We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply amazing!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed for only 1 night, but could have spent our entire vacation here! This place is amazing in every way - from the food, to the hotel, to the grounds and the staff. Truly a gem that words cannot adequately describe!! If you have the chance you absolutely MUST stay and/or eat here!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 171 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

If you like to eat an excellent and nice food and drink a good wine, with requinte and charm, this is a perfect place. The hotel is i a quiet village, not in the beach, with excellent accommodation. The restaurant is sublime, you have options of sophisticated and simple food.The owners, a friendly family with Alfonso, wife and two sons, are excellent hostess, and work very hard and supervisione all the (big) staff. It is a perfect place to stay in a romantic scene. They have a wonderful cellar, 35ms down the floor. They have an organic farm, and they cook with their organic food. The pasticerie is fantastic. They also run a cook schol at the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raferria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We were just on our honeymoon and found the hotel thru a blog mentioning the famous restaurant and i saw that they also have guest rooms as well, we are foodies so took a chance and made a booking. Pictures and the web-site can't even do this place justice. My husband and i were blown away in every way for every moment of our stay. we never wanted to leave, wish we could live here. the service was impeccable, you meet the charming family, the owner his wife and chef son. The family is so passionate, hospitable and kind, they put their heart and soul into their restaurant, hotel and farm. we did a farm tour, saw the fresh lemon groves and where all the produce and eggs came from with an incredible view of the water and of capri. we had the best meal of our lives and did the full tasting dinner, i am vegetarian and they accommodated me beautifully, everything is farm fresh perfection. the breakfast was definitely a highlight, we sleep late and love that there was no time limit or cutoff, it was a 2 hour ordeal that we savored and enjoyed. the kitchen has windows all around it is so fun to see the chefs at work. we stayed in the romantic stone house casa del poete it was so charming but modern, the tiles that are locally handmade are gorgeous, the bathroom was amazing, awesome shower and tub. the pool was beautiful and serene. we were so sad to leave here and will definitely come back! Thank you Alfonoso, Livia, Fortunato, Paolo, Antonio and most especially above all Ernesto!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ariana_eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from an Amalfi Coast holiday including 4 nights at Don Alfonso hotel. We chose this hotel because of its convenience to the superb restaurant (separately reviewed). It was great to have a world class meal and to then retire to a beautiful room nearby.

We really loved the hotel. It’s not just about staying in lovely bright rooms, with all the features you would expect. It’s much more than that. Like the restaurant, the hotel creates a magical experience. The facilities are wonderful; elegant and classy but not exaggerated. Charming is a good word and the staff make you feel as if it is all there for you but without being all over you; very professional.

We have luckily stayed in many beautiful hotels but this is one of those rare places where the owners have been able to impress warmth, class and refinement into the whole operation. Without question we will stay here on our next trip to this area.

We loved our experience so much that …can you believe it…. we were happy to pay our bill so the owners could put more money back into the wonderful operation that they have created. How did they manage that!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent a night here on Easter weekend and found the hotel to be very charming, service wonderful and personal, food (dinner and breakfast) of course excellent and savory, and all in all a very memorable experience.

Let me caveat out by saying that if you are coming to the Amalfi Coast and Sorrento for the wonderful sea view and endless touristy shops selling lemon products, you will not find any of that in the little town of St Agata where Don Alfonso is. In place of which, it is a short drive away from Sorrento, tucked in a town where there are more Italians who seem to be actually living there than tourists. And it is also close to the quiet town of Nerano which has a couple wonderful restaurants. This tip of the Sorrento Peninsula is serene and charming, and is off the beaten path enough to feel quiet.

Now back to the hotel - charming and elegant would be the perfect words. We stayed in a junior suite in a little brick villa next to the hotel proper - request that if you want maximum privacy but mind you that it has two floors and may be inconvenient to some. The decor is colorful and cute, and is very detail-oriented. The room is comfortable but wouldn't say it's luxurious.

The service is excellent - from check-in to check-out and of course during breakfast and dinner. Every wish of yours is attended to with care. I had the pleasure to also meet the Iaccarino family (Alfonso, Ernesto and Livia) and they are warm and friendly and had a brief conversation with Ernesto about his ambitions, and he gave us a tour of the kitchen and another staff gave us a tour of the wine cellar (which was amazing by the way). So when you come here, it's not just for the food or a bed to sleep in, but you get to talk to the staff and the Iaccarino family, understand a bit about their respect for the land and traditions and how a restaurant comes to represent what it is.

We love the food here and everything is as expected from a Michelin-star restaurant at this price point. But I got away with something more than a good night's sleep and a good meal and hope you will too in your experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jjjason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Stay here if you would like a touch of luxury with an authentic Italian flavour. An amazing experience!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estivant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Don Alfonso 1890 in October 2011 for four nights. We ate a couple of times at the hotel, as well as at the other high end (2 star Michelin) restaurants in the area. The hotel room itself was very good, with a lovely view from our balcony. The bed was comfortable, the shower worked well and the bedside lighting (often a problem in hotels) was fine. The staff were extremely pleasant - it was almost as if you were staying with friends, but friends who had a two star Michelin chef in the kitchen. The food was easily the best of the two star meals we tried in the area, most of their produce coming from their own nearby farm, and this showed. I would happily return.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for one with a view over the Gulf of Naples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
Grand Hotel Due Golfi
#1 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Sant'Agata
Hotel Sant'Agata
#2 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
437 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Iaccarino
Hotel Iaccarino
#5 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
De Maria House B&B
De Maria House B&B
#2 of 42 in Massa Lubrense
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Romita
Grand Hotel Hermitage & Villa Ro...
#3 of 12 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
1,030 reviews
0.2 mi away
Green Paradise Bed and Breakfast
Green Paradise Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 4 in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel

Address: Corso Sant'Agata 11/13, 80061 Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi, Massa Lubrense, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Massa Lubrense > Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sant'Agata sui Due Golfi
Price Range: $355 - $828 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Alfonso 1890 Boutique Hotel Italy/Province Of Naples

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing