs including a local bus service if you need it. It is in easy reach of all the popular tourists spots but still has quiet peaceful walks to secluded bays and beach-side cafes. A highly recommended location

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WHWWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2010

We had a relaxing and interesting stay at Charming House for two weeks– of course we agree with everyone else about the view from the Terrace, the visits of cats and bats, and the soundtrack from roosters and dogs; also about the amount of things to do in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. Especially, we loved the warm welcome from Isabella, Chiara and Virginie, and Suzanne the Rabbit! Isabella's tips on restaurants, trips and walking were all “spot on”!

St Agate is great, perched on the ridge for good views and walks, very friendly and relaxed. Everywhere we went people were helpful and cheerful, going out of their way to look after visitors. We liked the family restaurant a the top of the hill, opposite the supermarket, the restaurant past the Church on the left, the pasticceria near the T junction, and the friendly bar with the smoking cat!

Our favourite walk was from Nerano to the nature reserve on the headland of the Sirens, with a great swim in turquoise waters at Capitello to reward crossing a hot hillside. Going back you can walk up through the Olives in the shade, and the bar by the Fermata Sita in Nerano is eccentric with the cold beer. Walking to Termini was good for the views in both directions though hot on the back roads and paths. Crapola is a good walk (1000 steps!) to a smugglers cove at the bottom

Sita Buses to Amalfi and Positano are good -not a road for relaxed cruise in a hire car - but crowded even in September! Lots of standing room only journeys so catch them at the bus station or town centre stops. The towns are lovely , very touristy and expensive, Trip to Capri from Sorrento is great, very crowded towns but Anacapri is good and the chairlift to the summit made the day. Easy walk down from Capri town to the port.

A lovely place and lovely people,

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PNH_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews