We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Go There"”
Review of Palazzo Belmonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Belmonte
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to the Pallazzo Belmonte as part of a group of some 65 people for a "Passion for Puccini" event organised by Noble Caledonia.
The singing was performed on three nights, in the courtyard of the palace, which provided a brilliant setting for the performances.
On the first night, after the performance, we all descended on the restaurant at once, which clearly overburdened the system and dinner was a near disaster. It is good to report, that this did not happen again and the problem was immediately resolved. The restaurant, which is al fresco, underneath large sun umbrellas, is a very pleasant place to be and worked well. During the week we were there, it never rained and the temperature was a constant 25 to 30c.
The menu offered a choice of three dishes for each course, which is fine for me, I like menus like this, it gives one confidence that the food is freshly prepared and cooked. We were presented with the menu at breakfast and asked to indicate our preference for dinner, which some people may find a bit strange for an hotel of this calibre but I have no problem with this. In brief, I enjoyed my dinners at the Pallazzo.
The wine list was rather short, mainly local wines, I tried many of them and whilst not great, they were perfectly acceptable.
Breakfast was served under cover in the pool area, continental style with a wide choice but nothing hot.
Rooms, I cannot comment on the rooms in the Palazzo itself as I didn't see them. We opted for a room in one of the two villas in the garden. The room was of a generous size, good bathroom and had a very nice balcony. By peering through the trees, we were just able to see the sunset over the sea. This was a pity, because if the trees had not been allowed to grow so large, the view would have been magnificent. As this is part of a national park, perhaps there is a problem in cutting the trees back, however, they need it.
There are some gorgeous beaches around but don't get excited about the Palazzo's own bit. It's OK but that's it.
Very helpful service from Angela at the front desk and from Tofi, the head waiter, who had previously worked at Boodles in Pall Mall.
I gave up on the wi-fi and used my i-phone instead.
The Prince, an elegant Italian gentleman, was usually in evidence. He was very happy to talk to you and answer any questions you may have (he did not impose, as suggested by a previous reviewer). We had one of our Opera evenings at his "other" palace at Punta Licosa, about 5ks down the coast, where he was the perfect host.
The gardens, quite extensive, informal English style, took me a day to find my way around and at night you need a torch (provided beside your bed) to find your way back to your room after dinner. Not really recommended for anyone with physical disabilities, lots of steps.
To sum up, if you are expecting an all bells and whistles modern hotel this is probably not for you.If you want to enjoy a part of Italian history in an ancient building, tastefully restored to a high standard where you are welcomed as a guest, then go there. We did and we had a lovely week!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sussexsailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (244)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 244 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2012

Palazzo Belmonte is nested in a an oasis of green by the sea with breathtaking views of Capri and Amalfi Coast... The Palace is owned by the very noble family of Princes of Belmonte, until here all well.

The hotel is not worth the price. Despite it's location and historical palace the amount charged for the rooms is not justifiable. The breakfast experience, the staff, the beach, the hotel structure is not at the level of a 4 stars charging EUR 250 to 500 EUR /night. If they had charged 140-150 EUR then one could accept staying there. Very very overpriced for what it offers.

Breakfast: coffee served in thermos (a sin in Italy!), Discount food products (salami, cheese) knowing you are in Campania, land of Buffalo Mozzarella. The croissants (cornetti) have been served at bfast uncooked on the first day, second day same ones, and the third day still uncooked and by that time old. The staff is probably underpaid and has no idea obviously of what a 4 star hotel service is all about.

Very disappointing experience and would not recommend under current management.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank foggiaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel its over priced and the owner / Prince is not very friendly to you if you are colored or have a colored person staying with you.
The staff are nice but do not have your weeding hear if you want a romantic place.We have just returned from a very bad stay in the Palazzo Belmonte where me and my wife got marriage. I can understand some of the negative reviews I have read here - the Palazzo is not what its look like on pictures. But Santa Maria di Castellabate is a charming authentic Italian village - and most definitely not a "tacky tourist area". Staying here is a different experience - the Palazzo is not a conventional hotel and should not be compared as such - it is an exclusive historical private home with the owner inviting himself to your wedding. We stayed in the wedding suite villa rooms and had a balcony with a sea view, the room was ok size but not nice furnished or clean with air conditioning not working well. The gardens and views from the terraces are nice and we loved the pool area, but that was it. I am particularly not happy with the Prince who destroyed the day for most of people we invited. The prince who should have behave like a prince and stay out of the wedding. The place its not clean and you are paying for something you are not getting.

Room Tip: Stay in other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ohene Oscar A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Wonderful Experience ! Palazzo Belmonte gives a flavor of the traditional mediterranean way of leaving in the Southern Italy : great food , friendly welcome , very chic setting and incredible surroundings , the Natural Park of Cilento , the Greek Temple of Paestum , last but not least a very romantic setting , the area is huge and you do not hear any presence of guests and privacy is total !

Room Tip: Ask for the Rooms on the Palazzo , the Edwardian Compound or the Villas in the Park but with air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BauxRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Fabulous grounds in great location but room uninspiring. Balcony would have had great views if trees would have been trimmed. Staff helpful. Breakfast, bar and restaurant were ordinary and Wifi was limited to reception. Hotel could be a lot better with a bit more imagination and small changes. Despite the negatives would stay again if in region.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
Thank LesH211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful stay in the Palazzo Belmonte where we were celebrating my son's wedding (see review below). I just cannot understand some of the negative reviews I have read here - the Palazzo is stunning and Santa Maria di Castellabate a charming authentic Italian village - and most definitely not a "tacky tourist area" as described by one reviewer!

Staying here is a different experience - the Palazzo is not a conventional hotel and should not be compared as such - it is an exclusive historical private home with paying guests and that is what makes it so special. There is a genuinely informal, comfortable atmosphere which is helped by the lack of 'signage' and unobtrusive staff. We stayed in one of the villa rooms and had a balcony with a sea view (which is a must) - the room was an excellent size and beautifully furnished with effective air conditioning and the tea / coffee making facilities were a welcome addition. The gardens and views from the terraces are stunning and we loved the pool area.

The wedding was magical - it was everything my son and daughter in law hoped it would be and more and the staff were simply wonderful. I am particularly indebted to the Prince who saved the day when my husband discovered he had forgotten to pack his suit!

We loved the Palazzo Belmonte and will definitely return, however if you expect 'bling', 'mod cons', 24 hour room service - then the Palazzo is not for you.

Room Tip: If staying in a Villa room ask for a 'sea view' or front facing terrace as some of the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We've just returned from our wedding over the weekend, held at the Palazzo Belmonte, and we had such a wonderful time i felt compelled to add to the positivity surrounding the location. I am amazed to have read negative comments regarding the level of service, food and room quality.

Having stayed in my fair share of high level hotels, the experience was completely different in approach, and, from my part, that is what makes the place so unique and magical. Different because the service delivery was pure Italian - easy going, laid back, charming and extremely helpful when required. For our next visit we will use the hotel as a B&B, as the local town provides plenty of excellent restaurants - one particular beachside restaurant produced an incredible lunch service (though this is not a developed tourist town, so be patient with the locals who do not always speak english) and the local area begs for a hire car and a tour plan.

We stayed in the top floor of the Villa Belmonte. The room and bathroom were extremely well sized and well kept, the balcony provided a beautiful view of the sea and surrounding gardens - laying on the lounger, listening to the morning bird calls provided quite an experience. Equally watching the sun drop over the Amalfi Coast was quite simply the best sunset i have ever seen.

For the wedding itself, we invited 40 guests to enjoy the day with us. Following a courtyard wedding, a trip to the town hall and a quick walk on the beach, we sat on the Belvedere Terrace with the most spectacular view and enjoyed the best twilight of our lives. The service was first class, and we could tell they were also enjoying their part in our day.

For the reviewer who was critical of the Prince and the service levels. My father awoke on the morning of the wedding to discover, to his horror, his suit was not in his case. He went to the Prince at breakfast and asked for help and was told A. to calm down and B. that he would have a suit. He was promptly taken to the nearby town in Agropoli (free of charge) and had a closed (at the time) tailor shop opened just for him - he had a suit cut to fit within an hour of arriving.

If you are considering a marriage abroad - i say go to the Palazzo Belmonte without reservation. Though do your sums as our budget was blown to pieces once the add-ons builts up (fireworks, evening disco, bar bills etc..) However, i would have paid twice the amount, had i known, not only we would have had the best and most spectacular day of our lives, but our guests would have taken away memories that will live with them forever. Thank you Angela for all your help making our day so special. We look forward to our return for our 1st Anniversary next year.

Room Tip: Select the top floor in the Villa Belmonte to experience the wonderful panoramic views of the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Maria di Castellabate
1.3 mi away
Approdo Resort
Approdo Resort
#1 of 3 in San Marco
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Sirio Hotel
Villa Sirio Hotel
#8 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Garden Riviera
Hotel Garden Riviera
#4 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Paradiso Residence
Hotel Paradiso Residence
#1 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
358 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Mareluna
Hotel Mareluna
#2 of 3 in San Marco
273 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Costa d'Oro
Hotel Costa d'Oro
#2 of 13 in Santa Maria di Castellabate
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palazzo Belmonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Belmonte

Address: Via Senatore Manente Comunale, 22, 84048 Santa Maria di Castellabate, Castellabate, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Salerno > Castellabate > Santa Maria di Castellabate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Maria di Castellabate
Price Range: $177 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Belmonte 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Palazzo Belmonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Belmonte Hotel Santa Maria Di Castellabate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing