We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only ate lunch here, great service, ok food”
Review of Hotel Sonia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Sonia
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Dropped in for lunch after spending a couple of hours on the beach. Service was really good, they were very accommodating with our cranky, hungry 2 year old (who finished a full plate of pasta). The food we ate were ok, nothing more, nothing less. I would go to Andrea on the Hotel Sirio next time, but it´s quite a bit more expensive, and not directly on the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaldal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 103 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2012

Firstly, the location is absolutely perfect, however this is where the good news ends. We travelled over for our wedding to Santa Maria di Castellabate in June 2012 with a number of our guests staying in this hotel. There is one really nice lady on reception (unfortunately I didnt catch her name!), but the manager/director was really poor (& that is being nice!) We wanted to leave a bottle of Prosecco in each room, but we were told they would charge €5 for the service of leaving 2 glasses! They charge €15 to guests for 2 seats on the beach with an umbrella, no discount for guest. This is the kicker!!, they charged €1.50 to a Hotel Sonia guest looking to use the hotel toilet & €1.50 to friends looking to sit with guests finishing a meal (who were not even eating!). One of the more expensive hotels, but given the very poor service & manner from staff, would not recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

This was a confusing holiday, anything the management of the hotel was responsible for was a disaster,the staff are ill trained and miserable, with the exception of Francessa on the front desk who would ask if there was anything she could do for you, unfortunatley she wasn't allowed to. It could be that they don't speak English and get frustrated.
On our first night we had the classic italian dish Spaghetti alle Vongle, this was a pile of spaghetti with 4 clams on top. Roast Pork that was processed with salad and chips, and a basket of fruit which was not ripe. HOWEVER, the rooms are ok, it's very cheap compared with other 4 star hotels, the situation is supberb, on the beach and in the village square.
Despite the management we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view full balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

OK, it's a nice hotel on the beach, but ...
Like other guests wrote:
Even as a guest of the hotel you have to pay for the sun loungers on their own private beach!?! On all beaches to the left you find them cheaper.
And no enthusiasm. They are just sitting behind their desk. Had to wait for 5 minutes for an answer, because the girl was on the phone.
Oh, wifi didn't work during our visit. The way they told me, it felt it didn't work all season.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rolandinho2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed in Sonia for a few days before we got married - we were treated very well with a bottle of Preseco sent to the room from the staff to congratulate us. The only thing I would say about this hotel is that is has one of the most amazing views in Santa Maria and the balconys are right on the beach but the rooms really do need to be updated and improved.
Breakfast was fine - typical continental brekkie. The sun loungers were very expensive - 20 euro for 2 per day even though we were staying in the hotel - we got them for 4 euro each on another beach which was just as beautiful by the Lidos.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lolly28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Our arrival at the New Hotel Sonia on the 18th Seotember from Agropoli station confirmed the reports of its great location - walking from the terrace directly onto the sandy beach was wonderful. We arrived to watch a great sunset. Overall, the staff are very pleasant and helpful - with the glaring exception of the lazy beach boy who makes no effort either for the guests or for the hotel (he is supposed to ensure everyone pays 10 euros for beds; no-one does). Our bedroom was comfortable, probably the same or adjacent to the previous reviewer. Their electronic key system was new to me, rather like a London Oyster card.

The continental breakfast was fine, but dinner was disappointing; most people were on half board, so we were not expected.

What the hotel desperately lacks is hospitality. The management does nothing to enhance the holiday experience. There is no bedroom information pack about the hotel's facilities; no local information including no bus timetable which is so easy to obtain. The instruction not to put anything in the minibar is rather petty, and a beach hotel should have beach towels available.

I can recommend the Hotel Sonia, but would urge them to make the guests' holiday memorable with just a little enthusiasm.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank YHH99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

We have just returned from a fortnight at the Hotel Sonia. It's in a good location, right on the beach and very close to the main piazza and the pedestrian shopping street.
We must have had the best room in the hotel, on the second floor with French windows leading onto a large private terrace overlooking the beach and sea. It would have been nice to have had sun loungers but we managed with the 2 chairs provided.
The hotel was quiet and spotlessly clean and we enjoyed our stay there.
We were disappointed with the standard of the food, having booked half board. Dinner consisted of 3 courses with a choice of 2 starters, 2 main courses, 2 vegetables and dessert. Twice one of the main courses consisted of mashed potato with some ham and cheese mixed in, hardly the quality expected of a 4 star hotel. I had warned them on booking and arrival that I was vegetarian but had to ask each day what I could eat and twice had to make do with a plate of sliced cheese. We wouldn't recommend anyone to take the half board option, particularly if you are vegetarian
Breakfast was Ok with a reasonable selection of cold items, ie cereals, rolls, cheese, ham, yogurt, but no hot food. The juice was so watered down as to be unrecognisable as orange.
Santa Maria is a good place for a holiday with clean beaches, and it's close to the Greek and Roman ruins at Paestum.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daisymay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Maria di Castellabate hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
358 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#8 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Costa d'Oro
Hotel Costa d'Oro
#2 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Belmonte
Palazzo Belmonte
#5 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Santa Maria
Grand Hotel Santa Maria
#7 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sonia

Address: Via Gennaro Landi 25, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range: $103 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sonia 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Sonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing